Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ZeroVulnLabs, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,100
    I had this problem too.
    After clicking on download, the domain public.boxcloud.com can be seen in the uBlockO-matrix and a filter was blocking it.
    To be able to download it, the domain must be allowed in the matrix.
     
  2. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts
    Thanks for the info.
    Free? Always a catch. They will get paid one way or another.
     
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
    1.10.1.24 installed on top of 1.09.1.1410 [Premium],
    Windows 10 Pro x64 (Version 1703 - Build 15063.483).
    Browser: Edge and IE11 only.

    No problems so far.
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
    =
    -----------------
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
     
  6. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    821
    Location:
    UK
    Installed 1.10.1.24 Beta over the top of version 1.09.1.1403 (Free) ..... and it didn't like it - MBAE stopped responding, so I uninstalled it and did a clean install of 1.10.1.24 Beta.
    Seemed better on installation this time but strangely the new beta asked me if I wanted to 'enable the free trial period' o_O? which I did.
    I noticed in the license ID it states 'Beta version' so I'm hoping when the 'trial period' expires I'm not returned to the free version without custom shields.
     
  7. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,296

    The custom shields are now available in the free version. You no longer need to buy the beta to enable them ;-)
     
  8. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,712
    Thanks for the info. I thought this product was completely done away with. So I can just install the free "beta" and be good to go?
     
  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,238
    Location:
    USA
    That should be the case from what i have read, but I already had the Premium installed so I cannot confirm. If you install the latest build, and it does not enable the Premium then just send pbust a pm at Malwarebytes below. I'm sure he will send you a license if needed.
    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/profile/141843-pbust/
     
  11. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,296
    Its a perpetual beta. Now all the premium guard features are finally available for free.
     
  12. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    821
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Norman,
    Thanks - yes I understood that, the point I was making was if the custom shield features in the Beta versions are now fully free - then why on installation did the Beta ask me to try the 'free trial period' as that doesn't make any sense.
    It is working as it should - custom shields are enabled - it just seemed odd that it should still ask about enabling a 'free trial period'.

    Cheers
    Gordon
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2017
  13. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts

    Attached Files:

  14. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,296
    MBAE is now a module of the Malwarebytes security suite which is a paid product. It only made sense to turn the standalone perpetual beta fully functional at this point.
     
  15. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,436
    I run the premium version, and it [silently] updated from version 1.09.1.1403 to version 1.10.1.24, the other day.
     
  16. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,728
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I also run the premium version but mine did NOT silently update. I'm still on 1.09.1.1403. My computer is always on & connected, but (in my absence) push-packages get torpedoed by my anti-executable & ZAM.

    REQUEST HELP: Someone please tell me how I can manually update to 1.10.1.24.
     
  17. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,425
    This should work for you:
    https://malwarebytes.app.box.com/s/xhbp0e8xyj4iom093gdtwyervxva0zxh
     
  18. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    I so wish there were simply an option to manually update. The auto-update has never worked for me since day 1, and I have to uninstall the old version and re-install the new every time I want to update it.
     
  19. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,436
    I think you have to go the Malwarebytes site, and download the installer. I used just run them over the top, if it didn't update automatiaclly. This was on my XP desktop, though. I have not had that problem with my Surface Book. It just updates, silently.
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,728
    Location:
    Hawaii
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,017
  22. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Same here, no problems on a Win7 Ultimate x86 box.
     
  23. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    868
    Location:
    Italy
    Problem with reboot (after the first) of Firefox.
    The problem is not present in the build 24.
     
  24. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,886
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    A new experimental build, version 1.10.1.41, has been released...
    Announcement and download link: Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit 1.10 Build 41 released
     
  25. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,728
    Location:
    Hawaii
    41 wouldn't let K-meleon start. I temporarily turned off all my other security (just in case) & tried again. No go. Reverted to 37 & all is well.
     
Loading...