Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ZeroVulnLabs, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    USA
    Appears to be fixed with Beta 1030.
     
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,366
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello anon,
    You are most welcome ;) !
     
  3. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,657
    Just feedback: Windows 7 64 bit - 1.08.1.1025 is fine here.
    But I see we're up to .1030 - can't keep up!
     
  4. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,994
    Thanks for head up. :thumb:

    So far so good even at max settings.

    The only persistent problem is that if I don't uninstall previous version before installing new one then buttons "Stop protection", "Add shield", "Advanced Settings" and all boxes in "Settings" got shaded and unchangeable. How knows any cure here?
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,120
  6. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,366
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    MBAE 1.08 Beta Preview has been updated to version 1.08.1.1031
    Announcement and Download Link Here...
    Changelog since last stable version (1.07.1.1015):
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,067
    Thanks puff-m-d. :thumb:

    From 1.08.1.1030 to 1.08.1.1031 on Windows 10 Pro x64.
    No problems so far.
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,366
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello anon,

    You are most welcome ;) !
     
  9. theshadow247

    theshadow247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    ontario.canada
    thank you for the link.Does mbea protect the keyboard at startup?i have mbea prtecting my keyboard already.but not sure if it protects at starup.i know that hmpa does this.if not could we have this option??
     
  10. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,115
    Build 1031 has so far been running smoothly on my machine. Thanks for the info - and thanks for the new build, Pedro.:thumb:
     
  11. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    982
    What type of custom shield should I create for like utorrent and IDM download manager?
     
  12. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    427
    My personal method has been to always start with the browser profile as it's the strictest even if the app doesn't actually qualify. If it gives you issues then you can switch it over to other or whatever is closest.
     
  13. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    982
    That's what I'm doing, using browser settings. Just wanted to make sure.
     
  14. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi Pedro.
    I did this test with my pc:


    Immagine.JPG

    1.JPG

    Why did you choose not to display on-screen pop up of red color?
    TH.


    XP Home sp3
    I.E.8
    MBAE 1.08.1.1031 Premium
     
  15. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    @Sampei Nihira, this is an Application Hardening technique. We had it in 1.07 with a red alert but deactivated it for 1.07 final since we found too many popular websites still using the deprecated VBScript engine. Even large websites like apple.com and ikea.com have ~7 year old code for browser plugin detection that relies on VBScript. So for this technique only we just block the VBScript engine from loading in IE and show a balloon notification (i.e. warning) instead of an exploit alert msgbox.
     
  16. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Italy
  17. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Italy
    Immagine.jpg

    Apple.com is negative
     
  18. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I have a question regarding how MBAE compares to other antivirus vendors that claim anti-exploit technology like Panda and Kaspersky; is MBA really needed when those products include anti-exploit protection? Thanks.
     
  19. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Those might include some very basic measures, but I wouldn't say they include anti-exploit protection. At least not even nearly close to what MBAE provides.
     
  20. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,281
    IS malwarebyte anti-exploit factory setting that comes with the free version sufficient enough to provide protection or do I need to tweak the setting and check mark a few more boxes? I want the maximum protection and therefore open to your expertise. Thanks in advance.
     
  21. schmidthouse

    schmidthouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Sunny Okanagan Valley Canada
    Have you inquired on the MBam forumo_O
     
  22. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Yes factory settings are more than enough. But feel free to activate everything. It it causes problems you can always revert back using the "Restore defaults" option.
     
  23. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,281
    thanks. I have done that and checked and activated everything.
     
  24. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,859
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    This test was sponsored by Surfright; the developer of HitmanPro Alert: https://www.mrg-effitas.com/wp-cont...ffitas_Real_world_exploit_prevention_test.pdf

    This test was sponsored by MalwareBytes: https://www.malwarebytes.org/pdf/datasheets/RCEMitigations.pdf

    Averaging the results of the two tests will give you a pretty good idea on the effectives of the products reviewed.
     
  25. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Patiently looking forward to the release of 1.08 for non-beta user... :thumb:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 5, 2015
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.