Malwarebytes 1.60 beta

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by stapp, Dec 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,014
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know that there's a clear line between viruses and malware, but I believe MBAM is technically an antimalware not an antivirus, and is meant to be used alongside a traditional AV.
     
  2. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,314
    Location:
    Adelaide
    MBAM is not an antivirus replacement, it is meant to complement a traditional antivirus program.
     
  3. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    The class and distinction of AVs and AMs has undoubtedly blurred.

    I believe that MBAM is supposed to supplement a traditional AV or other defense product (HIPS, DefenseWall...).

    MBAM amazingly has been tested against traditional AVs and has beaten some straight-up.

    And that's the amazing thing about the product.

    It is a 'supplemental product' that does better than some of the systems it is supposed to supplement.

    At hacker conferences, for awhile, hackers bragged mostly about being able to defeat Kaspersky. Now they have added MBAM as a 'bragging rights' defeat.

    That says a lot.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    mbam is a must:thumb:
     
  5. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I no this is about MBAM, but EMSISOFT claims it can block virus as well if you look at there FAG on there website.Perhaps a wrong statement for MBAM but not according to EMSISOFT Antimalware.
     
  6. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
    I misunderstood, thought you were talking about MBAM.
     
  7. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Actually I thought if Emsisoft can block some virus then I was thinking perhaps its possiable that MBAM can.Thanks for your correction and last thing I want to do is mislead anyone.
     
  8. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Does Emsisoft have to engines or one.
     
  9. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,613
    I believe it can......
    But it also is not a full blown AV.

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_pro#overview
     
  10. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Wow killer malware combo in sig.
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    djohn:thumb: :thumb: and behabiour blocker in paranoid mode
     
  13. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    698
    Location:
    Europe
    Have you noticed an enhancement on the speed scan ?
     
  14. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,251
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Two engines. Ikarus and their in-house engine.

    You meant behavior blocker right J? :D LOL J are you paranoid? :p
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
  16. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    OK that explains why it combats virus and malware.Thanks:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  17. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe if we stay in paranoid mode and keep changing or adding software we will drive the bad guys mental.:D
     
  18. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,251
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    LOL. I hear the psycho ward calling :D

    No Problem.

    Sounds like you J. Why don't you add HIPS to your BB paranoid mode? You will be really cooking then :D
     
  19. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,267
    Location:
    USA
    New beta just released 1.60.0.1600. Database downloads is now working.

    "Build 1.60.0.1600 will download when you check for updates if you're using the current beta build (1.60.0.1400) and if you have the default option Download and install program update if available checked under Updater Settings."
     
  20. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Just downloaded nice amd smooth.Thanks
     
  21. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Greece
    run time error for me on windows 7 64 bit
     
  22. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    387
    Same here, XP SP3
     
  23. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
    Suggestion: run mbamclean.exe and install beta again. It should update to the new verion 1600 as well as the defs to 2011.12.23.06 or newer.

    Also keep in mind this is a beta!
     
  24. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    387
    No luck. I guess i'll wait for the stable release
     
  25. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    698
    Location:
    Europe
    Have you noticed an enhancement on the speed scan ?

    Thanks in advance !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.