malware infections

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by maugrimx, Jan 28, 2016.

  1. maugrimx

    maugrimx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    is there websites out there that can infect my computer no matter what security software i have? i currently use avast antivirus free, spywareblaster, ublock origin, wot, https everywhere, malwarebytes free and also have noscript. can some malware get past noscript?
     
  2. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    700
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Hello maugrimx and welcome:

    Malwarebytes is a corporation and has many products. Specifically you may wish to at least add the free version of Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit, the premium version of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, and thoughtfully populate the %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc\HOSTS file.

    Yes - malware other than malicious javascript can easily penetrate a Windows system. Yet NoScript is still useful.

    HTH
     
  3. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,966
    Location:
    Brasil
    I'd consider using a sandbox for your browser. COMODO is free, has HIPS, Sandbox, and a good Firewall. So by using it you'd have a very good amount of browser protection (as long as you configure comodo the right way).
     
  4. maugrimx

    maugrimx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    i installed malwarebytes anti exploit now, have never tried it before. i have used hphosts and mvps hosts files in the past and used hostsman some days ago with hphosts but i couldnt edit the hosts file with hostsman only update it, it was freezing so i gave up. do you know about another hosts file editor/updater that works?
     
  5. maugrimx

    maugrimx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    you mean i should use only the comodo firewall without the antivirus? or should i uninstall avast then and also install comodo antivirus?
     
  6. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,966
    Location:
    Brasil
    None of the above :p You can use COMODO and Avast together, specially since COMDO doesn't focus their product on Antivirus (their AV engine isn't that good).

    My security setup on Windows was:

    - COMODO Firewall;
    - COMODO HIPS;
    - EMET 5.2 at Max Settings;
    - COMODO Sandbox for sandboxing;
    - Avira, it has the best AV scanner;
    - non-Admnistrative account;
    - UAC at max (this way I needed to type the admin password anytime a system change was made);
    - MalwarebytesPremium;

    I think this was it.
     
  7. maugrimx

    maugrimx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    i also liked avira and used it several years ago until it stopped working on my computer for some reason.
     
  8. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,054
    With uBlock Origin and Noscript (I hope properly configured) there is little chance you will get infected just by visiting a website. You will probably have to run something by yourself to trigger infection. Just update your browser, flash and java if you have it installed.
     
  9. maugrimx

    maugrimx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    everything is updated, i use a program called patchmypc just to be sure that nothing is outdated. does someone know a replacement for hostsman that can update and edit the hostsfile?
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I have been using NoScript for a little over 7 years, to this day, I never seen anything that resembles malware while browsing. I mean nothing that looks like a fake scanner or ransomware or anything like that. NoScript blocks a lot of stuff silently. I think its a great program. If on top of Firefox with NoScript and perhaps Adblock plus, or something simlar, you run the browser under Sandboxie, I doubt you ll see malware again...,ever, unless you recover the malware and run it out of the sandbox.

    Bo
     
Loading...