Malware Hunter new antivirus from Glarysoft

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by roger_m, Dec 25, 2015.

  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    @coolcfan They also list China in their pad file. But, on their actual webpages they list no address. I only discovered they were a Chinese company by searching for glarysoft china in Google (I guessed they may have been Chinese, which returned the pad file as a result.
     
  2. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Just some notice regarding this thread:

     
  3. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Editing my post to validate your argument doesn't score.
     
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    @haakon It's a matter of personal opinion. My opinion it is a clone of 360 TS, and not any other product.
     
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    Version 1.1.0.3 has just been released:
    The UI remains the same.
     
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    v1.2.0.4 has just been released. There is no changelog yet.
     
  7. Petrovic

    Petrovic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Posts:
    78
    Location:
    Russia
  8. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    Version 1.14.0.28 was just released.
    It now has its own cloud scan engine in addition to Avira. There is the option to uninstall the Avira engine.
     
  9. funkifized

    funkifized Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    So, is Malware Hunter better than Malwarebytes? Is is worth having both?
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    Malware Hunter cannot replace Malwarebytes. Malware Hunter is an antivirus without realtime protection, and is not as good as detecting adware and PUPs.
     
  11. PEllis

    PEllis Guest

    Looks like Malware Hunter does have RT protection.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    You're right it does. I didn't realise this as it has only just been added. I presume it was only added in the latest version that was released two days ago. Unfortuantely, a few weeks ago Glarysoft stopped publishing changelogs on their website, so it's often hard to tell what has changed.

    MHP.png
    This is the protection settings screen. As to be expected, they have copied the UI design from 360 Total Security, as you can see here. Also, just like in 360 TS, you need to click on the protection icon to access the protection settings.
     
  13. PEllis

    PEllis Guest

    Since it now has real-time protection, I'd like to give it a try, but they don't offer free trials, which is a deterrent.

    Why doesn't Qihoo do something about the copied UI?
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    I posted about it in the 360 Total Security thread when Malware Hunter was first released, and I believe GakunGak reported it to Qihoo. But I have not heard anything more. Perhaps it is becuase they are both Chinese companies, and the Chinese don't care too much for copyright.
     
  15. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,558
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I got a trial copy of Malware Hunter (MH) via softpedia dot com. It runs on ALL flavors of Micro$oft.

    MH has run for 2 days now, during which time I had it do 2 "quick" scans. Total cpu usage during those 2 days was just over 2 minutes. This makes MH THE lightest AV I have found.

    I liked MH a lot so I bought it -- $12 via Softpedia. Used PayPal.

    NOTE: MH offers to use Avira's scan engine on top of its own. Grrrrreat!
     
  16. PEllis

    PEllis Guest

    Thanks. I couldn't find the trial, so I just bought it since it was at a discount. I'll be giving it a try in a VM.
     
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    Since Glarysoft have added realtime protection, there is no no longer trial of the pro version, but there is a free version now. You can download the free version without realtime protection from Glarysoft's website.
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,941
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    @roger_m , There's a download link to both the free and pro versions here. Wouldn't downloading the pro version be a trial?

    Oh, I see it is the same .exe.
     
  19. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    Malware Hunter 1.22.0.39 has just been released:
     
  20. haakon

    haakon Guest

    It could most likely be they're both using the same "modern" kit to build the UI with some elementary template and didn't take too much time to customize it.

    Much like ESET, Norton, Bitdefender, Avast, Comodo and many others use Sciter.

    If their design teams didn't build to a corporate theme, they'd all look even more similar than they already do.

    And all be clones of each other! Gasp.

    Like, how many developers don't dump that rounded rectangle with the dot and dynamic background that presents an "on-off switch" as a feature toggle? Or get away from mono-color squares and rectangles? (That's rhetorical. Don't answer.)

    Wow. The one time I besmirched here the honor of fine national entities (Generically, i.e. oligarchy, dictatorship.) I got censored in a matter of hours. You must be special. ;)

    Well, thank goodness... It's Official: MH is not a clone of 360. Maybe.
     
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    I hadn't considered that, but it certainly is a possability.

    I like to think I am. :argh:
     
  22. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
    Malware Hunter has been unable to update the Avira definitions on my computer. A new version was just released, so I upgraded, but it still won't upate.

    When I Googled the error message I getting, I found that it is the exact same message 360 Total Security shows when it is unable to update. So, as I've said before, Glarysoft have copied the design of 360 TS, it doesn't just happen to look similar.

    This is the update screen is Malware Hunter:
    MH Update.png

    As you can see below from a post at Malwaretips, 360 TS use the same text, word for word:
     
  23. PEllis

    PEllis Guest

    Is there anyway of preventing MH from launching at startup?
     
  24. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    16,280
    Edit: :oops: Oh, This FAQ-Entry is for Glary Utilties.
    Look at the settings within Malwarehunter, maybe it has this option too...
     
  25. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,214
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.