Malware Defender

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Ibrad, Mar 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
  2. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    I think there's a new version.
    Current version is 2.7.2.0001 :D
     
  3. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    i had this running for 4 days,,nothing pops out...was im learning mode
    what it means?..or do i have to configure it in some way,i just left it default
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    in learning mode all is alowed:D put in normal mode and see ;)
     
  5. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    ok and now ..the latest release is 2721 ?
     
  6. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    2.7.2.001 is the latest release
     
  7. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,328
    Location:
    Hawaii
    While in learning mode you should only run trusted apps and visit trusted websites.

    Before installing MD, be 99.999% certain that your computer is clean. If you aren't sure, run full scans by Hitman, Bugbopper, & whatever AV you are running.

    Then install MD & put it in learning mode.
    Do 2 or 3 reboots (so MD can learn about all your startup stuff)
    Then run all (or most) of your trusted apps including browsers, email clients, all security apps, all updaters, etc.
    Then take MD OUT of learning mode & put it into Normal mode.

    Be prepared to deal CAREFULLY with alert pop-ups for a few days. After that, MD should settle down.

    After MD does settle down, any subsequent pop-ups should be taken VERY seriously. By the way, if you have questions or encounter problems I recommend you post them in a NEW thread -- this thread is so big they might get lost. Give your new thread a specific name such as "How to configure Malware Defender?" or "How can I get Malware Defender to protect autoruns?" And so forth.

    Good surfing to you! :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2010
  8. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    bellgamin thanks again for the advice..
     
  9. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    btw is malware defender compatible with zemana?
     
  10. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    I'm running it along with Panda Cloud Pro and Zemana on an XP Pro SP3 machine with no conflicts whatsoever.
     
  11. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    ok thanks.
     
  12. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,672
    So what is different about the newest version vs say 2.6 other then a slighty larger install file size? (1.65mb vs 1.9mb)
     
  13. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    New (optional) GUI, bug fixes, different layout for application sub-rules. Nothing major, but worth the upgrade from 2.6 imo
     
  14. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,672
    Thanks for the info :thumb:
     
  15. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    The larger installer of the newer versions is because of this added 256x256 icon, which can also be found in the MalwareDefender.exe.

    Cheers
     
  16. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    976
    Any ETA on a x64 version?
     
  17. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Darn, I was pretty sure it already was! I will have to forget MD for my x64 setup...

    And it seems there is no much alternative candidate left as true classical HIPS for this platform, but Comodo Doh+!

    Thanks goes to Microsoft closed source patchguard.
     
  18. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,328
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It depends on what you call a "classical HIPS." OnlineArmor (OA) has 64-bit coverage. OA's HIPS component is classical IMO except it lacks file protection.

    OSSS *promises* to have 64-bit coverage soon -- OSSS is so classical that it will keep you quite busy for the first week or so. IMO OSSS is the HIPS/FW to monitor. It is aggressively maintained AND incredibly powerful!!!
     
  19. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    I have to admit that I didn't follow OSSS' developments lastly, but your statement made me curious enough to go read what I can find on this truely classical HIPS (there is a lenghty thread here that I am trying to absorb right now). And yes, this one seems to exibit some quite inovative features. Don't know if it works as advertised but I will surely give it a try if/when their x64's went ready for testings.

    Thanks by any ways to alerting me to OSSS.

    I am just not sure about their pricing schemes, I will probably have to email and inquire them on this. Also wonder if they'd make use of beta testers for the x64 version to come, so I will ask them there also.
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,328
    Location:
    Hawaii
    You might notice that the OSSS representive and I are not particularly fond of each other. Even so, I am wishing good things for OSSS.
     
  21. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    Very helpful. Thanks:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  22. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,154

    I have installed and tried OSSS VERY IMPRESSIVE, another good HIPS with excelent file and folder rules. But I can't use it for my current setup with Returnil
    because its Rule files seems to be hidden so I can't get Returnil to save its Rule settings on each reboot.

    any way back on topic to MD and back to using MD
     
  23. yudigadget

    yudigadget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    So, i don't want to do learning mode step, because i want implement MD on some employee computers at my office as soon as possible.
    Before, i'm eqsecure user (works perfect with Windows XP), but since eqsecure not compatible with Windows 7 and not free anymore, i must find other alternative.

    So,
    1. I just want to do simple block with file protection / application protection. I want to block all *.exe, *.msi, *.inf, *.dll, *.vmx (conficker virus), etc on C:\ (system drive, include sub-folders). And block other drive by default.
    How to do that?
    2. Where Malware Defender keep my configuration? so, maybe i can keep the config and easy implement to other computers (just copy & paste).
    3. I don't need Registry Protection & Network Protection at the moment.. well i think, if i already block all executable (which is virus possibility) and well patched windows security, i don't have to worry with the virus.. because they (employee) always run trusted application.
    I did this on eqsecure and almost 1 year, no complain from all employee that use Windows XP & Eqsecure.
     
  24. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    I've been running 2.7.1 with no issues, BSODs and otherwise.
    Considering only security and protection, would there be any compelling reason to go with 2.7.2.1?
    If so, (for this and future upgrades) could one just disable all protection, run the setup, enable protection and be good to go?
    Thanks!

    FYI - dl dot 360safe dot com is blocked by both dynDNS and MBAMpro. Easily overcome, but I'm just reporting...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 10, 2010
  25. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    No compelling reason to upgrade....but equally, why not?

    No. Exit the application first, then do the upgrade.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.