Malicious Software Removal Tool gone WGA?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by gorgelink, Jul 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gorgelink

    gorgelink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    The Malicious Software Removal Tool that comes bundled with the Windows July updates seems to check for a genuine Windows copy (WGA technologyo_O).

    Additionally, I was asked to accept (or decline) a license.

    Anyone else experienced this?

    G.
     
  2. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi gorgelink :)


    Yep! .... Me!

    It was really odd wasn't it?

    I don't remember having to accept license agreements for Malicious Software Removal Tool updates in the past :(

    I know one person has had problems with Opera and FireFox since having that update.
    See : http://forums.computeractive.co.uk/thread.jspa?threadID=138881&tstart=0
     
  3. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    I guess everybody is getting the question. I got it as well, both on a Vista rig and a XP rig.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i can confirm on xp,vista and server 2003.
     
  5. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Me too, I accepted the license, was that a bad thing to do? :rolleyes:
     
  6. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London
    msmsrt?

    Never used that thing in my life. Why do I need microsoft to confirm what I already know (my machine is clean)
     
  7. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    No, as long as your copy of windows is legit. Then again there have been instances of it red flagging supposedly legal copies of windows.
     
  8. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
  9. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Thanks for the heads-up. I usually have just let Windows Update download and install MRT, but since I do do run ZA and FF I unchecked the July update to prevent it from possibly causing me grief.
     
  10. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    It is a legal copy :)

    As for the problems reported, I'm running on Vista Business SP1 and everything is fine with ff3!
     
  11. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    There's a lot of chatter out there about one of the MS updates and it's interaction with ZoneAlarm, probably only on XP, as I installed all the updates (except the July MRT update - read something about WGA, which always worries me given MS track record on that!) onto my Vista Home Premium (SP1) system running ZoneAlarm AntiVirus. Obviously I am still able to connect and browse via Firefox. Do not know about IE as I never use it ;)
     
  12. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    After taking the time to do a little more research myself, I went ahead and applied the July MRT update as well and all is still OK.
     
  13. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    I don't let this tool download and run, but I do download it for later manual running if need be.
    No prompts for WGA.
    (I did have to renew my WGA software a month or so ago to download SP3 installer.)
     
  14. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,924
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I also thought it was weird to see an EULA for the MSRT this month, yet I read it and although I should have copied it, the main focus was the reporting of information back to Microsoft.

    KB890830, under Reporting infection information to Microsoft, provides skimpy details of what's being reported.
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=890830
     
  15. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I routinely block Microsoft products (e.g.: Windows Media Player; Windows Media Center; Spoolsv.exe; MRT.exe; +++) from having internet access via ZoneAlarm.
     
  16. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Never could figure why spool server needed Internet access. I block it as well.
     
  17. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
  18. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ah, that explains it!

    Windows Vista users were not affected! :)
     
  19. Stijnson

    Stijnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Paranoia Heaven
    I have AU set to option 3 (notify me of updates, but I decide if I download/install them). Btw, my XP Home copy is legit -:)

    Last weekend AU notified me of 2 updates for my rig: KB951748 and the July update for MSRT.
    The first one couldn't be downloaded at the time ('per update regulated' according to my WindowsUpdate.log, this is normally caused by heavy traffic on the update servers).

    The July update WAS downloaded, but never installed. It didn't get to see a EULA or something about WGA (which was mentioned in some posts above).

    The setting of AU to option 3 makes it necessary for an Administrator to be logged in (according to the Event Log, which states that an Admin has to be logged in in order to install the update). I've had this option set for months and every time all updates went fine, but not this time.

    Can I also download and install KB890830 manually or is this not a wise thing to do? MRT is already present on my rig (can be found in system32 folder), but the July update hasn't been installed yet. Would a manual update screw things up?

    In another post I was supported/assisted by another forum member, who offered me some advice about clearing the SoftwareDistribution folder. Should I do this first, or is there another reason why this update won't install?

    I also read something about a WGA update. As far as I can remember I haven't seen an update for this in quite a while. How can I check if I have the latest WGA update?
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2008
  20. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    See this site and this link.
     
  21. Stijnson

    Stijnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Paranoia Heaven
    Thanks Ron. I guess I have the latest version on my rig already, because I never have been bothered by it's notifications (as stated on the site: notifications will popup if WGA detects an invalid copy on your machine).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.