Making an app run as a service

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by SamSpade, Nov 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SamSpade

    SamSpade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    Since Jetico 1 (which I like very much, after testing a number of firewalls this past 5 weeks) runs as an application (above the driver and service levels), it is necessary to get it to run as a service in order to have it protecting from boot -- or so I am told. If anyone knows differently, please say so.

    If it is true that to get an app that runs above the service level to get down into the service (startup) routine, is there any other way than using a third-party work-around, like "NT Wrapper" ??

    I've installed NT Wrapper and it has caused a slow-down of both loading and routine running of my machine. Will that go away or reduce significantly as it re-programs itself with Jetico??

    Any knowledgeable advice deeply appreciated !!
    :)


    //
     
  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
  3. SamSpade

    SamSpade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    415

    Thanks, Lucas, very helpful !


    //
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.