Makes Norton seem slim

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Acadia, Dec 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    GOOD GRIEF!! I just downloaded the trial version of f-Secure 2006, this is only the anti-virus, not their entire Internet Security suite ... it was 60.4mb ... and many of ya'll complain about NAV's size, sheesh ... (haven't installed it yet; still in a state of shock!)

    Acadia
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2005
  2. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    F-Secure's program download sizes have been larger than expected for a while now. Initially you get a small file, which is the starter for the main download. I too was surprised when I trialled their 2005 product last year.
     
  3. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    OK, the download was for the entire 2005 Internet Security suite, even though I only asked for the AV. During installation it gives you the choice of installing either just the AV, or the entire package.

    BUT, I had to cancel EVERYTHING. While installing the AV, the installation stopped and told me that it had detected Lavasoft's AdAware and Webroot's Spysweeper on my system, and that it could not continue until I uninstalled those two programs ... bye-bye F-Secure!!

    Acadia
     
  4. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    They use a rebranded version of Lavasoft's AdAware so I can understand them requesting that be uninstalled.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    I had similar experience tonight. F-secure told me I had to uninstall Cisco VPN Firewall. Don't know what it was talking about unless it was Lucidlink. Again bye bye F-secure.

    Pete
     
  6. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    I had problems in the past too. Installing and Uninstallin F-Secure can be a problem...
     
  7. kkkkkkkkk

    kkkkkkkkk Guest

    Installing F-secure on PC with 1.5ghz and 512RAM need at lease 1 hour with high speed internet.

    With dial-up more than 3 hours.

    So lets say that you install F-secure on 1Ghz PC with 256RAM and dial-up. You will need all day to install it and scan all PC....
     
  8. trickyricky

    trickyricky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    London, UK
    It looks like F-Secure is definitely "doing a Symantec" - they have an excellent AV product but they have completely lost their way when it comes to supplying what people actually need. A real shame.
     
  9. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    There's need for a couple refications:

    1) You can download an offline installer when you buy it;
    2) Yes it's 60mb, but contains over 10 languages including helpfiles (wich other av has that?).
     
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Um, avast! as far as i remember... though they have far moe languages than just 10...
     
  11. TAP

    TAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    344
  12. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I can recall a while back I decided to try and give f-Secure a go as well, this was before I used BD Pro 9, but while F-Secure may be a good prog in what it does, sorry to say it wasn't for me at all.

    I found its install process to be painfully slow, a memory hog and also fairly heavy on system resources as well. Mind you I was installing it on a PIII 800/512MB RAM desktop PC.

    Even when it came to uninstalling it, it was again painfully slow. As a security suite I far prefer Bit Defender Pro 9 or Zone Alarm ISS as I've found both of them to install far quicker and more kinder on other factors as well.
     
  13. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Yes I know, but not in one installer package ;)
     
  14. Patrician

    Patrician Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    No you wouldn't. And istalling F-Secure on 1Ghz PC was a little on the optimistic side.
     
  15. javagreen

    javagreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    I find the "bye bye f-secure" comments in this thread extremely funny :D

    F-Secure's Internet Suite has a built in Antispyware module based on Lavasoft's AdAware engine, so naturally there *might* be potential registry conflicts and/or other issues with having 2 versions of the same engine installed at the same time.

    Also the removal of Apysweeper is also for the same reason, and if i'm not wrong.. spysweeper also installs a kernel mode driver for their memory resident component, which will clearly clash with the one built in with F-Secure's software.

    About the Cisco VPN Firewall, i'm not sure, but then again it surely must've been because F-Secure has its own built-in firewall.

    Also, it must be noted that even Symantec/Mcafee and possibly KAV and few others request the removal of any other AV/Security suite already installed on the PC and even offer to remove it themselves :p
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    I was the one that commented about this. First I was trying to install the AV module. Also I don't have any Cisco VPN Firewall installed. I had already uninstalled all other AV. So I don't know why this should have been an issue.

    Pete
     
  17. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Symantec and McAfee do indeed require removal of other AV, BUT NOT any spyware programs. I just paid good money for a two year subscription to SpySweeper ... it stays, f-Secure goes ... might try NOD again.

    Acadia
     
  18. kloshar

    kloshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    Europe, Slovenia, Bre?ice
    Installation of F-secure takes 10 minutes on my computer. No problems at all. And memory doesn't bother me too much. Do you all have 500 mhz and less or what? I don't understand how many damage can f-secure make on 3.0ghz+ computer with 1024 ram.
     
  19. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Playing around with BitDefender, so far, I kinda like this thingie. :D

    Acadia
     
  20. dumb A$$

    dumb A$$ Guest

    Maybe I should call Peter Norrton and see if he thinks he is stupid.
    I should ask if he thinks Norton is outdated.
    I should ask if his software was outdated with DOS an Win 3.1

    I dought he will say oh Heck ya.

    Guess he has been around along time and knows what's best for the home user.

    All you Norton haters make me sick and always have. Being a member here since before there was 1000 member and all the new cool mods, I fought for my rights, Have you?

    Hell no

    Time to get real here.

    No more pussyfooting around.

    BTW thanks Kevin for supporting me and my wierd ways.
     
  21. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Just for your information, Dumb A$$, I have used Norton AV for the past year and a half, and it looks like, at this point, that I am going to continue to do so. I actually really, really like NAV2005, I have other reasons for wanting to leave it that have nothing to do with its ability to be an excellent AV ... which it is.

    Acadia
     
  22. Dumb A$$

    Dumb A$$ Guest

    Well then I guess since this forum has always hated me I will talk to peter
    and give him my views.

    I am sure he will listen.

    Now I must go deep fry a chicken LOL
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Just curious what Peter Norton has to due with anything. Norton products were cool when Peter actually did them. Problems began with Symantec took over.
     
  24. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I don't hate you, Dumb A$$, I'm trying to let you know how much I LOVE NAV2005! I have a reason to replace it that has nothing to do with it being a Norton product, and I wish that I did not have to. I sincerely like the darn thingie.

    Acadia
     
  25. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Buying a 2 year subscription to any software product borders on the insane. You have no idea where the app is going to go in the next 3 months... could turn into utter crap for the remainder of the license and might not even have support for previous versions.

    I also had a tough time with uninstalling F-Secure. Not a fan of the install process either.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ankupan
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,319
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.