Major Multiple Website Hacking

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Ross Gardner, Nov 8, 2017.

1. Ross Gardner

Ross Gardner Registered Member

Hi everyone. I am in desperate need of help, I am a Wordpress website designer and 2 weeks ago every single website on my American shared server was hacked, roughly around 35 of them. There were different types of hacks, some websites were deleted and a coming soon index file put in place. Some had 100's of trojan viruses uploaded into them, some were just messed up and had the site name removed, admin user changed to either xxx or magico, and the UTF-8 changed to UTF-7, that made the website display a heap of errors. Two websites had subdomains added and were converted into fake internet banking websites that were harvesting banking logins.

In a few cases, the Cpanel logins were hacked, passwords changed and one client had his email used to buy things online. It took me 4 days to restore all websites and then I woke on day 5 and they were all hacked again. I did some research, restored them all again from backups, I deleted all files except the upload directory and put fresh copies of Wordpress over the top. I deleted all the themes, plugins and re-installed with fresh secure versions and hardened up all the websites with plugins such as login lockdown, Better Wordpress Security, Securi Security, ADL hide wordpress admin and added a Captcha plugin. I put .htaccess files in the includes directory, wp-contents/uploads directory, changed read permissions on the wp-config file. I limited access to the xmlrpc.php file to my IP and added a heap of recommended lines to the .htaccess file in the root directory.