Major Install Issues - Maybe you guys can help with my mouse issue...?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by havingmajorissues, Apr 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. havingmajorissues

    havingmajorissues Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    This is the situation to date:

    (I have a call scheduled with tech tomorrow night but they say I need to get my mouse working first...)


    1) Before I tried to install the software I removed Kaspersky.
    2) That seemed to go well.
    3) I bought and downloaded the software.
    4) I entered user… password… etc it started to load, then a few seconds into that it locked up so much so I had to turn it off manually.
    5) It did reboot but after a few moments it all locked up.
    6) I called them today. Miraculously today when I started it, it was no longer locked up. A tech guy asked me to put it in safe mode, it could not get into safe mode.
    7) We then removed the software.
    8. We then used app remove, it actually found the CA software on there to some degree, I had actually removed it before installing Kaspersky but must have remained to some degree.
    9) We tried safe mode again, still did not work.
    10) We downloaded the software, loaded OK but when I opened it, it said it was not installed properly, in red with a red box.
    11) The tech guy then passed me a long to a higher level. This time when it rebooted the software said it was working.
    12) This guy said lets turn back the clock.
    13) I did that to the last time when the computer was on, which was 1 week ago, I just got back from a trip.
    14) Once it rebooted I no longer had control of the mouse.
    15) This tech said he would quickly forward me to a higher level – he tried but somehow I was disconnected.
    16) I then called back in and after a ton of time on hold got the first tech guy again. He got me to a higher level. That person said it was too late to address it today and that he would call me tomorrow but said I need to get my mouse working first.
    17) As of right now I have not gotten my mouse working. I tried rebooting with the mouse in then out then in, I tried a basic simple mouse etc. They light up but do not work.
    18. And safe mode still does not work.


    I went with this software to protect myself from this sort of waste of time and added costs though seemed to have shot myself in the foot by trying this software.

    Anyone have an idea of what may have effected the mouse? Turning back the close with this software installed? Anyway to get the mouse working again without incurring a huge fee at a repair shop?

    I also think it is now offline - but hard to work the desktop with no mouse...


    Brian
     
  2. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello,

    You could save yourself some headaches by just formatting. It might be time.

    BFG
     
  3. havingmajorissues

    havingmajorissues Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    I will throw the PC out the window before I do that.

    And we are not talking infection of a serious kind here... simply install of software to protect this kind of waste of time...
     
  4. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hi,

    You're may be right. They'll have you straightened out in no time. Let us know what it was if you would.

    Thhank you
    BFG
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    In order to determine whether ESET is actually involved in the lockup or it was caused by interference of other software/drivers, please create a complete memory dump per the instructions here when the system locks up and convey it to ESET along with a log from SysInspector for perusal.
     
  6. havingmajorissues

    havingmajorissues Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    This would involve using the mouse. I can not use the mouse.

    I can tab around and I can use the windows key so I assume at least some of the computer is currently not frozen.

    Please re-read the chain of events above.

    The mouse was working before I moved the computer back in time to a date when everything was working fine.
     
  7. SomeOne123

    SomeOne123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    You don't need the mouse to do it. If your computer is working the KB will work fine.

    Press the Start (Windows flag) button on your KB rather then clicking it with your mouse on screen, etc. If you don't have a start/windows flag button, I am not sure how you bring it up. But you can use the arrow keys from there.

    Get to run and press enter. Type in regedit, enter.

    You can navigate the registry with arrow keys - up/down and right/left.

    Alt+E brings up the Edit drop down at the top of the screen and you can use the arrow keys again to add the values, etc.

    You don't need a mouse to use windows.
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    if you can't enter boot in Safe Mode then something is wrong with your Windows install and ideally you should try and repair it (which is not reformat)
     
  9. robertoa81

    robertoa81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Posts:
    23
    Have you tried using a USB mouse? I'd have to agree with Cudni. Sounds like your entire system is fubar'ed. I'd start thinkin about backing it up and starting all over again.
     
  10. SomeOne123

    SomeOne123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    It is probably not FUBAR'd. It is probably something minor. Past experience tells me this. However again - you don't need a mouse to use windows. From previous posts, I gather he can get into windows fine now that he used a restore point (shivers - I disable restore points).

    Kaspersky is a nightmare. Did you use a program specifically to uninstall Kaspersky or any registry cleaning tools after removal?
     
  11. robertoa81

    robertoa81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Posts:
    23
    Everything is fixable if you know what you're doing. Not being able to boot into safe mode tells me that something got screwed up in the registry or perhaps a system file was deleted\corrupted. And you're absolutley right about NOT needing a mouse to navigate thru windows. Some people are not experienced enough to know how to do that. If the man needs a working mouse then lets get his mouse working so he can proceed with everyones suggestions.
     
  12. wallop

    wallop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Ctrl+escape is the shortcut for bringing up the start menu.
     
  13. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe if you change the computer time back, using BIOS, the mouse will work, it does not make sense to me that this would cause it to Not work, but you never know. If you cannot get to BIOS, you may need a direct plug in keyboard not USB. I had a motherboard like this once, could not get to BIOS with a USB keyboard, and I think it would not do an F8 safe mode boot either. There is also the repair function on the Windows disc, might fix the mouse problem, might make things worse. What OS are you using anyway?
     
  14. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, by now, the OS could have been reinstalled about 20 times (and that includes two nice evenings in a pub), ruling out any broken OS issues. Basically, backup, format, reinstall, if still doesn't work -> RMA or throw to garbage can if warranty already expired. No point in wasting more time on this.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.