Magazine report

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dvt, Nov 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dvt

    dvt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    London, England
    I've just read a disturbing report in a UK mag about TI9, saying great software but unreliable. Since backup/ imaging software is precisely the software than need to be reliable, I'm a little worried.
    Do others rely on it without worry? I've noticed that TI9 is nowhere near as good as TI8, it's incredibly slow. Do Acronis know what's gone wrong?
    Are people going back to TI8?
    I have a feeling I'vebought a pup here.
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    It's obvious from this forum that all is not well with TI9. I guess I am like you - uncertain. I bought it based on recommendation from a friend a good printed reports about TI but not being aware that was for V8 and I got V9.

    So I have the latest version on my PC. I have done a full backup and checked it. It verified OK. Now, do I blow away my C drive and see if it works? Doesn't matter if it doesn't since I have my DriveImage backup which I know does work. Seems kind of dumb backing up with 2 programs in case the supposed better one won't work.

    I think TI will probably work since the comments on this forum NOW seem to be more about features that I don't use or don't really matter to get the job done such as the mouse issue as long as you can use the keyboard.

    Also remember that people post when they have a problem - you aren't seeing comments from the others that aren't having a problem.

    My backup speed (HD to HD) was good.

    I think the quality issue with TI9 should not have happened and I hope Acronis has learned a lesson. I do take comfort in the fact that they do seem to be working on the problem and will ultimately have a good product.
     
  3. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Seagate 160 GB $39.99 AR (6072224) $0.25/GB at BestBuy

    My data is worth 40 bucks to test completely.
    I might even do it twice if I really want to be sure.
    But then, I like my data.
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Restored my 9.5GB worth of C drive. Started restore from within windows, ie, didn't use the bootable CD. Appears to have worked fine. Time was good too.

    I checked the box requesting the restored data be verfied (not the exact words) and I expected to see something to show that was happening and I didn't notice anything. Is it quick and I just missed it?

    Next I will try the CD.
     
  5. It'sme

    It'sme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Middle Earth, NZ
    I'll be keen to hear how the restore from the bootable CD goes. That was the restore method I used (and always have) under TI9 when I got my E00070020 Corruption error.

    btw. I never blindly trust anything - would be foolish to assume it's gonna work when you need to call on it.
     
  6. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Well at least that reviewer was honest. There was another reviewer in a USA magazine that gave TI9 a great review. Someone eventually found out that the reviewer never even checked it out. Look through the topics here if you want more info.
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    :) I burned my previously created image on HD onto 2 DVDs. I always make images in 650MB pieces (so I could put them on CD if necesary but now another DVD drive is so cheap). I booted up the 2302 recovery CD and selected the Full version.

    Went through the restore wizard which was fine once I put the last DVD in instead of the first one.

    Took about 31 minutes to restore 9.5GB of data (P4P800, 2.8Ghz, 512M dual-chan mem, SATA HD). Used the default compression when I created the image.

    Ticked the Check File System after restore box but didn't see any obvious evidence that was happeningo_Oo_O

    So far I am happy. Of course, this is almost the most basic type of operation - no USB devices, no extra commands, no Secure Zone... but this is the way I have always done my image backups. I create a full partition image to HD and every now and then I burn one onto DVD in case the whole disk goes away.
     
  8. teanick

    teanick Guest

    Version 7 has worked great for me. I use it on three machines, with Windows 98FE, 98SE and Windows 2000 SP4. Have had to restore twice to the 98FE machine and also to the windows 2000 box and have never had a problem, either from restoring from a secondary computer hard drive on a PC or from a USB drive. I do full weekly backups, no incrementals.

    I upgraded once from Version 6 and saw no need to upgrade to versions 8 or 9.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.