MadMACs Install

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by PaulyDefran, Mar 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    Happy wanted a tutorial, so here it is. It's really easy, so this isn't anything earth shattering :D

    Download from here:

    http://www.irongeek.com/i.php?page=security/madmacs-mac-spoofer

    Extract and place folder anywhere. I use Program Files.

    Double click madmacs.exe. Allow any HIPS popups, etc...

    Once GUI opens, check both boxes, hit Save/Apply, then Set On Boot.

    To set for a second adapter, run the program again.

    If you change 00 to 02/6/A/E, you don't have to check the bottom box...they both do the same thing. Some NICs won't spoof with 00 set. KISS - just leave 00 and check the box.

    In same folder, remove the "sample" from sample dic.txt - making it just dic.txt. These are your random machine names. You can add, subtract, or replace with any type of names list you want. Search the intarwebs for lists.

    Reboot.

    Either run ipconfig /all from a Command Prompt, or check your router to make sure it's working.

    If you use MAC filtering on your router, you obviously need to disable that. It's pretty useless anyway, IMO...your WPA2 key is enough.

    If you can't connect at work...you'll probably need to disable. Just run the .exe again, and uncheck the boxes and Save/Apply. Reboot.

    PD
     
  2. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    great stuff , thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  3. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
  4. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  5. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    so i tried it with my usb wifi adapter and , well it wont work after i change the mac , works as soon as i set it back to its default mac , odd, ive got mac address filtering disabled btw as you pointed out to do, anybody else try this with theyre usb wifi adapter

    or have i perhaps misunderstood something , cause first i tried with both options checked , then i selected only change mac default address on this interface the second option blocked me from connecting to my router

    then i went and got smac 2.7 to go and see if the mac is being spoofed and it is atleast it says its being spoofed but the active mac is my real one , same when i go into status under my wifi connection it shows me my physical mac is the same real one, o_O is this normal, the same goes for when i check it under command line and then ipconfig /all , when i select the second option , the physical mac gets changed but no internet access
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  6. aklies14

    aklies14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    America
    you wont be able to change MAC address in win7 using win7 drivers.to make mac changers work uninstall windows 7 wifi card drivers,and force it to install windows xp drivers for your wifi card and make sure it doesn't auto-update to win7 drivers.
     
  7. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    i got those , ill give it a try will post back with results , thanks in advance


    update : nope it wont let me use the xp driver , how do i make it use the xp driver
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  8. aklies14

    aklies14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    America
    1. download xp drivers for your wifi card from net.
    2.In device manager->select wifi adapter->update driver software->browse my computer for driver software->let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer->have disk->browse->done

    confirm in properties that driver version installed is same as that of xp version you wanted to install.
     
  9. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    says its not a x64 compatible driver , and that i should pick a x64 compatible driver, now what

    heres a listing of available drivers


    vistax64

    vistax86

    win2k

    winxp

    winx64

    w7x86

    w7x64
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  10. aklies14

    aklies14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    America
    I guess you are trying to use xp 32 bit drivers.
    Download xp 64 bit drivers for your card and try those.
     
  11. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    yep just found out the winx64 ones apparently are winxps 64bit variant , works a charm now , thanks alot mate, been some time since i had to do with xp , lols
     
  12. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    make a backup of your system partition before you try this software!

    i tried to apply it to my wireless network adapter with bad results.

    first, my computer wouldn't shutdown normally - I waited for about 10 minutes for it to reboot, then finally used the power button to force close it.

    after I rebooted back to windows, some of my settings had been wiped clear. for example, keepass forgot my settings and keefox isn't working now (need to reinstall I think), and similar problems with some other programs.

    second, the mac address hasn't changed on my wireless adapter, but the computer name was randomized. i only read later about the need to uninstall win 7 network drivers and replace them with windows xp drivers, but I'm not going to play around with that.

    third, there's no obvious way to uninstall this software. i did press 'remove from startup' button in the main gui of course, but my computer still boots with a different host name each time.

    so be careful.
     
  13. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    Bummer, never had a problem, but I have an Intel NIC with Intel drivers. I think it only puts an entry in HKLM, pointing to the folder. Don't know how it did what it did, to your box. Sorry mate.

    PD
     
  14. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    yeah same over here no issues , w7 x64 user here , removing startup entry works as well ,, been testing it the last couple of days, btw ive been thinking about this mac and hostname randomizing in all possible variables known to me , its very useful while using your hidden os and connecting to someone elses wifi , like coffee shops etc, as said above you wouldnt want any evidence of a mac randomizer on your decoy os , but for home use id suggest to not randomize or change the hostname of your hidden os , since , depending on country you live in , some have laws that require you by law

    to passphrase lock your router ,meaning theres no excuse to say someone else has hacked into my wifi ,that wouldnt hold up in court , not to mention it taking quite abit off of your plausible deniability since it would show a mac and hostname that you are not in possesion of , giving grounds to believe theres some hidden os etc, and lets turn that paranoia up a notch and say the trusted vpn you connect to decides to log your connections for fun , they would have evidence as well of you using a vpn on a mac and hostname that you dont have or can prove that youve used aka a certain internet cafe pc you can point them too etc, so i wouldnt suggest to use this with your vpn as well , unless ive misunderstood something here do tell
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
  15. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    MAC only goes to the first router (House, Coffee Shop, etc...)...your VPN provider doesn't get it. As far as strange MAC's in your router logs: A: Just stick MadMACs on another machine in your house. B:Wow, my WPA2 Password must be weak. C: Friends. D:No clue, *you* prove it. E: Since it's never the same name/number, legally, it shouldn't matter. F: DHCP Leases normally get wiped after 24 Hrs (User configurable). Just some thoughts, not that they may be correct :D

    PD
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2013
  16. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    ill take option A , seems legit,with abit of modification ,instead of a seperate machine , youd simply use it on the decoy as well , since it would be questionable having anything but your actual real mac of your wifi adapter in the router connection log, only way to keep real plausible deniability ;) , problems would come up should mac spoofing be illegal , thou i havent heard of that as of yet


    btw anybody know why w7 x64 drivers dont allow for mac spoofing , id love to know, btw too bad it dont have an random manual ipv4 switcher , since some people have issues with w7 integrated auto configure ip and thus have to manually enter theyre ip , gateway , dns , id love for that kind of feature or maybe a seperate little app that randomly changes the ipv4 address , been lookin around couldnt find nothing
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2013
  17. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    Are you talking about the drivers Windows installs during set up, for the NIC? Because I use Win7 x64 and my Intel NIC spoofs fine. I use Intel's driver though.

    PD
     
  18. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    well my w7 x64 drivers for my wifi adapter dont spoof , hence why i gotta use the xp 64 version drivers ,as stated a couple posts above and pointed out by aklies, issue with that solution is that all wifi networks show as g instead of n , but operate n speeds almost like the xp drivers dont have the lettering mixed up or somethin , lols
     
  19. aklies14

    aklies14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    America
    @PD no idea how you are able to spoof mac without using xp drivers,maybe you are using xp drivers only by accident.

    I have 3 different wifi cards and i had to install windows xp drivers for all 3 on my windows 7 for mac spoofing to work.I read somewhere that it has something to do with signed drivers.
     
  20. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
  21. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    interesting , looks like PD is the only one here with the ability to spoof macs with w7 drivers
     
  22. 1337

    1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Interesting, Comodo Firewall says MadMACs try to connect Internet. I check the code but there is nothing suspicious. VirusTotal - 6 out of 45!

    When I compile the code myself - VirusTotal - 2 out of 45! And no suspicious activity!
     
  23. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
  24. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
  25. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    seems then that 1337 is a special case or as said downloaded from somewhere besides the official link
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.