Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. slipkid

    slipkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    usa
    Thx for the replies.

    A couple answers/more info in regards to what TRF and jphugan mentioned:

    - What happened when I tried to boot off my Linux Rescue CDRs (I tried several different ones,both in the builtin CD/DVD drive and also at same time in an external CD/DVD drive) was that they seemed to be ignored in the bootup sequence. System went straight to boot off the hard drive. So I got into the BIOS setting by rebooting and holding down F2, checked the bootup sequence, which was #1 floppy drive (the laptop does not even have one), then CD/DVD (which I assume refers to the internal CD/DVD drive), then hardrive, then USB. I changed that by removing the floppy option, which left #1 as CD/DVD, then moved harddrive to bottom of list, which left USB as #2, and harddrive as last option. Booted up again but with Linux CDR but the PC booted off the hard drive again. At that point I thought to rule out a Linux disc bootup issue I should try booting up off my original XP Install CD, or one of the Dell original bootup CDRs, or even try going into the BIOS again and totally removing the harddrive choice from the sequence altogether. I never got back to that though instead decided to ask for help in general, to see if I was completely wasting my time anyways, also to try a newer version of Macrium & see if that could make a Win bootup rescue disc that included the right drivers etc.

    - Interesting suggesting about taking the drive out and connecting it via a USB adapter etc to a newer PC. I will consider that as a last resort but am still trying to find a way to do this just using the laptop. Which leads me to ask a few Qs:

    - Why did my install of v6 executable (which I downloaded from Afterdawn) here:
    https://www.afterdawn.com/software/security/backup_tools/macrium_reflect_free.cfm/v6_3_1745
    when I ran that resulted in it contacting Macrium, the install saying something like "choosing the correct version for your PC" and creating a directory for installing with file called "v7.3.6391_reflect_setup_free_x86.exe" in it, which then did the install as that version? No biggie but just curious. I chose to install v6 after reading some various comments in various forums saying it was the best version for XP for some unknown reason or that it would be compatible with v4 backups which could be wrong of course but still - confused the heck out of me installing a version I wasn't trying to install.

    - More impt - why did the install for v7 then fail in a step something like trying to download something from Microsoft relating to making bootable rescue discs I believe (WinPe I think), telling me that the install would proceed without that but I could add that later (yet not telling me HOW to get that later - so HOW do I get that now anyways??).

    - And of course, when running the installed v7 and choosing the task called Create Rescue Media, why does it get stuck on this screen:

    macrium v7 step1 creating windows PE screen.jpg

    I click on download, a screen pops up that says "Building Wim, downloading missing components" with a moving status bar, then after a few seconds just goes back to the same screen as above (because it failed I guess - in the same way that the install failed which I THINK was supposed to be getting those same components locally for use later).

    If I could get around that part, find a way for it to get whatever it is trying to get from Microsoft, I could at least in theory make a bootable Rescue DVD with the needed Dell drivers etc.

    When it gives the option of BROWSE for using local disks to find some "zipfile" it is looking for, what is that zipfile? What is in it? Is it something I can make myself from something that is on my hard drive already or on the WinXP install CD?
     
  2. slipkid

    slipkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    usa
    Oh, and also some other info:

    When I did the v6 install (which turned into v7) I did NOT remove my already installed v4. Instead I put the new install for v7 in a separate directory. That did not seem to hurt anything, both still run. But maybe I need to remove both now, then try that v6 install againo_O I really think that should not matter but am not sure.

    When I tried to make a rescue DVD via v7, I left the advanced options as the default like this:



    macrium v7 advanced rescue options1.jpg macrium v7 advanced rescue options2.jpg

    macrium v7 advanced rescue options3.jpg

    I don't know what the diff is between WinPE 3.1 (WAIK) and 4.0 (WADK) but used 3.1 since that is what it defaulted to and the description seems to suggest it is the one to use.

    For the heck of it right now I chose the 4.0 one. That proceeds like the 3.1 build but instead of giving msg of needing to download 142.6mb from Microsoft it tries to download 166.6mb. Whoa...holy crap...this time it shows this:

    macrium v7 step2 creating windows PE screen of 4-0.jpg

    So oddly THIS type of download works (or at least is working, not done yet). This I believe means that whatever it tried to get for the 3.1 version SIMPLY DOES NOT EXIST ON THE MICROSOFT SERVER at all, or perhaps NOT in the same place that MACRIUM was looking for it!!! More later....
     
  3. slipkid

    slipkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    usa
    Crap. That download above stopped at about 130mb done & now is stuck on a endless loop saying this:

    macrium v7 step2 creating windows PE screen of 4-0 got stuck.jpg

    I keep clicking on the Download button, it shows status downloading again for about 5 seconds with the status bar having like 3 green bars in it but then it goes back to the screen above. I don't think it can actually FIND that remaining 25mb wherever it is looking for it at Microsoft (o_O??).

    So I'm back to asking - is there a way for me to find what Macrium is looking for manually and make that as the zipfile option it allows in the BROWSE function, for either the 4.0 WADK or the 3.1 WAIKo_O

    And has anyone done this on an XP system recently that can verify if this type of build in v7 even works anymore?? Maybe that is what I am running up against. Or maybe it is looking for something in particular that applies TO MY SYSTEM alone which it cannot find (that makes no sense to me).

    Sheesh.
     
  4. slipkid

    slipkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    usa
    P.S. Frogger should note that I have 5 posts now (oooh - 6 now!) and I have the settings enabled to accept conversations from other so if he wants feel free to start a conversation with me. I tried to start one with him but couldn't figure out how to do that (or maybe I need even more posts to do that, no worries)...
     
  5. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Austria
    Usually, when clicking on a user name (beside a post) a window should open where you have an option "Start a Conversation":

    Conversation.jpg

    When clicking on your user name, the window opens but the option is not (yet) here. I assume the same happens when you click on another user name. So obviously your assumption is correct: You need some more posts.
     
  6. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    That's a whole lot of questions in a pretty short period of time there, slipkid. Not sure that all really qualified as just "A few Qs" by the end.

    First, I really wouldn't recommend downloading Reflect installers from third-party sites. At a bare minimum, verify that the installer is properly signed. But I'm not sure what you're referring to about V6 being the optimal choice for XP. Both V7 and V8 work fine on XP. And if YOU'RE not entirely sure what you read about V6 allegedly being the best choice either, then maybe it shouldn't be taken as gospel. ;)

    The WinPE components can be downloaded in advance by using the Reflect Download Agent. That can be helpful for people who to get all necessary components available to install Reflect and WinPE components on systems that are permanently offline. If you choose to download WinPE in advance, you'll get those files packaged into a zip file. If you don't do that, you'll be prompted to download those components the first time they're needed as a result of you trying to build Rescue Media, as you saw in that prompt. (And that Browse option in that prompt is where you can select the zip file if you had downloaded it beforehand.) But either way, you don't have to manually go out of your way to get those files.

    If you're getting stuck on downloading missing components, sometimes third-party anti-virus can cause that. Basically, the WinPE components include some utilities that are legitimate but that can also be used for nefarious purposes, such as utilities that can modify a boot sector. As a result, sometimes third-party AV will silently delete those files as they're being downloaded, which of course prevents you from ever ending up with a complete set of WinPE files, and therefore always leaves you with missing components. You might have to exempt Reflect.exe, Reflectbin.exe, and RMBuilder.exe from your AV scanning.

    Microsoft still offers WinPE 3.1, so I don't think the problem is that Reflect doesn't know where to get it. As for WinPE 4.0, I didn't even realize XP could build with WinPE 4.0, but evidently it can.
     
  7. slipkid

    slipkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    usa
    More info:

    - My need to make a winPE bootable disc is turned up a notch.

    Again, my initial install of Reflect, is UNABLE to make one, it cannot contact "Microsoft" for the download at all, just hangs, whether the first time I installed, or subsequently in trying to make a disc manually (although for unknown reason trying to make one as 4.0 gets at least gets as far as needing the last 25.7 mb).

    If anyone knows has any idea what is going on with this I'm all ears.

    And I don't believe that this has anything to do with the version of Macrium that I downloaded from Afterdawn being bad/shady as mentioned by jphughan. It appears legit, and that site is legit, have used it many many times over the years. If it comes down to it though I will uninstall then try downloading/reinstalling direct from Macrium. Actually who knows maybe it is a bug in v7 but will work in v8. I have no clue...

    Regardless here is some more info:

    - My bootup order etc does work, experimented with booting off actual WinXP install cd and that works, it boots off that. It is just the Linux rescue discs from v4 that my system thinks is not bootable media. Just doesn't tell me that, instead it ignores them.

    - To be safe since it seems uncertain if v4 image backups can be read in v7 or not I used v7 to make new backups of my partitions straight to my external USB hard drive, however ONE of the partitions will NOT backup - the D: "program" partition. Should only take 5 minutes but every 4 out of 5 times got as far as 55% then just sat there on "2 minutes left". Left it alone one of the times for hours. 1 of the 5 times even caused a blue screen of death (serious system error). Obviously the drive (at that partition at least) is getting worse. So I can't make a new D: backup but can rely on one of my older ones made in v4 assuming v7 (or v:cool: can work with that.....

    Right now am typing this using a different PC, while my afflicted one is running a CHKDSK on the D: drive. Thought I'd try that for the hell of it, although when I first noticed drive problems a few weeks ago I ran CHKDSK on all the partitions and that found no errors at all (it was only in a Dell startup diagnostic utility that I learned for sure that the drive is failing, which makes sense due to some other things that have been going on with it recently like sometimes failing to recognize the drive is bootable, and the way the drive makes noise/groans now like my refrigerator.

    If anyone has any suggestions for being able to make a bootable rescue DVD in light of my probs above that I documented please chime in, thanks all....(and I tried it with no antivirus running, no difference)....
     
  8. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    Since you're all ears, did you see the note I made in my immediately previous post about anti-virus sometimes causing the exact behavior you're describing?

    And if you have access to another PC, you could make Rescue Media on that PC and try it on your original PC. In general it's better to make Rescue Media on the system where you'll be using it so that Reflect can automatically incorporate drivers, but that won't even be possible on your XP PC because Reflect can't build Rescue Media based on the XP kernel. You'll be using the Win7 or Win8 kernel (PE 3.1 or PE 4). Chances are those kernels will already have native support for the hardware in your system anyway, but even if they don't, you'll then need to find Win7/8-compatible drivers for that hardware and add them manually to your Rescue Media, and you'd have needed to do that anyway even if you built Rescue Media on your own system. So maybe try installing Reflect Free on that secondary system you're using -- ideally downloaded directly from Macrium -- and using that to build your Rescue Media.

    It's not uncertain. TheRollbackFrog guessed that V7 would not be compatible. And I told you that Macrium specifically confirmed that even Reflect V8 maintains backward compatibility with backups created by all previous versions of Reflect.
     
  9. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    @slipkid Just for the record, I was just now able to use the official Reflect Download Agent to download the WinPE 3.1 components and the WinPE 4 components to zip files. (Open download agent, click Options, change dropdown to download only the WinPE components of the desired version.) Those downloads do in fact come from Microsoft, so I'm not sure why you put that in quotes earlier, but they're both still available and both still download fine on my system. But here again, if you have access to a secondary system, you can try using the Reflect Download Agent on that system to download those WinPE components to zip files, copy them over to your XP system, and then use that "Browse" button you asked about earlier to point that Reflect installation to the zip file for the WinPE version you want to use. If you still have trouble, then that would reinforce my suspicion that third-party anti-virus is interfering by not allowing certain files to be extracted from the zip file or silently deleting them.
     
  10. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    894
    Location:
    Lunar module
    @slipkid
    Download MR with your browser, download the PE components with the Download Agent. Then install offline, i.e. with the internet disconnected. After installation, disable updates in the MR settings. Official MR v6.3.1865 links:
    _http://updates.macrium.com/Reflect/v6/getmsi.asp?edition=0&type=4&arch=0&redirect=Y > Free x32
    _http://updates.macrium.com/Reflect/v6/getmsi.asp?edition=0&type=4&arch=1&redirect=Y > Free x64
     
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,486
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Tried once again with a PM with the following failure... (apparently it's not turned on yet)

    You may not start a conversation with the following recipients: slipkid.
     
  12. slipkid

    slipkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    usa
    Yes I did, and I replied to that point in several posts above. With no realtime anti-virus on, it does exact same thing.


    Wait - what?? If I understand you right, REFLECT WILL NOT MAKE A RESCUE DISC FOR XP - PERIOD? Uh vey. So all of this has been a complete waste of time in the first placeo_Oo_Oo_O?


    I do not have access to a newer PC or OPSYS (unless I buy one). Even if I did, it would be 50-50 or worse even if I could find drivers from Dell that work with this older system. I doubt very much that they continued to support it under win7/8. And my free time is so limited - I don't have a month to spend to work on that etc....sigh...


    Sure sounds uncertain to me. One person here said it is backwards compatible, another person said he thought it was not. I don't know who to believe.

    I appreciate people trying to help but what I've been seeing here are people giving answers that really do not know for sure what the answer is. Educated guesses. Worth a shot but at this point I guess I will go back to square one and just do everything manually (reinstalling XP, reinstalling driver, reinstalling programs etc). Or maybe I will try putting the Vista drive in and seeing if I can install Macrium there, then make rescue media that way.

    Or I will pay Macrium for an officially licensed version to take advantage of their "support", maybe they can give me 100% for sure answers as to what I'm facing with this....sigh...
     
  13. slipkid

    slipkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    usa
    Thanks, but no luck.

    I gave it a shot. First I uninstalled the v7 version. Also the v4 version that I had left installed just in case v7 didn't work.

    Installed v6 via your link above for the 32 bit version (downloaded the installer then did the install off-line).

    The install seemed to work. Program runs. Did not do the weirdness of my previous attempt at v6 which upgraded itself to v7 as part of the install.

    But I still cannot create the rescue media.

    This is what happens:



    macrium v6 winpe install1.jpg
    macrium v6 winpe install2.jpg


    macrium v6 winpe install3.jpg

    I did some snooping around, found some interesting things in the macrium LOG (file called waiklog.txt).

    Download to: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Macrium\Reflect\Downloads\winpe.wim
    ERROR: Unable to connect to 'http://download.microsoft.com/download/0/4/C/04C805CC-4C04-4D76-BE80-7D67B951CF73/waik_supplement_en-us.iso' to retrieve file.

    Download to: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Macrium\Reflect\Downloads\bootmgr
    ERROR: Unable to connect to 'http://download.microsoft.com/download/0/4/C/04C805CC-4C04-4D76-BE80-7D67B951CF73/waik_supplement_en-us.iso' to retrieve file.

    Download to: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Macrium\Reflect\Downloads\WINPE-WMI.CAB
    ERROR: Unable to connect to 'http://download.microsoft.com/download/0/4/C/04C805CC-4C04-4D76-BE80-7D67B951CF73/waik_supplement_en-us.iso'[plain] to retrieve file.


    Many such messages including similar ones dating back to the v7 install's attempt at making winpe stuff (I left the option for something like"clearing the logs" unchecked during my uninstalls). It's like it cannot FIND the downloads (o_O). I'll try downloading them direct maybe that will work - there are several iso files mentioned in the logs that it cannot download. Am out of time right now though.

    I guess jphughan is right above when he said "Reflect can't build Rescue Media based on the XP kernel" unless I am misunderstanding what he said above.

    I'm pretty confused, overtired, and frustrated at this point (my apologies if I come off as "cranky" but that is exactly how I feel after a bunch of workshifts inhaling cement dust and paint fumes then coming home for 1st time in about a week with only maybe an hour to tackle this again).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 11, 2021
  14. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    894
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Try https://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v8/ReflectDLFull.exe Rename to ReflectDLHF.exe but this is not necessary. With it, download the component you need, it will be in the form of an archive, you do not need to unpack. Create Rescue offline, browse to this archive.
    da.png
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2021
  15. slipkid

    slipkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    usa
    Thx for trying to help. Logically that should work. But it doesn't.

    I downloaded & ran that download agent thing. Tried to download what you showed above. This was the result:

    MACRIUM INSTALLER ERROR TRYING TO GET WAIK DIRECT.jpg


    This is what the logfile for the installer says:

    Macrium Reflect download agent v8.0.6161
    OS: v5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
    Architecture: x86
    Loglevel: 0
    Acquire features file
    Http fetch features file
    Download Type: Home
    Download option: PE 3 (WAIK) Rescue Components Only
    Component count: 1
    Downloading component: WAIK x86 Components
    Download file: winpe.wim from set: pe3x86wim
    To: F:\Temp\Installer\Macrium\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\x86\winpe.wim
    INFO: Resume file found for F:\Temp\Installer\Macrium\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\x86\winpe.wim
    INFO: 0 bytes found in resume file
    File system supports sparse files
    INFO: Http Status : -1
    ERROR: Failed to download file: -1
    Component download complete
    End of component download list​

    I went to the F:\Temp\Installer subdir and it is empty. Nothing in it, no subs, nor the winpe.wim file.

    Something is fundamentally wrong with all this on this PC but I don't know what, other than what jphughan seemed to say above that this stuff just will not work under XP in any case.

    In other news I can go directly to the microsoft links for the ISO files I mentioned in above post like waik_supplement_en-us.iso and download those with my browser. I extracted the contents using 7-zip (didn't bother to try burning to CD or DVD and point Reflect at that but maybe I should). I don't know what all the stuff is form those ISOs but the file that Reflect appears to be looking for in order to make the rescue disc is called "pe3x86.zip" (it shows that name if I chose to browse for what it is trying to get). Although for all I know that is just one file it is looking for then after it gets that might try to ask for another. That file does not appear to be anywhere on my PC, including in the extracted iso files I got so far (although maybe it inside a CAB file or something??). I'm lost...am thinking maybe I should try all this from the old vista drive that I have not even had time to checkout yet. Out of time for today though...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2021
  16. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    894
    Location:
    Lunar module
    You have a common problem in your OS, ask them to download it for you and put it on file hosting. It will download one file pe3x86.zip 119.856KB, it does not need to be unzipped.
     
  17. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    Do you not have any third-party AV installed at all, or did you simply disable real-time scanning? If the latter, some AV solutions don't allow themselves to be totally disabled even when they claim to be. So if you're still having trouble and don't have access to another PC, then try at least temporarily uninstalling your third-party AV entirely. I have seen that resolve Reflect issues multiple times because apparently some AV insists on interfering with legitimate activity even when the user has disabled it.

    No you didn't understand me correctly. I didn't say Reflect can't build Rescue Media from a Windows XP system. I said it couldn't build Rescue Media that runs on the Windows XP kernel. As you'll notice, the oldest WinPE kernel you can choose in the Rescue Media settings is WinPE 3.1, which is based on the Windows 7 kernel. There's no requirement that your Rescue Media run on the same version of Windows as the system you're building it from, since Rescue Media is an entirely different, self-contained environment. But if you use a separate kernel for Rescue Media, then Reflect can't reliably copy drivers right out of your host OS into your Rescue Media build, since XP drivers won't necessarily be compatible with a Windows 7 kernel, for example. On the other hand, a Win7 kernel is more likely to have native support for your hardware anyway, so you might not need additional drivers in the first place.

    One person said what he would "guess", and in fact used that exact word. Another said what he was told by Macrium, in fact by Macrium's founder and CEO. But if you still don't know who to believe, try it for yourself. See if you can verify and/or browse your Reflect V4 backups from a newer Reflect version.

    Well in fairness, when you're having weird issues that others can't reproduce, educated guesses are pretty much all you can reasonably expect when receiving assistance over forum from people who are volunteering their time to help other random people on the Internet.
     
  18. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    @slipkid I wonder if the problem is that Windows XP is now so ancient that it doesn't support modern Web security standards that are now commonplace, such as TLS 1.2 and the SHA-256 signing algorithms now used for SSL certificates, both of which can be necessary in order to establish HTTPS connections. And if the Microsoft servers that host thse WinPE files no longer allow regular HTTP connections, that might be what's preventing you from downloading things at this point. Unfortunately there are no updates to add support for those newer Web protocol standards to Windows XP, so if you can't get access to another PC to download the WinPE zip file through the Reflect Download agent, then you might be stuck.

    And I'm not sure there are updates available for Vista either.

    I guess if you try to use the modern Internet from an OS that's 20 years old at this point, you can encounter some problems. Shocking. :isay:
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2021
  19. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    ^ Just for perspective, from a time standpoint, being here in 2021 and using XP is equivalent to being in 2001 (when XP launched) and using MS-DOS 1.0. Even if you had been using Windows 3.1 in 2001, you would still have been using an OS only half as old as XP is now. And that doesn’t account for the fact that technology advances much more quickly now.
     
  20. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,486
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I never heard back on your PM problem (December 2nd) so I just tried again and it worked... food for thought.
     
  21. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,231
    Does Macrium or its Rescue Media build process create a "bootmgr" file on the C drive? Can I delete the file?
     
  22. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,486
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Using the Rescue Media builder (on the toolbar), if you ask it for a BOOT option, it will create the needed BCD file to allow BOOTmgr to access the on-line Rescue Media. If it was created "by accident," an option exists at the bottom of the Media Builder page to REMOVE the BOOT menu.
     
  23. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    As noted above, Reflect can add a boot entry to your Windows BCD. But that only adds an entry to a BCD that already exists. It does not create a “BCD file” itself. The Bootmgr file exists at the root of the Windows partition on all Windows installations since at least Vista. It is however hidden by default such that you’d have to enable “Show hidden files” AND disable “Hide protected operating system files” in order to see it. But I would certainly not recommend deleting it. Removing a boot entry as TheRollBackFrog above stated is completely different from deleting the entire Bootmgr file — sort of like the difference between deleting a record out of a database compared to deleting the entire database.
     
  24. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,231
    I'm talking about a bootmgr file on the C partition. Don't show hidden files and Hide protected operating system files are enabled in the options. The bootmgr file appeared on the C partition after installing Macrium or creating Rescue Media. There is a "boot" folder on the C partition created by Macrium. The date and time of this folder match with the bootmgr file's.
     
  25. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    Mexico
    That folder is created by Windows not MR.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.