Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    The new features really have not convinced me to upgrade. I'm keeping to V. 7 for now.
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,797
    Ahh so that is it. I use the free version so no discount or update offered to me.
     
  3. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    940
    So my upgrade from V7 would be half of $139.95! That is way to much!
     
  4. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    US
    What edition of Reflect do you have that cost $139.95? If that was the Home 4-pack, my memory is that the 50% discount does not apply to those bundles because the 4-pack itself already gave you a 50% discount over the cost of 4 individual Home licenses when you bought it in the first place.
     
  5. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    940
    Well, I got the home 4 pack back then.
     
  6. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    US
    I understand. My point is that unless Macrium changed something, I don't think you'll be able to upgrade your 4-pack to V8 for 50% off the regular Home pack price, since the regular Home pack is already 50% discounted. I believe the Home pack is only available at full price. But I may be wrong here.
     
  7. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    940
    No, I got the home pack 4 license version for about $37 when I went from v6 to v7.!
     
  8. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    US
    Wow! So basically four for the price of one there, even at Home pack per-license pricing. That offer is news to me.
     
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,444
    Location:
    USA
    For my 4 it was 69.95 plus tax, US dollars.
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,454
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    That's what your original 4-pk cost at 50% off at that time. Your upgrade now would be the same cost (50% off retail at $139.95)
     
  11. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,444
    Location:
    USA
    For anyone that thinks the price it too high keep in mind that there has been over 4 years of version 7 updates included in the original cost. I used to feel this was an expensive product but it has certainly been worth the money.
     
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,029
    agreed. the price is reasonable and well worth it.
     
  13. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,444
    Location:
    USA
    I have noticed that in the UI if you go to the Scheduled Backups tab the columns for "Status" and "Last Result" and such do not remember the setting if you resize them. Unfortunately you can't see enough of the text below them without a resize. Every time. I don't know if it has been reported, I was not part of the beta.
     
  14. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    US
    This wasn't mentioned in the beta, which Macrium closed out with no remaining problem reports. But lack of column width memory was reported earlier today, somewhat rudely, by a user on the Macrium forums.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2021
  15. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,585
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    :thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  16. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,701
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Think I'll just stick with .5284. I haven't read a single thing that shows a need to move up.
     
  17. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,567
    +1
    I moved to v8 last night. I got a 50% discount, which is a fair deal.:thumb:
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,444
    Location:
    USA
    Unfortunate that people choose to be rude over what is a minor issue that I'm sure they will fix shortly. I haven't bothered to join their forum when there seems to be plenty of representation here.
     
  19. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    940
    Yes, the upgrade for me is $69.95 but I think I will wait.
     
  20. pernu

    pernu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2021
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Norway
    I have tested most of the Disk Imaging Software pro that is out there, but come back to Macrium free again and again and it works great. I have also tried the buy version, but I do not feel that it gives me anything more than a little better speed and encryption.

    Now there are probably many in here who are good at using Macrium, but is there something I do not see here, something the buy version kan give me that is important? :thumbd:;)
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,444
    Location:
    USA
    It depends on your needs. I use the paid version to do incrementals.
     
  22. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    US
    As mentioned above, Incremental backups is a major feature for people who use Reflect as a primary backup solution. If you only use it for periodic OS backups for system recovery purposes and make regular backups of your data some other way, then maybe Full+Diff backups are fine. Rapid Delta Restore and Rapid Delta Clone can allow you to restore or clone MUCH faster, which can be very useful if you frequently perform restores (such as when testing software) or want to keep a clone disk frequently updated as a spare. With the Free version, you'd have to clone/restore the entire partition every single time rather than only the changes relative to the target's current state.

    Encryption and email notifications can be crucial features for some people's use cases.

    Image Guardian IMHO is a nice bonus feature, although there are certainly other ways to keep backups secure, including having a setup where some of your backups are always physically offline.

    But if you only use Reflect to make sure that you have a relatively recent image backup of your OS and application environment and/or to clone one disk to another periodically, then yes the Free version can typically cover that.
     
  23. Flora

    Flora Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    It is unfathomable how all the beta testers missed it though.
    I noticed immediatley after opening Reflect 8 for the second time.

    The old Mr. Magoo cartoon comes to mind. :argh:
     
  24. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    Austria
    I bought a license for the Home Edition because of one specific feature (even if I did not need it until now):

    So if one day I will change to a new computer this feature will hopefully help me to have a comfortable and smooth transition.
     
  25. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    US
    On my display the default column widths in Scheduled Backups there were already wide enough to see what I needed, and I may be wrong, but I don’t think the default layout is even new for V8. But I use 100% display scaling in Windows. Maybe other scale factors are affected.

    Try to “fathom” that what is obvious or immediately apparent to one person does not make it so for everyone else — especially since it isn’t even clear what triggers the problem case here, nor has anybody posted a screenshot to clarify it.

    What is unfathomable to ME is how some people can say, “I noticed this one thing right away, so I don't understand what those beta testers were doing the whole time.” Some issues only occur under certain conditions, which may or may not have been present on the beta tester systems. Meanwhile, if you read any of the V8 beta release note links that have been posted here recently, you’ll be able to see all the things that the beta testers DID catch and that you’ll therefore never notice. Maybe THANK them, especially those who worked on a volunteer basis, for sparing you from all of those issues rather than casting aspersions on their work over the ultimately minor inconvenience of lack of column width memory.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2021
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.