Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    @aldist - based on the release notes you posted above, it looks like they're down to the nitty gritty right now. I suspect the only significant work left may be some clean up in their Site Mgmt product. Let's hope it's soon.

    Believe me, I've tried... it may not make it into this edition so keep those CheckBoxes filled :D. If you got really fast with that mouse, you could probably get that time down to about 5-sec :rolleyes:
     
  2. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    Where do you get this 20-second figure? For a typical restore, after you select the backup you want to restore and click Restore Image, you have to click the following:
    • Next (to confirm you want to restore all partitions)
    • Finish
    • A checkbox confirming you realize partitions will be overwritten
    • Continue
    You can't really get rid of the first step of the wizard, since sometimes people won't want to restore all partitions or may want to resize them, etc. But if you were truly going for minimalism even at increased risk, I guess you put the Finish button on that first step, so you'd bypass the activity summary window and the overwrite confirmation dialog. That would eliminate three clicks. But honestly, how long does it take you today to click Finish, check a checkbox, and click Continue? If it's anything even close to 20 seconds, then you could save a lot more time in your life working on operating a mouse faster rather than expecting developers to remove click steps from their UIs, especially those prior to operations that don't exactly have an Undo button. Even experienced users are prone to the occasional accidental click (or typo in a command line).
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2021
  3. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,088
    Location:
    Canada
    What am I doing wrong? Tried twice to make, thumb drive Macrium Boot Disk. reboot back to windows. win10
     
  4. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    Do you know how to tell your PC to boot from a USB device? Just having it plugged in is not necessarily enough. Typically booting from USB involves pressing a specific key during startup to access the system’s one-time boot menu, and in there you’d choose to boot from USB on that particular occasion. The key to access this menu varies across system/motherboard manufacturers.
     
  5. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,088
    Location:
    Canada
    Jphughan - Thank you for being kind! I do not remember this, using a CD boot disk from Macrium. ndowsndows

    At the logo screen keystrokes for alternate boot, no wonder it went to windows. Dell & Lenovo, must learn keys to push
    proper keys at logo screen.

    Thanks
     
  6. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    458
    Maybe something like:

    Annual full
    Monthly diff
    Weekly incr
    Daily diff
    Hourly incr

    I can then use a retention schedule to thin out the backups progressively the further back in time they are.

    A downside might be having all my eggs in one basket with only one full, but in reality I've never had a corrupt image, and it could be mitigated anyway by taking the odd additional full and storing it on another disk.
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,564
    Location:
    USA
    Dell is almost always F12 for a PC/Laptop, F11 for a server.
     
  8. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,044
    Location:
    Dubai
    Correct, all Dell computers including Alienware, F2 for BIOS Settings and F12 for Boot Menu options
     
  9. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    407
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    Well, I asked Macrium when v8 is expected to release. I figure that getting it from the horse's mouth would be best, rather than third hand. They came back with the answer that they were expecting to release it mid-May.
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The msg above from Wayne has also been verified from a separate source... looks like it's really "Coming Soon!" :)
     
  11. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,974
    Location:
    Canada
    yeah! Get the cash ready:p
     
  12. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    783
    Location:
    sweden
    Well, to summarize it. You are not about user choise, i am. There is nothing wrong with wanting to have a box to tick that does away with these tick boxes during a recovery. For some they may be god but for some they are pointless.

    Without them i could just start a recovery action without having to be present to make it as fast as possible.
    User choise, as i said. A beautiful thing that makes a man more selfdetermined.

    Dont you agree?
     
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,465
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Just in case expectations might be a bit high... please TRIAL it before you buy it, especially for those who think they're more knowledgeable than the KnowledgeBase is :D
     
  14. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    I'm not about user choice, and you are? I wouldn't call that summarizing. More like overgeneralizing. I'm not opposed to choice as a general principle. But I also recognize that user choice does not exist in a vacuum. I understand that there is such a thing as giving people so many choices that when they browse the available settings, they consider the product to be overwhelming, intimidating, and unnecessarily complicated. Nobody thinks that the one extra box they want is going to make the difference, but if everybody got their one little box, you'd end up with a mess. And of course every option requires Macrium's time to build and test, which is time they could otherwise be spending on other items. And from that perspective, I personally think that your idea represents a poor cost/benefit proposition. The capability you want, in my view, would increase the risk of a potentially serious data loss event by an amount that is not justified by the extra convenience/time savings that it offers.

    And no, your proposed option would not allow you to start a recovery action without having to be present. You would still have to select the backup you wanted to restore from, click Restore Image, and at a minimum click through the first step of the wizard to confirm the partitions you want to restore. So you would only be avoiding three more clicks that currently occur immediately after that. It's not like you have to come back in the middle of the restore job to make those last three clicks in order to let the job continue.

    But if you want your box, you should be making your case back on the Macrium forums, because nobody here is in a position to add this option to Reflect. But I don't think Macrium has much customer demand for this capability. Why do I say that? Because with Reflect 7.2.4325, released in June 2019, Macrium added "an additional confirmation check box when overwriting a Clone or Restore target disk". So they added another step that was not there before, and did not implement an option to bypass it. That suggests that there is not very much demand for reducing clicks and removing safeguards.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2021
  15. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,088
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks!
     
  16. yoorrik

    yoorrik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Belarus
    I noticed that the Macrium-ISO backup file creation time is shifted 1 hour back from my BIOS time
    I checked also Acronis-ISO (based WinPE10-2018 ) and AOMEI-ISO (based WinPE10-2016 ). Here the situation is even worse: 12 hours are added to the backup file creation time relative to my BIOS time (!!)
    My time zone is Minsk, Moscow. (GMT + 3), 24 hour format
    ***
    Of course, I can go into BIOS before backup and change the time ... but I don't think that's a good idea.
    I also noticed that if the ISO image is built on Linux (for example, Acronis), then the backup file creation time coincides with the time in the BIOS
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2021
  17. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    Go to C:\Boot and open the Reflect.cfg file in Notepad. What time zone is specified there? That will be the time zone used by Rescue Media built on that system, which will affect the dates and times shown for files you view in Rescue Media.
     
  18. yoorrik

    yoorrik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Belarus
    Thanks for your answer, but this is illogical.
    If "Macrium Rescue ISO"(based on WinPE10) makes a backup of my System, then it should take the date and time when the output file was created only from my BIOS. No exceptions and no options.
    Macrium (ISO) shows the correct time to create the backup file. If I exit the program and look at the file properties in Windows, the file creation time is different - 1 hour less.
    WinPE10 is probably assigning the wrong time to the file?
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2021
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,234
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    yoorrik,

    Out of interest, what is the Time Zone in the Reflect.cfg file?
     
  20. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    You can talk about what you consider illogical and how you believe things should work all you want, but if you’ve never seen an illogical design with PCs, then you must not have been using them for very long. And the way you believe something SHOULD work does not affect how something ACTUALLY works. But in this case there is in fact a logical reason involved.

    Windows and WinPE actually DO rely on the BIOS time — but they still need to know the correct time zone as well. The reason is that timestamps are actually recorded in UTC so that if the time zone of the system/user viewing that file ever changes, then the displayed timestamps of existing files can be adjusted as well to account for that. If timestamps were recorded just as 08:37 AM, without any context, then adjusting them for time zones would be impossible. And because a time zone is necessary both for creating new timestamps and viewing existing timestamps properly, WinPE has always had a configurable time zone property, just like full Windows. Any system admin who has used WinPE for non-Reflect tasks knows this. The default is US Pacific since that’s where Microsoft HQ is located. And in Reflect’s case, that time zone is switched according to the CFG file I mentioned.

    So again I ask, what is the time zone specified there?

    And if new backups that you create in Reflect Rescue show a one hour difference when you view them later in full Windows, you will probably find that the times of EXISTING backups when you view them in Reflect Rescue are shifted one hour in the opposite direction.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2021
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,564
    Location:
    USA
    While I'm thinking about it... I have a PC that is currently running a backup. There are no taskbar tray icons that show the status of the running job. If I open the main UI it only says that the job is "Running" and that the status is "In Progress". Am I missing something or is there no way to determine the progress of the currently running job except the tray icon that is not currently present?
     
  22. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    The icon should be there. If not, the default hotkey to access ReflectMonitor, which shows the status of the running job, is Ctrl+Alt+M. If you still don't see it, check Task Manager to make sure ReflectMonitor.exe is running in case you may be blocking it somehow. If it's running but you still can't see an icon or access ReflectMonitor with the hotkey, see this recent post from Macrium, which contains a link to a small application that can be run on-demand in order to surface ReflectMonitor.
     
  23. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,564
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the info. This does not happen all of the time but seems to randomly be an issue. I'll try to remember all of this the next time it happens. :D
     
  24. yoorrik

    yoorrik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Belarus
    Brian K
    jphughan

    I found file reflect.cfg along this path:
    C: \ boot \ macrium \ WA10KFiles \ media \ sources \ boot.wim \ boot \ reflect.cfg
    I tried to read with Notepad and Word, but there is an incomprehensible encoding ... In the Unicode encoding, I see the text "Moscow Time", but the rest of the characters are not readable.
    What program can open this file?
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2021
  25. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    Windows PE to my knowledge does not offer a way to customize the time zone directly. When I’ve built WinPE environments for enterprise purposes, the time zone was a property that you had to set prior to building the environment. It does not have the TzUtil application that exists in full Windows. But rebuilding an ISO file is not very difficult or time-consuming, and if you switch from DVDs to a flash drive, it’s fast and easy to update. Low capacity flash drives are not expensive and work much faster than DVDs anyway.

    But I think you’re rather exaggerating how big a problem this is. Most people do not change time zones very often. And even if they did, they might not care if the times of their backups are slightly off. And in fact most people don’t use Rescue to make backups in the first place. While there are certainly scenarios where that may be preferred or even necessary, typically it is used for performing restores.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.