Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,147
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    v7.2.4473 - 23rd September 2019 has been released (finally) and should be available through normal update channels (sorry@mood :))

    PS- and if you think I'm going to update right now... uhh, don't think so after the recent history of Macrium's update. I will be happy to wait in the wings :shifty:
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,147
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Description of the recent update is available HERE. It looks as though all the mentioned CBT issues have been dealt with... this time around anyway.
     
  3. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,616
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    Thanks for heads up. I installed latest update and so far didn't notice any problems. Though I don't have CBT and MIG installed.
     
  4. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    486
    Location:
    italy
    same here :)
     
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,350
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    Changelog for version 7.2.4473:
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
  6. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    194
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    The latest update is failing to create rescue media in one of my computers. Failed to create the staging area. I deleted c:/boot to force a rebuild but it still fails.
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,495
    What does it mean when my CBT Running Man is gray?

    CBT.jpg
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,147
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    It means that CBT is NOT ACTIVE on that volume... yet. If configured, it may be after the next backup.
     
  9. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    380
    Location:
    US
    Try rebooting your system? I'm not having that issue, and creating a staging area can fail if there's a transient issue with the WIM creation tools from Microsoft that Reflect relies on, like DISM.
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,495
    Prior to the update, it worked.
    My other computers have blue CBT running men.
     
  11. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    380
    Location:
    US
    The Reflect update contained a new CBT driver version, so CBT likely had to be reset. Many recent Reflect updates have had new CBT driver versions, and to my knowledge CBT is always reset when that driver gets updated. The gray man means CBT is enabled for that partition but the CBT driver doesn't currently have a complete log of changed blocks since the last backup of that partition, which in turn means that the next backup you perform won't be able to use CBT. But after that first backup of that partition, the icon should turn blue and future backups should use CBT again. The exception would be if you were creating Differential backups. In that case, if CBT gets reset after a given Full is created, then no Differentials created as children of that pre-reset Full will be able to use CBT because there won't ever be a complete record of changed blocks since that Full again.
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,495
    OK.
    Thanks JP.
     
  13. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,874
    I've just updated from version 7.2.4325 to 7.2.4473, updated the bootable rescue media, performed an incremental backup and a restore to test it out, and I'm glad to report that the BSOD does not occur anymore upon ejecting the USB with the image...
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,358
    Location:
    USA
    I've updated 4 PCs without issue so far. I do not install CBT.
     
  15. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    194
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    It didn't work. Selecting a different base WIM and then the Windows 10 based one forced Macrium to download the file and rebuild the WIM. Problem solved :)
     
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,495
    That's the trick.
     
  17. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    498
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I recently downloaded Macrium Reflect 7 Free, tried making a backup today only to find I couldn't save the backup to an external drive. Am I correct in saying backups cannot be saved to an external drive using Macrium Reflect 7 Free or did I do something wrong? As always I appreciate all replies and would thank you in advance.

    John
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,284
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I always and only ever backup to an external drive.
     
  19. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    930
    Location:
    Southern California
    Don't know what is causing your problem John but I have six computers using Reflect Free and external drives and never had that problem.
    Someone here who is smarter than me will hopefully give advice.
     
  20. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,874
    As others have already stated, backups are usually done and saved to external drives (also recommended by Macrium). It is hard to tell what might be wrong in your procedure, but I would say that you should plug in your drive first and make sure the computer recognizes it, then when you start the backup protocol you should assign the external drive and a folder in it as the destination of your backup, it is really very simple.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2019
  21. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    380
    Location:
    US
    When you say you couldn't save the backup, what exactly was preventing you? Did you see a particular error message? If so, what was it and when did it appear, e.g. while trying to create the job or while the job was running? The more specifies you can provide about your issue, the more effectively people here will be able to help you. :)
     
  22. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    498
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Sorry, for my lack of detail; my computer is a laptop and the operating system is Windows 10 Home. The external formatted drive was recently purchased and this would have been the first time I used it. Under the Backup Tab, I selected Image Selected Disk. Under Destination, Folder was marked and I selected F: which was the identified external drive. It appeared the copy was going to be saved there. I believe my problem was that I did not create a folder on the external drive. But, I don't recall ever having to create a folder before; EaseUS ToDo Backup Free didn't require a folder the backup was just saved to the external drive. I believe I answered my own question and apologize for my stupidity. If however, I am wrong please let me know. As always I appreciate all replies and would thank you in advance.

    John
     
  23. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,592
    Thanks froggie and Kent.
    Upgraded Home Edition from version 7.2.4325 to 7.2.4473
    System Win 7 Pro 64-bit, using PE 5.0 UEFI.
    So far so good using both the Boot menu Recovery environment and the recovery CD.
    I don't use CBT nor MIG or whatever it is called.
    I use only (manually) full backups.

    @Buddel :
    Is it now working on a German system?

    I like that new task bar button to take screenshots in PE:

    Macrium 2019_09_26_01_b.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2019
  24. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,592
    And now for something completely unimportant.
    I'm not an English native speaking person, but for quite some time I have been wondering whether there is a very little spelling error in the word "recomended". Shouldn't that be "recommended"?

    Macrium 2019_09_26_02_a.png
     
  25. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    468
    Location:
    Dubai
    Correct, I just tweeted this to them
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.