Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    I have now had the slow restore prior to the 1903 build and newer Reflect, so I'm more at a loss than ever. Thus far I can see no pattern but will keep trying to see if anything develops. As sure would like my quick restores back!
     
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,418
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I have RTFM, but I am not sure ...

    Can one of the boffins here answer this question?

    I always run entire drive backups, but is it possible to restore just the system partition (C: ) - without restoring also the ESP, MSR or RE - from an entire drive backup, and how would one do this?

    I ask because I run two Windows via Terabyte BootIt-UEFI menu (one hidden, one active at one time, plus a separate D: data partition) and was wondering how to just restore the 'sick' system partition without all the other partitions.
     
  3. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    Yes it's possible. To do it, on the first step of the restore wizard, drag and drop any partition(s) from the source that you want to restore onto the corresponding partition on the destination rather than simply clicking "Next". If you take a closer look at that step of the wizard, it opens with all partitions in the Source area selected, and there's also a checkbox at the bottom that is enabled by default that reads, "Copy selected partitions from source to destination when I click Next". When you perform a drag and drop, that checkbox is automatically cleared, in which case when you click Next at that point, Reflect will only restore what you dragged. You'll be able to verify this in the Activity Summary window that appears afterward, before you confirm the job.

    UPDATE: You can also simply uncheck all of the partitions you do NOT want to restore, in which case you don't have to drag and drop anything, but if you're omitting more partitions than you're restoring, the drag method is probably faster. It's also much more flexible. Drag and drop is how you would perform more "atypical" restores, such as restores that might involve reordering and/or resizing partitions on the destination, or restoring a partition onto a completely different destination disk that also already contains other partitions you want to preserve and that are completely unrelated to the original source disk. And if you ever want to restore a backup onto an empty disk but deliberately not restore certain source partitions, you'd want to drag and drop, because if you use the checked/unchecked method, Reflect will restore all source partitions maintaining the same partition size and offset as they had on the source. So for example if you have Partitions #1-4 in your backup and you're restoring onto an empty disk, but you don't want Partition #3 anymore, if you just uncheck Partition #3, your new disk will end up with a block of unallocated space where Partition #3 would have been. If you use drag and drop, you can make sure the partitions you DID restore are all contiguous.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2019
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,418
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Thank you jp! :thumb:

    Very clear, and exactly what I was looking for.
     
  5. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    Update- I have gone back to July a couple of times and let it update, sometimes with Reflect working quickly, sometimes not. This last time it seems to be holding even past the Win1903 build that was installed last night. I haven't updated to the newest version of Reflect and may not as long as everything is working. I don't know what I did differently other than update the boot menu and check the locking of backups so that nothing but Reflect can access them (Guardian). I'm not sure why it was unchecked as it is recommended. I did uninstall Kerish Doctor as I was not sure that started messing with anything. So I really don't know why, but possibly the limited information may help another.
    Thank you all again for suggestions.
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Macrium Free
    I created Differential backups Disk 1 & 2 and then updated from 7.2.4325 to 7.2.4440
    What happened to F: png_1514.png

    Load Errors pic.png | png_1510.png
    Any ideas how to proceed?
    I can browse for Images G:
    png_1511.png | png_1512.png | png_1513.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  7. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,477
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I have no idea what caused the Volume to reMOUNT at a different mount point (G instead of F) and with no label (what type of disk is this... INTERNAL, EXTERNAL <eSATA, USB2 or USB3> HDD or UFD?). But if you want it to work properly, you'll have to use DiskManagement and reassign the disk to F, then change the LABEL name back just so it becomes familiar once again.

    All kinds of strange things have been happening with Build #4440, especially if USB drives and CBT have been involved.

    I would report this on the Macrium product Forums as well.
     
  8. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Disk 3 aka G: is Seagate External HDD
    png_1516.png
    png_1518.png
    @TheRollbackFrog
    Hi,
    FWIW ~ I think my Seagate External Drive lost F: < went G: > when I updated my Rescue USB.
    1) saved backups 09-08-2019
    2) updated Macrium
    3) updated n' tested Boot Menu
    4) updated Rescue USB
    5) tested Rescue USB = Macrium "Load Errors"
    -
    > looks like we're back in business with > reassign the disk to F
    png_1527.png
    png_1520.png
    > haven't updated Rescue DVD, yet
    png_1526.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  9. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,477
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I would give "\F" a label name just for easy recognition. It sounds like your Recovery Media was inserted (and assigned to "F\") when you plugged in your Backup disk and got a new drive letter.

    You can avoid this in the future by going into REFLECT and use the menu item "Other tasks/Edit Defaults/Advanced/Destination drive discovery" and SELECT "Use the unique volume identifier to locate the back drive." If you decide to change this, make sure you open all existing Definitions after the change is made and reSave them once again. This will insure that going forward, all DEFs will follow the backup drive no matter where Windows assigns it.
     
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Okay, "give "\F" a label name just for easy recognition".
    Okay, "Use the unique volume identifier to locate the back drive".
    -
    As always,
    Thank again!
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,477
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    As always... you're welcome! :)
     
  12. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    A note on using the volume identifier rather than the drive letter. This means that if you ever format that drive or simply decide to replace it with another physical unit, you will need to repeat that process of editing the definition file, selecting the newly formatted/installed destination partition you want to use based on whatever drive letter it's assigned at the time, and then save the definition file again so that Reflect stores that new partition's identifier in the definition file. If you simply format or replace the destination without doing that, Reflect will no longer see the destination even if it's assigned the same drive letter as the previous destination.
     
  13. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    990
    Just received a BSOD after latest Win 10 update with error on mrcbt.sys which Google says is the Macrium Changed Block Tracking file. Macrium 7.7.440. Anyone else received this? I just rebooted after BSOD and everything seem normal.
     
  14. Cazandros

    Cazandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Got this BSOD everytime when ejecting Veracrypt encrypted USB devices.They will update mrcbt.sys with next release.
     
  15. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    Yes, cases have been reported on the Macrium forums. Seems to occur mostly when ejecting hard drives, as the post just after yours mentioned, but that might not be the only situation. If it continues to be an issue, you can uninstall CBT until a fix arrives or roll back to the previous Reflect release if you have an installer for it (or are willing to roll back your entire Windows partition to achieve that.)
     
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,778
    Lucky this was a Differential and not an Incremental, or I would have been in trouble.
    But I also have IFW as a backup, backup which I now trust more than Reflect 7.
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,756
    Location:
    USA
    It looks like the latest Windows 10 update is a terrible mess. That said I will not be using CBT on any of the PCs I am responsible for. It is of no benefit in most cases anyway as most of them are shut down daily.
     
  18. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    I’ve come to the same conclusion about the risk/reward proposition of CBT for my use cases, but for the record, starting with Reflect 7.2, CBT can optionally maintain its record of changed blocks even across restarts and shutdowns, so a daily shutdown routine would not by itself make CBT unusable.
     
  19. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,756
    Location:
    USA
    I was unaware of this but will still not use it as you never know when Microsoft will break it with a Windows update.
     
  20. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Lunar module
    F
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_setup_free_x86.exe
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_setup_free_x64.exe
    H
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_home_setup_x86.exe
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_home_setup_x64.exe
    WS
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_wkstn_setup_x86.exe
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_wkstn_setup_x64.exe
    S
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_server_setup_x86.exe
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_server_setup_x64.exe
    S+
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_server_plus_setup_x86.exe
    https://download.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.2.4325/reflect_server_plus_setup_x64.exe
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hmm. Boy I wouldn't want to be without CBT. I love it. BUT, I am still using Macrium v6 and Windows 7
     
  22. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    In fairness, if I were making Incrementals every 15 minutes (as I believe you are?) and/or backing up a VM host or some other system that had a lot of enormous files, I probably wouldn’t want to be without CBT either. But neither of those things is true for me.
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Only making hourly's, and of my c: drive, no VM's involved.
     
  24. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    So how much time does CBT save you, out of curiosity? Have you tried creating an Incremental with CBT, then deleting it, disabling CBT, and immediately creating a new Incremental?
     
  25. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
    Due to the issues raised with the latest build, i wonder how long it takes before the new version is released.:confused:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.