Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,477
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    You need a slightly different way of doing things. If you have a successful Backup Definition created and are using it in one of the many ways to do so, a slight change must be made.

    1. With the Reflect User Interface in front of you and the BACKUP TAB selected on the left, <select> your Backup Definition in the RIGHT hand pane (don't open it, just select it>
    2. From the ToolBar appeariing above your Definition area, <click> on the 2nd Icon from the RIGHT ("Create a shortcut of the selected file).
    3. A small window will open. From the "Backup type" DropDown, select the "Prompt" option (it must be "Prompt" or the ShortCut being created will do whatever image you select here without the ability to comment). In the "Target" DATA field, enter the name you'd like to call your DeskTop SHortCut, then <click> OK.
    4. EXIT Reflect.

    On your DeskTop you will find a Macrium ShortCut with the name you just gave it when you created it. For a quick test, feel free to <double-click> that ShortCut. Up will come a window that will allow you to select the type of image you wish to create and set your COMMENT to anything you wish. If you <click>ed FINISH at this point, your imaging operation would start using your selected backup definition information. If you don't want to image at this point, just <click> CANCEL. The DeskTop ShortCut may be placed as well on your START menu or your TaskBar as needed.

    That's about the easiest way to perform MANUAL images and comment them for later reference that I've found along the way.
     
  2. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Lunar module
    11.png
     
  3. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    129
    Location:
    LA
    Thanks both of you for your help. I got it now. Reflect looks like really good reliable backup software, I just wish it was more user-friendly.
     
  4. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Lunar module
    You ar welcome!
    If you know the basic actions, and have a repetitive practice, then he is user-friendly enough :) It is important, if only be reliable in the work.
     
  5. mrboonmee

    mrboonmee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    I cloned my BitLocker enabled HDD to SSD in Windows 10 with MR. the C: shows Bitlocker on.

    Macrium shows BitLocker unlocked on the original HDD, and no icon at all on the cloned SDD.

    https://imgur.com/a/wBvJr4S
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    7.1 Free > updated 7.1.3147 to 7.1.3169 thru internal updater....(tried Diff n' Full).
    2751.png

    Edit: ran 7.1.3169 stand alone installer (Full completed + Verify)
    2752.png
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2018
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,300
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mrboonmee,

    Can you boot the OS on the SSD?
     
  8. mrboonmee

    mrboonmee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    yes, working fine. I am encrypting the drive with BitLocker at the moment, taking longer than lunch. all seems well. thanks.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,300
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Nice. To satisfy my curiosity, when you boot Win10 on the SSD does the OS partition get assigned the drive letter C: or H: ?
     
  10. mrboonmee

    mrboonmee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    it becomes the C: has worked really well for me.
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,300
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks. No worries.
     
  12. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    A new update has been released, version 7.1.3196...
    Homepage
    Download Page
    Release Notes
     
  13. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Thanks
    don't know what Changed Block Tracker (CBT) driver is/does......
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
  14. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,446
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Thank you for heads up.
    I've never used CBT driver and also checked my logs. It seems that all is good with my images.
     
  15. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,756
    Location:
    USA
    I thought the options I had selected would use the CBT driver (Incrementals forever, Enable Changed Block Tracking for Incremental Backups checked in the options) but I see no mention of it in the logs, so I guess I am unclear on what actually causes that driver to be used.
     
  17. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,477
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The CBT driver must be installed/activated upon installation... I believe it's installed by DEFAULT.

    What it provides is a tracking mechanism for all changes made AFTER THE 1st IMAGE (which becomes the reference for all that follow) following a System RESTART. If you only make one image between your System reBOOTs/reStarts, CBT will never come into play and the original Reflect "Looking for changes" process is invoked instead.

    When active, it produces smaller and faster Incremental images and faster restores when using those CBT images. It's very beneficial for users that make multiple Incremental images during a single System session (like every <n> minutes, hourly, etc.)... I'm sure Server admins probably love this feature. Typical users may not even notice it's even there.
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,756
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, so this is only for an ongoing session and if I run a backup each day and shut down each night this never happens is what I am getting. That would make sense. Thanks for the explanation. Sounds like I don't need to be worried about corrupt backups from this issue then.
     
  19. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,965
    Thank you Kent!

    ===

    Why on earth Macrium didn't give this one an higher version number than 7.1.3196 is beyond me.
    You cannot have two different versions with the same version number.........
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    prior version was 7.1.3169
    https://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v7/v7.1.3196/details7.1.3196.htm
     
  21. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    So, if I do not restart for a few days and create more than one Incremental per day or create more than one Differential backups per day.
    Then CBT driver participates in the backup?
    https://knowledgebase.macrium.com/display/KNOW7/Corrupt+Incremental+Image+Files
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
  22. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,965
    Argh, my bad! My fault. Easily to confuse 7.1.3169 with 7.1.3196.
    Thanks for pointing that out bjm_ !!!
    And apologies to all for this misreading by me!
     
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,477
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The CBT will definitely participate in any Incrementals done (after the 1st) since your System was reStarted. The Differentials will only use CBT if the FULL image they are being run against occurred during the same System uptime as those Incrementals. If the FULL was done before that System session, no CBT will be used for any Differentials since that time.

    You can always test an Incremental chain (CBT didn't affect all INCs in that time frame, it just may have affected some) by mounting the last Incremental in the chain and see if it mounts without FileSystem errors. If it does, the whole chain is fine. If it doesn't, dump those Incs and continue under the new version.
     
  24. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    So, with Macrium Free. CBT only participates if/when a Full and Differential(s) are created in the same System session?
     
  25. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    761
    Location:
    US
    CBT isn't included in Reflect Free. But the most concise and accurate explanation of CBT is probably this: When CBT is installed, enabled application-wide, and enabled for the volume being imaged, an image backup will use CBT if it is appending to an image that was captured in the same Windows session. That even accounts for cases where disk rotations are in use and therefore the general "second and subsequent Incremental" rule may not apply since the Incrementals might be added to different sets.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.