Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. AlphaOne

    AlphaOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Canada
    One of the guys/gals we depend on so much here just sent me a link.
    Many thanks Sir/Madam.
     
  2. AlphaOne

    AlphaOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Canada
    Installed and tested Server Edition v7 on Windows 10 Pro 64bit with two external hard drives, and rescue media on a CD with no problems. V7 seems to work smoothly. Here's hoping the worst is behind us.
     
  3. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    Out of curiosity has the hourly snap regime been added to 7 paid at this point?
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,368
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Not so far, BG. It's almost a year late and isn't even talked about anymore.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2018
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,368
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    IMHO...

    The switch to the WTS v2 API (new Windows Task Scheduler) in Reflect v7 to properly accommodate Win10 turned out to be a real challenge for Macrium with lots of problems initially (and some ongoing). That probably scared them a bit (and rightfully so, I feel).

    To consider doing the same using their own scheduling implementation (like Shadow Protect does) is probably a lot bigger job than they are willing to take on at the moment... probably would require a significant expansion of their existing service that runs all the time. I think at this point in time they're hesitant to trust the WTS v2 scheduler (I know I am... MicroSloth keeps changing it right under your nose).
     
  6. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    Thanks for the reply Froggie, I guess I may have to set it up myself,,,,,one day.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Curious what the hourly snap routine iso_O
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,368
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Macrium boasted 3-major features with the introduction of v7... CBT and viBOOT to arrive at release time, and a feature called CONTINUOUS INCREMENTALS (CE) to arrive "a few weeks after release." CE never arrived with its promised easy to schedule (less than a day) and "merge" continuous Incremental operation. It was for anyone who wanted to set up Incrementals at quicker intervals other than 1-day (snapshot users and Servers admins) and also to "merge" those frequent Incrementals at selected intervals... like your Shadow Protect product does.

    ...and no, BG and I don't want to set up 96 DAILY Incrementals using v6 or current v7 just to get a 15-min snapshot interval over a 24-hour period. And no, we don't want to modify Reflect's existing WTS scheduling entry for something quicker than 1-day just to lose that entry as far as the Reflect UI is concerned. Even adding an HOULY Reflect UI schedule entry would have helped a lot of these types of users... how hard could that be.

    Alas, we wait... and wait :'(
     
  9. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,368
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    PS- even YOU would use the feature, Mr. Global Moderator :)
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Interesting, Using V6 I do take hourly incrementals during business hours and have never had any problem with GUI or losing them. A merge function would be nice, but I've lived with out it. You mentioned SP's CI, and yes they use a completely separate program, and it does work well, but not at all without issues of there own.

    The decision to take earlier time frame incrementals is sort of questionable depending on what you are running. I start with some 30 minute increments and dropped them because the software I was running doesn't make it self VSS aware, so if I run all morning all the images have the latest copy of the file that was one disk. Also I've had occasion to go back and look at those intra day files, and the hourly spacing was fine.

    So far v6 as it stands has served my needs with excellence.
     
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,368
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    That's because you used the Reflect UI to create those hourly Incrementals... that works just fine. It's only when users actually go into the WTS and change the installed interval to something else. The change works fine but Reflect no longer sees the task in its scheduling interface... because it's no longer the one it set up to begin with.
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Ah, doing it that way I'd get confused also. Well done MS
     
  13. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    737
    But you don't need a recovery media for each computer. Make just one using the same USB drive from all of your computers. The drivers will just add up on the same thumbdrive (Macrium doesn't reformat). I have 4 computers at home with just 1 USB thumbdrive to boot any of them when needed. And when there's a Macrium update, just update the thumbdrive from one of the computers so that the software on is it updated. You don't have to go again to all computers and rebuild the rescue drive.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,526
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Ah ha! Nice! didn't know that was an option.

    Doing just that right now. :thumb:

    Thank you.
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,929
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Nice workaround. I always thought that MR formats thumbdrive before writing recovery media to it.
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,526
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    One problem machine refused to boot from the flash drive too. :(
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,277
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Thanks for that tip. :thumb:
    But needs testing of course :cautious:.
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,526
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    No fault of MR as far as I can tell. This machine has had problems booting from disks for quite some time. It almost never boots from v7 disks but usually boots from the latest v6 disk I burned. It will boot from a Windows 10 ISO if I try more than once but I have yet to see it ever boot from a flash drive.

    It's an old Acer (bought in 2010) and I have no idea what its problem is. It plays DVDs with VLC Media Player without problem. :doubt:
     
  19. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,277
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Good to know.
     
  20. Gorkster

    Gorkster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    147
  21. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,118
    Location:
    UK
  22. Gorkster

    Gorkster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    147
    Yeah back up.
     
  23. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,458
    Location:
    Land of the Light
  24. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,540
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    A new update has been released, version 7.1.2817...
    Homepage
    Download Page
    Release Notes
     
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,277
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Using v6 Home on latest stable Win10 x64 Pro ... since January Meltdown/Spectre CU, backups have slowed to a crawl here on second machine.

    Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.