Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,459
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Korben, not enough info. Wife's laptop... how old, what model? When you say "Recovery system," exactly what are you referring to... the external LINUX Recovery Media, some sort of BOOT menu option, and are you talking restoring the whole System partition or separate files involved?

    I must admit I'm not that familiar with v4 but can't really help without additional info. If your wife's laptop is fairly new, it may be UEFI/GPT BOOTable which, I don't believe, was supported under v4... just guessing here :doubt:
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,459
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    How 'bout the v4 KnowledgeBase HERE?
     
  3. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    908
    8 years old.

    R530

    I am talking about the CD of system recovery that I was recommended to burn the day I bought the laptop so it is essentially the option to make use of the recovery partition I am guessing...

    I wish to restore the whole partition like I used to do on my Vaio plenty of times.
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,459
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Here are Part I & Part II of using the Macrium Rescue CD... part of it deals with BOOTing problems.

    Still a bit confused <sorry>... is your objective to restore a FULL Disk Macrium 4 image that you have or the out-of-the-box recovery image that the Recovery disk you're trying to BOOT from is after?
     
  5. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    908
    I am saved!

    Persuing the manuals I noticed i can use my USB from Dell that I have never used before.

    Voila! Working image restored. My wife is not gonna make me sleep of the sofa, again wink

    RBKFROG - thank you, dziekuje!
     
  6. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,054
    This weekend cloning a 2 TB internal drive to an (identical) external 2 TB external drive (via Intelligent Sector Copy) failed multiple times. Each time with this error:

    Clone failed - Read failed - 13 - Permission denied - 32

    What does this mean?

    The internal drive has 2 known bad blocks for some time now, but this was never a problem when cloning before (I perform this clone almost once per week).

    This error always occurs at 92%, but the size of data reported on both drives is still the same, after the failure. Shouldn't there be a 8% difference?
     
  7. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Find the make of your drive and download the manufacturer's diagnostic program. They are more thorough and might uncover a problem. Seagate? Seatool?
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,165
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    XIII,

    Does the internal HD pass or fail when using the manufacturer's diagnostic software? For example, Western Digital Data Lifeguard. I'd be wary of that HD.

    Did you delete the partition on the external HD before performing the clone?
     
  9. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    651
    Location:
    Far East
    When will the v7 free version be available? Thanks
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,459
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    It's quite late at the moment, and since it has been said to be due when v7.1 is released... my guess would be that everything that's expected won't show up until after Microsloth's FALL CREATOR'S UPDATE is released on October 17th. It would be very embarrassing for Macrium to have an "earlier" release and have the whole thing fall apart under the FALL CREATOR'S UPDATE.

    But you never can tell with Macrium...
     
  11. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    651
    Location:
    Far East
    So you are saying the paid v7 also will fall apart when use on RS3?
     
  12. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,054
    Sorry, forgot to mention that after the first failed attempt Reflect always chose to perform a full copy..

    (I will have to check the drive brand later; it’s not in my PC)
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,165
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I think Western Digital Data Lifeguard works on all brands.
     
  14. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't think anyone is saying that any Macrium Reflect version will fall apart when the W10 "Fall Creators Update" is finally released. It's just that Reflect is heavily dependent on certain Windows features and behaviors (notably VSS and scheduled task handling) and some of Macrium's previous attempts to anticipate consequences based on MS "preview" releases have resulted in some very unpleasant surprises. So, in order to avoid any more such surprises, they may be awaiting the final W10 "RS3" release before making Reflect v7.1 available. As for possible impacts on existing Reflect v6 and v7 installations (or any other installed applications for that matter) we can only hope that they're minimal, but Microsoft and its preview beta testers will decide that in their own inimitable fashion as always.
     
  15. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @XIII.
    Just out of curiosity, if I remember correctly, I believe that you recently started running the latest HMP.A beta. If you have not already tried this then you may want to do so, disable "Credential Theft Protection (CredGuard)" in HMP.A first (I believe that is the proper setting but I do not have HMP.A installed currently to check) and then try to do your clone/image and see if this helps. It may or may not help in your case but I do know that this setting has caused imaging failures to many.

    Also on a side note as I am not familiar with cloning as I always do normal imaging (and I do not have HMP.A installed at the moment)...
    I assume that cloning is done during a "live" Windows session. If my assumption is correct, there is another setting in HMP.A that you may want to try to disable and see if it helps. This setting has to do with MBR protection. If the cloning is done during a "live" Windows session and during the cloning the MBR is being altered on the destination disk, HMP.A may be blocking it causing the cloning to fail. I have seen this happen when creating bootable USB drives where a new MBR is being created and this could be happening here also. As I do not have HMP.A installed at the moment, I am not sure where to find this setting or what it is exactly called.

    The problem with both of the above scenarios is that both cases are blocked silently by HMP.A with no alerts given so the only way to troubleshoot is disable them one at a time and try again. Of course both of these ideas are moot if you are not running the latest HMP.A beta, but if you are, it may help. If I had HMP.A installed at the moment, I would test it myself.

    I hope this helps...
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    MBR protection is not a problem for any imaging solution I've used
     
  17. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Peter2150,

    I have never had an issue with MBR protection and imaging either. I am not familiar with "cloning" though and therefore not sure how it works. With "imaging" you do restores offline so of course HMP.A would not be an issue. With cloning, if it is done from a "live" Windows session (if I understand it) you are basically taking one disk and replicating it to another disk. I assume this would replace the MBR on the destination disk with the one on the source disk. If this is the case and the MBR of a disk is being modified/replaced during a "live" Windows session, then MBR protection could be an issue.

    Like I said, I do not do cloning and know very little about it. I do not know if it can be done online or whether the cloning modifies/replaces the MBR on the destination disk. If these conditions can be met, I thought it was worth throwing the idea out there...
     
  18. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,054
    I run the beta on my own machine. The machine with the failing clone runs the regular version of HMP.A.

    However, I get exactly the same error when cloning from a Reflect WinPE image, so I don’t think HMP.A plays a role here.
     
  19. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @XIII,

    Thanks for the reply back.
    So I assume from your reply that cloning can be done both "online" or "offline" and since you have tried it "offline", that definitely would rule out HMP.A. I know very little about cloning since I do not use it but thought the HMP.A ideas would be worth mentioning.
    I am sorry I could not have been of more help :'( but I did learn a bit more about cloning in the meanwhile :thumb: ...
     
  20. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Canada
    The end result of cloning a partition or an entire drive is no different from that of creating and restoring a backup image of that partition or drive except that cloning eliminates the intermediary imaging step. Nor are the "online/offline" rules any different. In either case, the Windows volume shadow copy service (VSS) can be used with a "live" source, but a "live" destination cannot be overwritten.

    In order to clone or restore a backup image to a destination that would normally be "live" by default, one must select some other OS or PE "rescue" environment for booting the system. As in the case of Reflect's recovery boot menu option, the WinPE boot environment can be loaded from the same drive as the one on which regular Windows working environment resides as it creates and runs (as SYSTEM) on its own virtual drive (usually "X:") once the boot process is successfully completed.
     
  21. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Arvy,

    Thanks for the reply.
    Since I have never done or thought I needed cloning, I never did any research on it until today so I was quite ignorant on the subject. I did some basic research and then along with your post, I now have a decent basic understanding of cloning.
    Again, thanks for your post as it helped a lot for me to piece together my research and grasp the basic principles of cloning. I do not personally have a need for cloning at this time but it is good to know its basic operations since the feature is there in Macrium Reflect and I may need it in the future.
     
  22. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Canada
    You're entirely welcome, and there's certainly no need to explain to me why anyone might not be very familiar with details of the cloning process. I've never used it myself for anything other than replicating "redundant" data drives. I've always wanted to save a backup image as a "fallback" for almost anything else. Cloning's primary purpose (I think) was intended for handling direct and immediate drive replacements, but the "clone/image/restore" terminology itself seems to be a source for at least some of the confusion and inconsistent usage ...

    __
    P.S.: ... rivaled only by very prevalent misunderstandings about what so-called "drive letters" actually represent.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2017
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,459
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Oh... you mean those "Dear Drive" letters :rolleyes:
     
  24. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Canada
    :argh: Yup, that and the undeniably urgent question of when a partition becomes a volume and vice versa.
     
  25. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Canada
    It appears that Macrium Reflect v7.1.2602 is now available. Details are posted here and additional details here.

    Haven't yet installed it myself. Waiting for a few reports from "early adopters", a.k.a. guinea pigs. ;)

    __
    P.S.: The new Reflect v7.1 download agent has not been updated for its WinPE 10 download. It still acquires the MS WAIK components based on Windows 10 v1607.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.