Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    149
    For cloning/imaging purposes,hdd speed is the most significant factor.Even an Athlon X2 will not be a bottleneck with respect to a 5400rpm hdd as processor is used for calculating differences between images & compression both of which comes after data being read from hdd.

    That is another major reason why it is advantageous to put your system partition on a ssd. @Peter2150 can vouch for ssd in this regard,I think.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2017
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I don't use any SSD's for anything except an eternal hard drive but everyone says it's true and I have no reason to doubt it.
     
  3. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    @Duotone

    As far as I know, Windows 10, by default, consumes more space than Windows 7. So, it might be expected that Macrium Reflect finishes slower in Windows 10, compared with Macrium Reflect in Windows 7. Also, desktop vs laptop might have a factor. A desktop processor is typically more powerful than a laptop processor. So, coupled with a relatively slow HDD, what you're experiencing might be understandable.
     
  4. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    149
    @Peter2150 I see!:) Since your imaging & restoration times are usually in few minutes I assumed you use ssd.I guess macrium reflect rapid delta tech is really good.
     
  5. Duotone

    Duotone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Philippines
  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,527
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Your first assumption is absolutely correct. As I mentioned to @XhenEd in THIS POST, if the partition being imaged is being saved on the same physical HDD, that will be your biggest slowdown... it matters not about the processor speed (until the processor gets to be really slow). The other thing to realize... laptop 5400rpm 2-1/2" drives are significantly slower than desktop 7400rpm 3-1/2" drives. It's not just the rotational speeds but also the actuator speeds (disk magnetic head positioning arm) are very different... it's this operation that makes the biggest difference between the two devices, even bigger than the rotational speeds.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Indeed Macrium Reflect rapid delta tech is actually better then really good. It's outstanding. Note also those times are for imaging 140gb
     
  8. Duotone

    Duotone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Philippines
    Oh?! But my desktop only has one drive and its still fast... Anyway now I need to find out why Windows 10 seems slow!

    Thanks @TheRollbackFrog...
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    A new update has been released, version 6.3.1745...
    Homepage: http://www.macrium.com/
    Download Page: http://www.macrium.com/Download.aspx?type=home
    Release Notes: http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v6/v6.3.1745/details6.3.1745.htm
     
  10. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    v7.0.1951_reflect_home_setup_x64.exe is up, ladies and gents! :thumb:

    Link: https://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v7/ReflectDLFull.exe

    EDIT: Full installers

    http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v7/getmsi.asp?edition=0&type=0&arch=1&redirect=Y
    http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v7/getmsi.asp?edition=0&type=1&arch=1&redirect=Y
    http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v7/getmsi.asp?edition=0&type=2&arch=1&redirect=Y
    http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v7/getmsi.asp?edition=0&type=3&arch=1&redirect=Y
    http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v7/getmsi.asp?edition=0&type=4&arch=1&redirect=Y

    Those are x64.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2017
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,557
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Will there be a free version?
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,557
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  13. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I got it as well but was more difficult.
     
  14. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello Krusty,

    You are most welcome ;) !
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,557
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'm sorry, I don't understand. :oops:
     
  16. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    See my edited post a few posts up.
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,557
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Ah ha! Which is which?

    Thanks.
     
  18. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Last one
     
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,557
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Awesome! Thanks heaps! :)
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,557
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Now a newbie question - can I install over v6.x, or do I need to uninstall it first?
     
  21. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    I still haven't received any emails from Macrium about upgrading to version 7... How do I buy the new license with the 50% discount?
     
  22. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I'm not well experienced with Macrium at all, but I uninstalled first.

    Apparently this new Change Block Tracking (CBT) feature installs a kernel-mode driver to do it's job.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,557
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I might wait until after v6 runs its scheduled backup later today before I do anything. :D
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Yep, and if you do something like hourly incrementals it's amazing. I've been running that driver with V6
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,557
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    WBD, that isn't v7. ;)

    Macrium Reflect.PNG
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.