Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    A new update has been released, version 6.1.936:
    Download Page: http://www.macrium.com/Download.aspx?type=home
    Release Notes: http://updates.macrium.com/reflect/v6/v6.1.936/details6.1.936.htm
     
  2. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Froggie. I just noticed the above post indicating this. That's what I get for skipping essential reading.
     
  3. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,453
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    :) Dagrev, you're only allowed to do that with the 10,818 post AX64 thread... :argh:
     
  4. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    Whoops, how could I forget!:D

    Since we're talking about the Win 10 build update.... I noticed I have an additional partition that seems close to a duplicate. I'm wondering if I can get rid of one that isn't necessary any longer. The third partition simply marked (NTFS) seen in Mini Tool snip is the new partition.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,140
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    dagrev,

    Can you create a Macrium image of that partition. Mount the image or browse the image so you can tell us what files and folders are in the partition. Please let us know the file size of each file.
     
  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,453
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I believe one is the OLD and one is the NEW RECOVERY PARTITION created by the v1511 W10 upgrade. The new one will be the one following the Windows partition (since that where it was carved from at the end). You should be able to dump the original (the one before the Windows partition).
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,140
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The first partition is the System Reserved partition containing the booting files. The third partition is (I think) a Recovery partition containing Winre.wim. We should be able to move the recovery files to the C: drive, delete that partition and resize the C: drive.
     
  8. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks gentlemen. I will proceed with some caution. I just didn't want an unnecessary partition though the space is unimportant. (Just to clarify, the recovery partition is original to the laptop and not created by Win 10 or it's updates.)
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,831
    hi
    how can i restore/extract files from an image with the winpe usb to a destination ?

    i have read days ago this http://www.macrium.com/help/v5/How_to/Restore/Restore_Files_and_Folders.htm

    but when i go to file and folder restore it doesn't find anything
    are 2 kinds of different data ? i mean the image and the backup are different?
    thanks
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    File and folder and imaging are two different things. If it's an image you need to mount the image. It will then show up as a drive. From that you can move files from the "drive" to any other disk
     
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,831
    hi
    but does it restore files or/and folders with all the ntfs permissions ?
    thanks
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
  13. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,053
    Yes, I noticed that the files on that partition have the same names as those in C:\Recovery\WinRE, but in the new partition they are newer (date around TH2 release, on C: date around RTM release).

    I copied the newer files to C:\Recovery\WinRE and configured & enabled those using the "reagentc" executable. Seems to work fine, until the next boot, as "reagentc /info" then reports that Windows RE is disabled.

    How can I solve that?

    (just like to configure that properly, even though I probably don't need it thanks to Reflect)
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,140
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    XIII,

    Do you still have the Recovery partition?
     
  15. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,053
    In my Reflect image, but I removed it (intentionally) on my SSD.
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,140
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Restart your computer and...

    Can you run (Admin Command prompt)...

    dir /a C:\Windows\System32\Recovery

    Do you see a WindowsRE folder?

    Then run....

    dir /a C:\Recovery

    Do you see a WindowsRE folder?
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
  17. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,053
    The (newest) files are already available in C:\Recovery\WinRE (also after reboot; only the WinRE "enabled" state gets "corrupted").

    Where is the WinRE activation stored? In the Boot Configuration Data? Could it be that's overwritten with an old version by my boot manager? (Acronis OS Selector)
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,140
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Is your folder WinRE or WindowsRE?

    I guess you have already tried...

    reagentc /disable
    reagentc /enable
     
  19. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,053
    I need to check this at home tonight...
     
  20. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    USA
    When I edit my scheduled backups (to change the backup time) it does not stay changed permanently (the change appears to be made and saved but the next time I boot my system the backup time reverts back to what it was before the edit)! o_O

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
  21. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,381
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Do you change time using built-in scheduler or Windows task scheduler? If one doesn't work, you can try the other.
     
  22. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,053
    No, just 2 files (ReAgent.xml and ReAgent_Merged.xml1).

    Yes, containing 3 files (boot.sdi, ReAent.xml, and Winre.wim).
     
  23. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    USA
    Only with MR's scheduler so far. I will try it with Windows task scheduler (but that really shouldn't be necessary).
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,140
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    XIII,

    That's the same as mine. Can you again try...

    reagentc /disable
    dir /a C:\Windows\System32\Recovery

    You should see WindowsRE in Recovery.


    reagentc /enable
    dir /a C:\Recovery

    You should see WindowsRE in Recovery.

    But does it work now?
     
  25. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    940
    It would sure be great if there was a Black Friday Deal on Reflect!! Is anyone aware of any?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.