Macrium Reflect - Is there a way to know beforehand if your media's big enough?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by allizomeniz, Aug 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    905
    I've been using Macrium for quite awhile now and have never figured out if it's possible to see beforehand if them image you're about to make will fit the available space on your media. Does anyone know if you can?
     
  2. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    i havent used macrium but most programs show a summary of the estimated final size of the backup and offer splitting as needed or a single file, but i would expect it to complain if there enough free space to store the backup
     
  3. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    905
    It gives a summary but it only tells you the total size of the partition you've selected to back up.

    Summary.jpg

    If there's not enough room it doesn't warn or complain, it just starts anyway, When it runs out of room it stops and you have to insert new media.

    The user's guide gives a formula for figuring the end file size based on the compression method used, but it's a rough estimate only.

    Macrium's a great program and I'm surprised it doesn't have a feature for this. It's only happened to me once. I usually try to make sure my media's plenty big enough.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    I don't think many of the imaging programs do this. How hard is it to just look at the target disk and make sure there is enough room.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    allizomeniz,

    What sort of backup media are you using? If using a 2TB target HD you always know the image will fit. The backup drive should be your largest drive.
     
  6. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    905
    It's not hard at all as long as you have plenty of real estate, but when you're cutting it close you're taking a gamble. :D

    I was thinking, the paid version of Macrium might have this feature, I don't know, just a thought.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    No it doesn't. I would say disks are cheap. If you are that close, time to buy more space.
     
  8. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    With compression being variable (in the settings) and some files being more compressible than others, I'd say it's impossible to get something dead accurate as how much space your backup will take.
     
  9. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    905
    MarcP, I think you're right.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.