Macrium Reflect Error restoring please help :(

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Frankfree, May 16, 2019.

  1. guest

    guest Guest

    @jphughan Windows B&R just does what it is supposed to do, a system image.
    Being free, i don't expect it to do more than that, and personally I don't need much all the fancy features of the various 3rd party softs.
    Main reason I use macrium? Speed.
     
  2. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,367
    Do you mean "Backup and Restore (Windows 7)"?
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    Yes.
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,117
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Isn't Microsoft going to EOL that feature?
     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,367
    I don't know if you have seen this guide by TweakHound before, but I have tested it, and it works well.
    It shows you how to automate it by creating a schedule and also running it from the command line.
    It's written for Windows 8.1, but it is the same for Windows 10. If using Windows 10, change "Configure For" from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10.

    Guide To Windows System Image Backup - TweakHound
     
  6. guest

    guest Guest

  7. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,367
    At this stage, I would boot up with a Windows disc or UFD and try running System Restore.
    It will all depend how screwed up your OS is.
     
  8. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    US
    Reflect backups captured from within Windows by default do not contain System Restore snapshots, and since it seems the OP has already performed a restore, System Restore likely won't be available. However, based on the first post, it also sounds like the original restore operation completed but left the system in a bad state, and the fact that verifications are failing probably explains that -- although given that, I'm not sure why the restore operation itself completed with a bad result rather than either restoring everything properly or failing partway through the restore operation itself.
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    I will say "go clean install", finding the cause and the fix will take more time and gives no guarantee of success.
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,367
    I didn't know that the restore operation completed.
    I thought it validated the image before the restoration. I guess not.
     
  11. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,361
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks for the link with guide :thumb:
     
  12. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,927
    Did not say that is the best way to identify bad ram modules; only that is a good way of doing it.
    Memory testers cannot/do not, always, identify all ram problems.
    I have seen problematic ram modules always pass memtest86+ and other utilities torture tests, and then fail during simple image verification.

    @Frankfree have you resolved the problem?

    Panagiotis
     
  13. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    US
    There's a checkbox for that, but it's disabled by default, presumably because a) that can take quite a long time, and b) statistically, very few backups will fail verification anyway. In addition, if you're running a restore because your system is unusable in its current state, then even if an unverified image causes a failure partway through a restore, you're arguably no worse off than you were before you started. The only scenario where a pre-restore verification would deliver a benefit would be when you're restoring a system that still works properly AND there's a problem with the image, in which case the verification kept you from rendering your system unusable. But that's a minuscule portion of cases. Much of the magic of Rapid Delta Restore would be wiped out if the entire image had to be verified first every time.
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,367
    OK. Thanks.
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,367
    And there is a perfect example of why it doesn't make sense to deny yourself a recovery option by disabling System Restore.
    It's not like it hinders anyone in its operation. I find it to be very reliable in Windows 10.

    I had a similar problem a few weeks ago which I posted on this forum when a reflect restoration failed me, and no restore points. But lucky for me, I also had IFW.

    I have now enabled System Restore on Reflect and IFW images.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2019
  16. Frankfree

    Frankfree Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    83
    I had a laptop and was using it without any problem since 2011 I installed Macrium Reflect started backup
    in the morning I wake up and my PC hard drive is damaged probably from overheat.


    This is what I strongly believe .
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,117
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'd be blowing the dust out of your machine. I use a compressor, not those cans you can buy full of compressed air or gas.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2019
  18. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,852
    This is just your speculation, not a fact.
    On the other hand, I don't understand why people continuously make disk images using the CBT feature in MR. Separate OS drive and data drive, and backup data drive every week or so. For critical data, use an on line sync software such as Dropbox, OneDrive etc.
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,535
    Oliverja. That is one way but not necessarily the only way. Before I put what I call critical data online, I check the TOS of the service and non of the "sync" services guarantee the safety or privacy of the data. I include everything in the images and take hourly images with Macriums CBT. That way the images only take 50 seconds and recovery has stood the test of time. I've had things go wrong during the day and can step back thru the images to find the point of failure. Recovery only takes minutes also. I also had a case of having something go awry with the system and ended up having to go back to a 4 month old image. Left data hopelessly out of date. I restored that image then mounted a current image and synced the data from that. Worked beautifully.

    Biggest problem for people isn't how they image, but the lack of testing how to restore.
     
  20. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    US
    Beliefs, even strong beliefs, are not the same as facts. Were you capturing image backups using some other tool before you tried Reflect? Disk image operations, no matter what application performs them, are fairly intensive operations. They involve a lot of sustained read activity on the source and a lot of sustained write activity on the destination. So if you had never done something like that on your disk recently, then it's very possible that your hard drive was in bad shape beforehand and you simply never noticed. But that would also mean that ANY tool that captured an image of your disk could have triggered that simply due to the nature of image operations.
     
  21. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,700
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    LOL Reminds me years ago was doing pc repairs house calls. PC tower cases stuffed with dust & pet hair.

    Or better yet laptops that overheat because they're on top of blankets that cover up & clog the exhausts.
     
  22. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,361
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Excellent Point.

    Imaging is simple for the most part (should be) but restoring not necessarily the same simple routine run with expected outcomes.

    It's why even with macrium as good as it is been for me there is always time I set aside to test a FULL RESTORE after FIRST doing a SAFETY BACKUP just in the event of anything happens adversely such as during the restore a power failure (which @Peter2150 confirms trashes the disc) :eek: on the spot.

    I might not currently do the wonderful Incremental's but I do like to stockpile a series of back images as current as I feel comfortable with. Yes takes extra space but worth the external drive storage investment that makes for additionals to choose from.
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,535
    the power failure during restore is why I have battery backed UPS systems on all my desktops
     
  24. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,367
    We have very stable power where I live, but I have always been interested in a UPS even though power is rare to fail.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.