Macrium Failing Backup but paragon completes fine....!

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by iHz, Jan 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iHz

iHz Registered Member

I've been using Paragon Hard disk manager for a few years now ( 11 now ), and only ever use the winpe recovery disk to backup my partition.

Anyway, I reeeally have been waiting for incremental backups, but it seem PHDM will never do it, so after reading so much good about macrium here, I decided to buy it, since it has new winpe and can do incremental backups.

I made the M5 ( macrium v5) winpe disk, and ready to image windows partition.

But no matter what, it aborts halfway through and gives error code 1117, i/o device error.

Also, while its backing up to a separate partition on the same drive ( Samsung f3 ), it makes a real chugging noise.
    I tried to backup to mapped network drive ( gbit lan ), and it still stops halfway through, although it is slightly faster overall time and the HDD doesn't make much noise at all! for example it had total time around 10 mins, whereas when backing to samsung partition, time remaining is around 20 mins, and does not evenly reduce.

I unchecked verify file system, even so, I manually checked it before backing up and there is no errors. I also unzipped all folders of drivers for my hardware and let M5 scan them when the recovery usb first loads up, and it does whatever it needs to install them.
    I tried imaging about 3-4 times, they all aborted. With or without loading drivers into winpe.

The reason it is sooo frustrating, is that, I then booted up the PHDM recovery and basically loaded no drivers, and imaged the same partition.
    It created the image in about 3-5 min, no problems, HDD sounded normal. I verified the image, and it said its ok.....

so what's going on here?

Right now, I've wasted about 3-4 hrs on something that was supposed to take 30mins! It really feels like I just paid money to trouble myself.