MAC changers any good?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by No_script, May 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. No_script

    No_script Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    Wondering if MAC changers are worth installing? I have TMAC 6.03 but I'm unsure if it works.
     
  2. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    I believe they are very worthy of having if you use other peoples access points, and you could also ask 'Sabu' :D . TMAC is *very* good, and I used it before I found what I consider the best: MadMACs from Iron Geek's website. MM will also randomize your hostname, and it does work. If you go into Windows properties, you will see something like: "Current Hostname is Xxxxx, this will be changed to Xxxxx on next reboot". Checking your advanced connection properties will show your current MAC, as will checking your router connection page. I find it better than macchanger on Linux.

    PD
     
  3. EncryptedBytes

    EncryptedBytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Posts:
    449
    Location:
    N/A
    There are many other means an adversary can identify you over a WLAN other than your MAC and hostname. That being said if you are browsing the internet in a coffee shop or other public wifi it won't hurt you to use, but won't really help either. The only benefit it would have is if the node is logging based on MAC.
     
  4. No_script

    No_script Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    EncryptedBytes

    Can you explain more about "There are many other means an adversary can identify you over a WLAN other than your MAC and hostname."?

    On the MAC address didn't the FBI bust one of the main members of Lulzsec with his MAC address?
     
  5. EncryptedBytes

    EncryptedBytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Posts:
    449
    Location:
    N/A
    If you do not funnel your traffic into encrypted tunnels you are fair game. Every packet you send can be intercepted, websites visited, browsing sessions, you can be MITM'd due to ARP spoofing. Evil twin Deauth attacks. Joining the network and simply changing the MAC/Host name will not stop someone from pulling out your real identity.

    If you do encrypt your activity, fingerprinting techniques even when using encryption can be effective to identify the type of OS and potential applications being used. The longer you stay connected and number of times you connect to the node, the more of a profile can be crafted of you.
     
  6. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    I look at it as minimizing 'what I can', when I can, with no illusion of super1337 status. It's free and doesn't cost anything, so I do it. Just another layer. You are correct, of course, EB. Oh, and I thought we *all* used VPN's! :D

    PD
     
  7. klarm

    klarm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    europe
    Hi guys. I'm wondering about something. I have a Siemens Gigaset SE555 router and the other day when I was checking some options I've seen an option to change MAC address of the device to custom. How come they even offer this in a low price device and does it really work?
    cheers.
     
  8. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    It's probably a feature from back in the old days where ISP's would only authorize your one NIC to receive internet access. The router makers then implemented the "MAC Clone' feature to allow your router to be authenticated with the NIC's MAC. It has nothing to do with the individual MACs of your devices as they're reported to routers out in the wild.

    PD
     
  9. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,594
    I have used both of the software MAC programs mentioned in this thread once in awhile. They work exceptionally well with XP. I have one HP laptop that just refuses to allow the wireless MAC to change on a Vista 64 setup. The MAC "briefly" changes and then a few seconds later the frickin lappy changes it back to the original. LOL!!

    I am not too concerned because I mostly rely upon VPN tunnels. I would love to solve this someday just for learning's sake. I don't have a bunch of time to throw at it right now. But someday.
     
  10. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    Try setting the first two numbers to 02, see if that works. Then there's always Win7 :D

    PD
     
  11. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,594
    I have Win 7 Enterprise (with multi-seat VLK) sitting here. I just need to find the time to do a clean install. HP has all the drivers sitting online so getting them would be one click to the "mothership".
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.