M$ 'Fixes'

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cochise, Dec 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    I've just run good old Belarc Advisor and it said I needed to reinstall a couple of hot Fixes:-

    UPD239887 and UPD274370.

    I Googled the first one, got it staright away and d/ld it no probs from M$.

    Did the same again with the second number and all M$ does is send you round in ever decreasing circles but never coming up with the fix!!!! the fix itself isn't that important but the fact that M$ put you in a loop wastes my time.

    Anyone else had this problem with Fixes Please.

    Many thanks in advance, Cochise, :cool:
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Cochise,

    I think you will waste a lot of time, trying to find it on the web, because it is not offered for download:

    Source: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=http://support.microsoft.com:80/support/kb/articles/Q274/3/70.ASP&NoWebContent=1

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Yep! your exactly right Pieter.

    Sorry, I should have explained better, I only used Google to get to the M$ site as per your Link, but once there see if you can find the Q274370 'Fix' for the blue screen doodad and see if you get as frustrated as I did.

    I followed all the M$ Links and they lead to a dead end, no 'Fix', unless I'm missing something which I might well be.

    Thanks for the Super-Fast response,

    Regards Cochise, :cool:
     
  4. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Cochise,

    Apparently I wasn't very clear either. ;)
    You only need that patch if you are experiencing the problem described at that link. If you do, you have to contact M$ to obtain the fix.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  5. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    OK Pieter, Thanks,

    I'll follow those links again and see if I can find out how you actually manage to contact M$ on that site. Like I said, I'm not really bothered about this 'Fix' but finding it just became a challenge. :D

    All I kept finishing up at was 'What OS I had' and whether the 'Component' was OEM or not! which wasn't what I really wanted to know. o_O

    Best Regards, Cochise. :cool:
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    OK. Enjoy the hunt. ;)

    Pieter
     
  7. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Cheers Pieter and Good Health,

    Also many Congrats on the 'Posties' they've been life-savers to many.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours,

    Regards, Cochise, :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.