lost Vista OS

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by mikey71, Jul 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mikey71

    mikey71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, I have DD10 running on Vista and wanted to install XP on a new partition. So I installed OSS but now when the PC boots I cannot see any os and cannot return to Vista at all. The F6 option just loads OSS and doesnt skip it. Also I cant deactivate OSS as I need to provide a default OS which I cannot do. I expect I am doing something dumb but currently I have a useless PC :'(
     
  2. mangoman

    mangoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    Do you have Vista install DVDs?
    If yes, you can try to "repair"; I am not sure of details because I dont have Vista dvd (just a recovery partition), but there are good recent threads about this.

    I have the same exact problem see thread OSS- cant use it, cant remove it.
     
  3. mikey71

    mikey71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for your reply. Yes I have the Vista dvd and tried the repair option but Windows returns "no issue found". So I know Vista is on the disk its just that OSS for some reason cant see it.

    It appears that the only option I have is to recover the PC from archive but I only want to do this if it is the only answer.
     
  4. mangoman

    mangoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    Mike, before you give up and start over here are some risky radical things you could try...

    You could try using the recovery DD cd to create a new first partition, if your lucky (like I was) the new Vista will be installed there and it will leave your old (second) Vista partition alone.

    Also, you could try using recovery DD to >Explore the running Vista partition. Delete or rename the files OSS uses, like OS_selector.exe on c:\progFiles\acronis\DD for example. So OSS wont be able to run. I have had some success with this method before, on the next boot I got some message like "Windows is trying to fix problem".... takes a long time, but reboots properly and OSS is gone. This could be fixed by my HP Pavilion Recovery partition, so may not work on a regular Vista install.

    Hang on for a while though, I am new with DD/OSS and there are other very helpfull posters here who may have a more definitive answer.

    mangoMan
     
  5. mangoman

    mangoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    oh yeah....
    You probably have but, try messing around with the F6 button during boot.
    It can be tricky to hit it not too soon, not to late, usually I keep tapping it about 3 time a second just be fore the "enter BIOS" message goes away.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.