Lost LAN connectivity

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by wreckwriter, Apr 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wreckwriter

    wreckwriter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    68
    Had to replace one of my 3 PCs recently. Reinstalled Look N' Stop and now cannot connect to the other 2 workgroup PCs (inbound or out), The other PCs can see this one but cannot access it. i have the standard ruleset and Phantom's ruleset installed. If I quit LnS everything works. I did import the sharing rule from the site but still no go.

    Any thoughts on which rule might be blocking me?

    Had to post this in 2 pieces, too many rules...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Could you try to put the sharing rule at the top of the ruleset ?
    Maybe there is a blocking rule before its current position.

    If your network is not using 192.168.x.y, you have to edit the sharing rules.

    If it still doesn't work, the log file would be interesting.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  3. wreckwriter

    wreckwriter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    68
    Thanks Frederic, Based on the logs the blocking rule is:

    Block : All other packets UDP
    There's big warning to not edit or disable the rule...

    Moving the sharing rule to the top seems to have allowed this PC to access others but not vice-versa.
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    If some PCs are under Vista, then one of the rules has to be edited to change the 1024-5000 range to 49152-65535, for the port selection.

    If this was not the problem, could you give more details on the ports of the blocked packets from the log ?

    Frederic
     
  5. wreckwriter

    wreckwriter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    68
    I took the easy way out, Exported rules from working pc, imported them here. Older ruleset but certainly much less trouble. Thanks guys!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.