Lost disk space when restoring to larger drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dotman, Apr 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dotman

    dotman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I'm using ATI 7.0. I made a full disk image of a failing 60gb 2.5 ide drive in my laptop and then restored to a 80gb drive housed in a firewire enclosure. Everything went fine, except that when I put the restored drive into my laptop, the new drive only shows as a 60gb drive, instead of the actual 80gb that it is. What did I do wrong and how can I reclaim the lost disk space?
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    It's a very common problem, even with later versions. Here's one solution:
    ================================
    If you have already cloned/restored your drive and just want to regain the missing (unallocated) space proceed as follows:
    1. Make the bootable True Image Rescue cd, if you have not already done so.
    2. Boot with it and from its main menu choose Manage Acronis Secure Zone.
    3. Create an SZ of any size less than the missing unallocated space. Do not accept the default to activate the Startup Recovery Manager.
    4. OK back to the main menu.
    5. Go right back into the Manage ASZ.
    6. Choose to Delete the SZ.
    7. When asked what to do with the space, accept the default to append it to the existing partition.
    8. Back out to the Main Menu, Exit the process, quickly remove the CD and reboot the system (if it doesn't self reboot).
    ====================================
     
  3. dotman

    dotman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for the instructions. I'll give it a try. BTW, does the current version still have this problem? I'd gladly upgrade if this were fixed. Also, is this problem hit or miss, or a consistent snafu? Thanks.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I'm still using version 9 which works for me even with Vista - I use only the bootable Rescue CD with the BartPE configuration. So I don't know if the current ver 11 does the same thing, but I believe I've seen some users say it does. One way I have seen, with ver 9, to avoid the problem during the Restore process, don't put the check mark against Disk 1, put it only against the C partition, even leave out the MBR. That works with ver 9, don't know if it will work for ver 7.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    dotman,

    Does Disk Management show your 80 GB HD as 60 GB or do you have a 60 GB partition with 20 GB of unallocated space?
     
  6. dotman

    dotman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Brian, good call. I see in DM an 18.65GB partition tagged as "unallocated" How should I proceed to recaim this space? I'd rather not have a separate partition. Thanks.
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    The steps I outlined in #2 above will do that.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  9. dotman

    dotman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    thanks. I'll then proceed with DnwNdrty's advice. thanks for the tips.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dotman,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please notice that you can resize the partition during the restore procedure to fit the new drive size (unless the drive you backed up was corruped to the point filesystem isn't recognized properly). You can find instructions on the page 29 of the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.