Looking for light dvd maker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by frank47, Mar 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frank47

    frank47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Need a light dvd maker to burn my windows movie maker movies.thought I had the perfect one with,Smart dvd creator.Worked fine for about 4 burns .After that.when I tried to play them kept getting disc error.Got a refund but their program was what I wanted.You might ask why don't I just save to dvd in movie maker? It doesn't work meaning it will not play on dvd player.

    OS XP SP3
    Thanks but please don't recommend roxio or nero. With smart creator when it was working just had to drag and drop finished movie and it burned playable dvd. Thanks again.
     
  2. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
  3. frank47

    frank47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Thanks andyman will give it a try and let you know.
     
  4. frank47

    frank47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Tried it andyman same result disc error I guess it's not software problem.
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yeah sounds like either hardware or something got messed up in windows itself.
     
  6. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I had to make in instructional dvd last year, and my boss bought a copy of Pinnacle Studio. It worked well enough for basic operations and produced working media. I tried lots of free ones, but they had learning curves I did not have time to learn. Pinnacle was pretty much out of the box ready to use (simplistic enough).

    I don't know about it being "light". I don't spend much time on multimedia things, I just wanted one that worked and was simple to use.

    Sul.
     
  7. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  8. frank47

    frank47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    thanks sully .Will give it a try. Thanks ACR1965 but I want to make dvd of movies I make on (windows moviemaker.) That link you sent ,unless I didn't find it is for ripping dvd.
     
  9. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    I know this might be a silly question but might this be the disks you're using? Have you recently changed the brand of media you use,or tried different disks to eliminate that possibility?
    Do these disks you're creating fail to play in your PC's DVD Rom and/or household DVD Player?Finally did you try burning them at a slower speed?
     
  10. frank47

    frank47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Andy that's not silly.but they burned on the discs I'm using.The program just stopped working.Evidently the co. didn't have an answer ,just gave me refund.
     
  11. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
  12. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
  13. frank47

    frank47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Boost I have dvd flick but it doesn't copy movies I make on wmk.Thanks
     
  14. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    What I use is womble mpeg video wizard dvd. That has always worked for me.

    But your problem seems to be bad media (if your movie isn't playing back properly). You can use the free nero discspeed utility (no installation required runs from the exe file) to test your blank dvd media.
    http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Nero_CD-DVD_Speed

    Also make sure the setting wasn't changed from PAL to NTCS or vice versa.

    I always use dvdshrink to test my dvd files before I burn them. If the video_ts folder is opened by dvdshrink and analyze with no problem they are dvd compliant.. If you get "navigational errors" you need to use "fixvts" a small free program that can fix VOB's and make them compliant. Some dvd making software (winavi among others) will sometime make dvd's that require fixvts.
     
  15. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    Give VSO ConvertXtoDVD (v4) a try.

    I tried a lot of DVD makers to burn avi files to dvd, and that was the best of the light ones (for avi at least). installer = 17 MB.

    Cyberlink PowerDirector Ultra (v:cool: would probably also work (did for me), but it's significantly heavier with more functionality (sound and video editing) that you may not need or want. The installer is a little over 230 MB.

    If you want freeware, try DVD Flick. It didn't work for me, but I have on old piece of crap DVD player (the newer ones can just play avi directly).
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2010
  16. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    i use ojosoft total video converter portable
    convert to vob and burn with imgburn
     
  17. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Frank, you've got mail. See my pm before proceeding.
     
  18. frank47

    frank47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    thanks everyone will give a try and report.
     
  19. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
  20. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    From your opening post Frank which program threw the disk error - Windows or Smart? Any details?
     
  21. frank47

    frank47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    The dvd player Global
     
  22. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    So Windows? We know how to upload a screenshot Frank?
     
  23. frank47

    frank47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Sorry global I burn the disc,but it Won't play in dvd player.It either comes up error in one player, tried it in another and it comes up no disc.Made two dozen coasters so far.Hope I'm reading you right.
     
  24. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    http://www.formatoz.com/

    Try format factory and see if you can convert it to a useable format that DVD Flick can use.

    BTW:It's FREE also.
     
  25. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    Switch to rewritables.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.