Looking for free, simple and Vista compatible firewall...

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by RejZoR, Jul 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    My only candidates were PCTools Firewall and Check Point ZoneAlarm.
    PCTools was a real miracle to install and blocked ALL connections so i couldn't do s**t. ZoneAlarm installed fine but resulted in awful 2 second delay for all webpages before they started to render in browser.
    So what's left? Not much. I don't want some bloated firewall, i need simple one without ridiculos HIPS crap and bunch of other useless "features" that spawn countless numbers of popups. It also has to be Vista compatible, free (doh) and preferably has nice interface (i kinda liked PCTools one, if only wouldn't lock me out from net...). Any other recommendations?
     
  2. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Not a free one, but it works with Vista: CA Personal Firewall.
    Whether it's a good one, don't know, but there aren't that many free/paid firewalls at present for Vista or maybe I missed some. :D
    There also Sunbelt Personal Firewall and that's a free one. :)
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I use the windows firewall and it is doing just fine
     

    Attached Files:

  4. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    They plan on releasing a vista-version soon....but not yet.
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I'm using it but a firewall with simple outbound program countrol would be fine too. Vista firewall blocks only apps acting like server...
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Vista's firewall does have outbound filtering but its disabled by default.
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well i couldn't find it and only option that i thought would do that completelly blocked the net. So if you can point me where you found this setting i'd be very happy.
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    The "Windows Firewall with Advanced Security" can be accessed from Control Panel > System and Maintenance > Administrative Tools.

    I dont know much of it though.
     
  9. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    You're right, looked at the wrong information. :oops:
    Thanks for the correction.

    So that doesn't leave much choice, other then a paid firewall or else the one in Vista. :doubt:
     
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I know where to access it but i couldn't find any option related to "enabling WIn firewall to ask when program requests any kind of outbound connecton". That would be ideal.
     
  11. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I don't use Vista but i googled and seems to be explained how to work with it, here,

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,128834-c,vistalonghorn/article.html



    snowbound
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2007
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    This doesn't answer what he said back there. It just says there isn't any way for regular outbound filtering, not how to set it up as one. Flipping that thing to block, blocks everything even though i have rule there that enables program to make outbound connection. Useless concept if you ask me.:rolleyes:
     
  13. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    I tried configuring the Vista firewall for good outbound protection when I upgraded from XP, but it was an exercise in futility.
     
  14. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Using the Vista built in FW here with outbound filtering enabled. It works, but it it a bit difficult as there is no warning when a program is blocked. It just gets blocked.

    Setting it up for windows update and time service takes a bit of skill. Use a custom rule for svchost.exe limited to the relevant service. Ports 80 and 443 TCP for update and 123 UDP for time. This is actually an improvement over most third party firewalls where svchost.exe is not limited by service.

    The outbound filtering does not care how a program is started, nor does it notice if a program has been updated. Its protection against leaks is primitive in that sense.

    Adjustment of the settings for public and private networks is done when connecting. Vista asks you if you want to make the network public or private and that profile is adopted. Nice for laptop users. Just do not allow network discovery to be enabled for all public networks. It is hard to change back.
     
  15. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
  16. Gren

    Gren Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    93
    I'm in the same boat.

    Waiting for Comodo 3 but realise this could take some time so am using ZA free at the moment. Am sure it's slowing things a little (Firefox opens slowly at first but page loading seems okay) but don't want to spend any money at the moment on something that's not quite what I want just to fill in for the moment.

    The other interesting one is Eset's suite (I'm a NOD32 user) but to be honest prefer the flexibility of individual products.

    May all depend on who gets their act together first.
     
  17. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    Are you using the latest version of ZA Free? I am behind a router firewall, and just use the Windows XP Firewall, but I occasionally like to use Comodo Pro, PC Tools, and ZA Free for the heck of it. I recently had the free version of ZA 6.5.737 installed and it was very stable with no noticeable slowdowns even when rebooting. A few in the know members at Zone Labs (Check Point) Forums actually recommend this version and also 6.1.744.001 over the newest version of ZA Free. I did the /clean uninstall procedure and there was no traces left afterwards. I did however have some trouble uninstalling version 7 a few months ago.
     
  18. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Hm, Ashampoo Firewall doesn't seem to support Vista. Are you sure about that?
     
  19. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    It used to be labelled as Vista compatible but they must have changed it. It was a little buggy but it worked OK (LSP based, not KMD). You can probably still install it if you edit the installer (if it's an msi).

    The one I mentioned from Sphinx supposedly is an interface to the windows firewall.
     
  20. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    PC tools FW is working fine here on this Vista install.

    Tried to configure the default Vista fw to stop the leaktest.exe from GRC but the only way I did manage to stop leaktest was to stop all connections.

    Tuning Vista Firewall
     
  21. Gren

    Gren Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    93
    Yes it is the latest version - the only Vista compatible one. Am also behind a router firewall. I've heard the same things about ZA but have no option.
     
  22. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    That's right you have Vista, I forgot you have to use the latest version. 7.1 looks good though as far as GUI. There isn't a free version yet of 7.1 though, so why not try ZA Pro 7.1? Of course there may be issues with it.
     
  23. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
  24. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    Thanks eBBox, not only have you helped me with what is available with ZA these days, but to see there are still troubles with this Firewall. I like ZA and have tried a few of the different versions, but thankfully because I don't have Vista I can still use older versions 6.1.744.001, or 6.5.737 which for the most part were trouble free. I've even had a very stable version the 4.5 series installed and liked the fact it didn't have Antivirus monitoring. 6.5.737 ran very though well as I said in an earlier post, and if I'd try ZA Free again at least from what I have learned recently, would choose it over 7.1.
     
  25. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Do you remember which 4.5.o_O
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.