Looking for firewall similar to Sygate's

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ohblu, Dec 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ohblu

    ohblu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Colorado
    I am looking for a free firewall, for XP, that is very similar to Sygate Personal Firewall 5.1 (free version). I have tried Comodo and something else (I can't remember the name) and was not happy with them. I felt that configuring them was significantly more difficult than configuring Sygate's firewall which was actually a breeze. This is not for my computer, but for my grandmother's computer. I'm actually tempted to just install the Sygate firewall since it would be better than nothing even though it is years out-of-date. She has a hardware firewall and Windows firewall enabled, but she obviously needs something more. Any suggestions?
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  2. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    IMO, one of the nearest to Sygate way of working (application oriented, server/clients/internet zones) is ZoneAlarm.

    Fax
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  3. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Agreed :thumb:
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I think this one is based on Sygate:

    http://www.fortknox-firewall.com/
     
  5. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    There's also sunbelt personal firewall.
     
  6. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I agree that Zone Alarm free is close from what I have seen of it.
     
  7. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    I was looking for this kind of firewall myself, and the sunbelt firewall felt lighter on my computer than zonealarm. It's based on Kerio 4 and will turn to a limited free edition after 30 days. The free edition has basic 2-way filtering, paid edition has some hips and web content filtering capabilities.
     
  8. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    i used sygate for 3 years before i decided to try other recent firewalls.
    i tried nearly all firewalls.now i'm using pc tools firewall. very easy , light, powerfull.
    if you want install it on grandmother computer just choose normal user and disable enhanced security verfication ESV. and use it with a good antivirus.
     
  9. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    One thing to consider with Zone Alarm free is the ZA Toolbar.
     
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
  11. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,274
    In addition to basic 2-way filtering, free or paid Sunbelt FW permits to build detailed packet rules exactly like in Kerio 2.1.5 though with a better GUI. At which point the application filtering similar to ZA is superfluous. The things that don't work in a free version is HIPS and web guard for scripts, ads, popups activeX, site-specific settings, all that isn't in free.
    Free will use about 23meg, paid 28meg.
    I find it nice to use and very sturdy.
     
  12. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2009
  13. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Hi fax...
    The ask search engine is still an optional part of the Za toolbar in the latest pro version,and can be shown or hidden as desired though i guess that is different to the complete ask toolbar.
    ellison
     
  14. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Nope It is NOT. Have you actually installed it?? Ask toolbar was NEVER in any retail version of ZA. Only in ZA Free before November 09.
    The toolbar that comes with ZA has NO ASK search engine. It is a security toolbar (phishing and site rating) developed internally by ZA.

    Wonder why everybody keep posting without actually checking what they post. :mad:

    Fax
     
  15. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    The pro version has a search engine that can be optionally enabled and is the ask search engine.I cant comment on the free version.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi
    I don't know why you are insisting posting WRONG information. The screeshot are probably related to an old version of ZA. PLEASE check yourself by actually installing the latest versions 9.1.XXX.XXX

    Fax
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2009
  17. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Hi fax..
    I dont know what your problem is ,but please dont accuse me of posting intentional wrong information.I AM using the latest version of ZA pro and the screenshots are genuine.
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/information/zap/releaseHistory.html
     

    Attached Files:

  18. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    I can't see any search here both in FREE OR PRO... nor I can turn it ON. I see only the pure toolbar without the search engine. NO offense intended. Sorry if it was the case.

    No idea why you do :) May be someone else could confirm?

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  19. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Hmmm now i am confused.What installer have you used Fax?.I used zapSetup_91_008_000_en.exe installer.The ZA browser security toolbar is version 1.5.53.4.
    Can you confirm?
    Thank you
    ellison
     
  20. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
  21. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    The search bar doesnt show with default settings here.It has to be ticked by clciking the ZA toolbar >settings.Under the general tab tick "Enable search box into toolbar".Its no big problem for me as it just uses the ask search engine rather than google or any other.
    ellison
     
  22. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi!
    Can't re-test now. In any case, saying that it will install the ASK toolbar is at least misleading since even assuming it is there, it is OFF by default.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  23. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499

    Hi fax..
    I never said that it installed the ask toolbar ,just that the ZA search feature uses the ask search engine if its enabled.Going back to the OPs search for a firewall similar to sygate ,i would also recommend ZA,as an alternative or fortknox for a clone of it.
    ellison
     
  24. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    A post referred to "ASK toolbar" that once upon a time was part of ZA free by default. Now its completely different. This is why my original reaction.
    For me the issue is closed and sorry to the OP if we went offtopic. It was needed to avoid any misunderstandings around potentially unwanted ZA features :)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2009
  25. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    What I saw was the Zone Alarm toolbar that integrated into Firefox.
    Can't speak about the ASK toolbar as I didn't see it.
    This was the latest free version and I didn't do the default install,but I think that the ZA toolbar would be the "Browser Protection" feature which is optional.

    I didn't care for it because of the space it takes on the browser screen.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.