Looking for firewall recommendation

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by AlexC, Jan 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    I looking to complement my setup with a firewall to keep control on outgoing connections. Im looking for light, free, and without HIPS. What are your suggestions?

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2013
  2. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada
    As for myself I have been using L'n'S for years without any problems. It's very light and no HIPS.
     
  3. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Thanks for the suggestion, but i´m looking for a free firewall.
     
  4. mrtonyg

    mrtonyg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    USA
    How about the Windows 7 firewall with one of the front ends:

    Windows Firewall Notifier
    Windows Firewall Control

    ...and a few others.
     
  5. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    I would suggest the new Comodo Firewall then. It's powerful, light and HIPS is disabled by default....fits your description quite well.
     
  6. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    So far i tried:

    Windows Firewall Notifier: seems that services monitoring must be disabled or else is impossible to create rules.

    Zone Alarm Free: very easy to understand, but i had some problems with Winpatrol. It is possible to use it as a simple firewall, but there lots of extra features i don't want.

    Comodo Firewall: (at this point i uninstalled Winpatrol , since i realized that a HIPS provides more prevention). Damn, Comodo is very different now. I didn't liked the new GUI (more difficult to control the firewall and defense+ rules, see the traffic, etc.), and i also felt that i was using i full security suite and not a firewall.

    Now i just finished restoring a clean image and i´ll uninstall WinPatrol and give PrivateFirewall a try.

    Thanks for the suggestions! :thumb:
     
  7. mrtonyg

    mrtonyg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    USA
    I don't follow...services monitoring? What is that?
     
  8. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Right after install Windows Firewall Notifier, i was unable to to answer the pop-ups i get some error saying that it was not possible to create rules. I've googled i bit and found that in the settings i should disable the monitoring of the services, or else i couldn't create rules...
     
  9. mrtonyg

    mrtonyg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    USA
    Never heard of an issue like that with WFN.
    I still don't follow what you mean by "disabling of monitoring of the services".
    I don't have anything like that or even heard of any such monitor or service.

    By the way I am running WFN in Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 with all updates.
     
  10. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Here it is...
    Windows 7 x 32 Premium

    Do you (or anyone) know what this is?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Free equals Windows Firewall.

    Paid equals LNS or Online Armor imho.
     
  12. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    I always have to remove the check from "Services:N/D", or disable that option permanently in the settings, in order to be able to create a new rule.

    Edit: Ok, i think i already understood how it works. I should choose according to what is connecting to the internet.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013
  13. Syobon

    Syobon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Posts:
    469
    Comodo : Disable all HIPS and behavior blocker
    PrivateFirewall Disable all HIPS
     
  14. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    These are great suggestions
     
  15. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Thanks you guys for the suggestions :thumb:

    I ended up opting for Windows Firewall Notifier, its light and perform the simple task of controlling the outgoing connections, using own Windows Firewall.
     
  16. mrtonyg

    mrtonyg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    USA
    AlexC, glad that you got it squared away!

    Don't forget to backup your firewall profile once you have configured all the settings to your liking:
    Go to the Windows firewall "Advanced settings" option and then choose "Export Policy".
     
  17. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    The built in W7 firewall
     
  18. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Thank you, thats a nice tip.
     
  19. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,131
    it was very light ,but the new version is boatware i won't say light

    the previous version was great !
     
  20. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    As for it's ram usage, it takes very little.

    Disk I/O isn't bad

    As for how many processes it requires, I do wish it was less (but not bloated).

    The interface is different and takes some getting use to, but overall nothing about that was too bloated either.

    So, what exactly did you find bloated?

    Just curious
     
  21. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,131
    the file size :) 127mb
    and some features that i don't need , i don't remember extracly but if i'm not wrong can virtualize the os
    and maybe because i liked the precedents version
     
  22. mrtonyg

    mrtonyg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    USA
    The installation package file size is not an indicator as to RAM usage.

    The only way to know for sure is to run the software in a typical manner and then go to the "task manager".
     
  23. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128
    task manager is actually pretty inaccurate too.

    they say it is best to look at disk i/o, overall ram use before and after program installation, and just how your program feels.

    oh, and my recommendations would be either comodo or Windows Firewall w/ Advanced security (see Stems thread)
     
  24. mrtonyg

    mrtonyg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    USA
    Dude, what on earth are you talking about...Task Manager displays all you mentioned and is the default program for checking running application stats!
     
  25. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128
    What I am saying is that you can write a program so task manager says it uses 4mb ram when it is really using 50mb...in other words I am saying the same thing I said in my previous post......it is completely inaccurate for ram use and has been discussed many times. Read up on it if you don't believe me.

    This is why AV comparatives refuses to show ram use from task manager in its comparisons.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.