Looking for a replacement for Outpost Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Denna, May 25, 2017.

  1. loungehake

    loungehake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Wigan
    I would like to use Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3 with Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit) but it seems to be incompatible with OSArmor. Since the NSA reported cryptography bug has been patched, I know that I can rely on preventing software without security certificates from running which OSArmor is adept at. Outpost would add to the security, especially with the enablement of Outpost's Advanced settings and Outpost also identifies software lacking security certifications.

    I would be glad to hear if there is anything I can do to mitigate the incompatibility between OSArmor and Outpost. I like a good HIPS.
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,319
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Just an FYI: that bug did not affect Windows 7, it only affected Windows 10 and servers 2016 and 2019.
     
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,333
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I run WIN7 PRO 64bit & use OSArmor together with Private Firewall (PFW). PFW has an excellent HIPS.
     
  4. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    159
    Location:
    France
    OFP (lifetime license) still working great here. I just don't know whether it is still safe to use it ...
     
  5. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,269
    Location:
    UK
    Working great here on win xp and win 7 also.

    I use it with NVT osarmor on both xp and win7
     
  6. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,269
    Location:
    UK
    For a some sort of hips Voodoo shield works fine with it. Ran it fine for a year (giveaway of the day i think)
     
  7. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    The Firewall should work fine for windows 7 and below. OP had problems with Win10's later API function calls, I had lifetimes for both OPFP & OSS, traded in my OFP license for the two year kaspersky offer when they shut down, But only used it a few months, did not care for it at all. Tried the COMODO free offerings but always seemed to eventually uninstall Comodo when it had problems - rather difficult to get rid of too. OSS of course doesn't work anymore and the anti-virus signatures haven't been updating either.

    If you managed to get OFP running on win10 x64, good luck. It of course is no longer supported by our dedicated team of experts and Outpost lovers, and hasn't been updated in years, so may still have a few unplugged security flaws, as might win7. The fickle finger of fate writes, and moves on. Meanwhile i use Binisoft's WF interface as it's rules entry panel and rules list is more outposty than the others. Windows firewall itself is horrible to set up without binisoft's interface. Now Malwarebytes of course, I use it with their ani-malware, for which I was given a free lifetime license back in the old OP days, it works fine in win10 and with windows defender, and peerblock, I feel safe again.
     
  8. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    159
    Location:
    France
    I still use Windows 7, therefore I have kept my old setup. I might get a new laptop in the next few months, and then I will probably get Sphinx W10FC or Binisoft. Or I'll get a Mac.
    But on my current W7 laptop, I haven't really considered replacing OFP so far. Maybe I should.
     
  9. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,269
    Location:
    UK
    kronkew: ". Now Malwarebytes of course, I use it with their ani-malware, for which I was given a free lifetime license back in the old OP days, it works fine in win10 and with windows defender, and peerblock, I feel safe again."

    peerblock works in win 7 and win 10?
    Is there a how to guide to get it to work?
    I tried on win 7 but could not get anywhere.
     
  10. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    You sorta need a subscription to the blocklists, $10 a year. https://www.iblocklist.com/lists.php, they give you a user name and a code ID no. Then install peerblock 1.2,

    https://peerblock.en.uptodown.com/windows

    settings 1 tab, add your i-blocklist username and pin number to let you use their lists you've just subscribed to.
    Go back to main 'protection' page, click 'list mananger' button. I ticked theSpyware,Advertising, and education lists, it finds those on startup, or however you set it up with the settings tabs. I created my own list of russian and Iranian IP ranges and added it to the program files peerblock lists folder.

    there are a few videos on youtube as well on setting it up. If you get more paranoid there are lots of other lists you can add from i-blocklist or compile your own, in .p2p format.
     
  11. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,269
    Location:
    UK
    kronckew:

    Thanks, however i have set it up in win xp before.

    Win7 for some reason it didnt work hence me asking if there was a trick to getting it to work.
    It seems not so maybe my security has stopped it installing it properly.
     
  12. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    They finally had turned off the licensing servers, which were needed to install it. I haven't tried installing it in years...
     
  13. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,269
    Location:
    UK
    kronckew: are you taking about outpost?

    Got peerblock installed on win7 from that link you posted thanks
     
  14. tnodir

    tnodir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Posts:
    78
    Location:
    Turkey
    I'm interested in the beta-testing of Fort Firewall as replacement for PeerBlock.

    You can add block-lists in the "Zones" window.
    Select Zones in the Options -> IPv4 Addresses -> Allowed Internet Addresses -> Exclude.
    And setup the Options -> Schedule -> Zones Downloader.

    I'll appreciate for any bug reports & feature requests.
     
  15. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,269
    Location:
    UK
    TNODIR: doesn't using wfp mean you can't block Microsoft ips
     
  16. tnodir

    tnodir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Posts:
    78
    Location:
    Turkey
    PeerBlock uses same WFP API.
     
  17. solitarios

    solitarios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    188
  18. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    159
    Location:
    France
    I finally decided to install Binisoft WFC, and have to say it is working fine here, alongside Sanboxie, Appguard and EAM.
     
  19. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Only somewhat similar firewall to Outpost I have seen and like is Eset, 2nd best Sphinx W10FC.
    Lot's of options to play with (Eset).
    Using Win7 64.
     
  20. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,269
    Location:
    UK
    Oh thanks, i didnt know that, i do remember block some MS ips a while ago in peerblock
     
  21. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Is not PeerBlock dead?
     
  22. solitarios

    solitarios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    188
    Compatible with 2004!
    :thumb::):thumb:
     
  23. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    upload_2020-5-28_13-27-55.png

    Working fine last few insider build since last year.
    Auto updates the ipblocklist.com lists I've subscribed to on startup.
    I'm now running 19631.1 insider. 2004 is apparently build 19041.234 & is 19041.264, an updated version of the insider build from December 2019. I'm d/l it now. not sure if I want to revert back that far tho.
     
  24. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    498
    Do you know of any other free blocklists compatible with PB?
     
  25. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    Try searching the help, one thread discusses making your own lists & what formats you can import into peerblock. you can add your own lists via the list manager menu item.It appears able to import HOSTS files format, CIDR format, IP lists too..

    I use:
    # Title: StevenBlack/hosts
    #
    # This hosts file is a merged collection of hosts from reputable sources,
    # with a dash of crowd sourcing via GitHub
    #
    # Date: 15 May 2020 23:48:20 (UTC)
    # Number of unique domains: 57,739
    #
    # Fetch the latest version of this file: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/StevenBlack/hosts/master/hosts
    # Project home page: https://github.com/StevenBlack/hosts
    # Project releases: https://github.com/StevenBlack/hosts/releases
    #
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.