Looking for a replacement for Outpost Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Denna, May 25, 2017.

  1. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,691
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks a lot. Re-reading my previous post I noticed a bad wording, lol.
    I meant to say whether *.config file (generated when click on export) contains all settings and all rules?
     
  2. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,671
    That's how I understood your question :)
    Yes, .conf (not .config) contains all settings, all rules. Save'm under a "dated" filename for reference. The current .conf file sits in the Agnitum directory in case you wanted to know.
     
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,691
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks again. You're right, it's .conf not .config lol.
     
  4. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,671
    You're most welcome. Enjoy the Outpost experience :)
     
  5. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    553
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    Stick with Outpost as it`s packed full of configuration options to fully lockdown your system, if need be?

    Regards Eck:)
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,536
    Location:
    USA
    I actually use port forwarding, but Eset IDS has already been shown to block EB. That does not mean another similar attack would also be blocked. Who knows what other vulnerabilities will be discovered over the coming months, and years.
     
  7. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Wilders Security
    There are tons of vulnerabilities yet to be discovered. 2 cents per ton.
     
  8. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,094
    zonealarm or comodo firewall are the only good ones
     
  9. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,691
    Location:
    Mexico
    So far so good. Nice experience I have had with OF. :thumb:
     
  10. bcsman

    bcsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    102
    Do you still have to purchase a license to use OF since its demise or will it work without one now since support is history?? I believe it allowed a short trial period without a license then lost many options and reverted to the free version if I remember correctly.
     
  11. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,691
    Location:
    Mexico
    On trial. When the time comes I really don't know what to do about licensing. Don't know whether they still selling some or not.
     
  12. bcsman

    bcsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    102
    OK thanks, let us know what happens after the trial, the worst that will happen is it probably will revert to all the "free" settings. I'm sure we can't buy a new license anymore...
     
  13. subferno

    subferno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    For those who are still using Outpost, what operating system are you using?
     
  14. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    943
    Location:
    Southern California
    I'm using it on 3 of my Windows 7 computers.
    No complaints at all.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    553
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    Same here, everything as tight as a drum.

    Regards Eck:)
     
  16. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    So is it compatible with Windows 10? Also have you noticed the person that started this thread has never posted again?:cautious: This person shows as being a member since 2012 and this is the only post ever made.
     
  17. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,845
    guess he'd been waiting for the right time. :D
     
  18. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    943
    Location:
    Southern California
    I would have to say NO.
    Temporarily, I uninstalled Outpost 9.3 from a Windows 10 computer to play with another firewall. When I went to reinstall Outpost several weeks later a big Microsoft warning popped up telling me that it was incompatible with Windows 10.
    That's about it.
     
  19. subferno

    subferno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Thats what I thought. I used Outpost with Win10 long time ago and had problems. I assumed something was fixed with all these positive forum posts. I was wrong.
     
  20. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    943
    Location:
    Southern California
    Well, it ran fine for me for a long while and then Microsoft changed something in Windows 10.
    I later changed to ESET Smart Security which has a built-in firewall.
     
  21. MessageBoxA

    MessageBoxA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    Hi,

    Just wanted to add some additional information... when you are choosing a Windows personal firewall you want to look at how the product is implemented... Microsoft Windows has multiple levels where filtering can be performed... NDIS, TDI, LSP, WFP and so forth.

    LSP and TDI based firewalls are somewhat easily bypassed... and these are also deprecated technologies. (Some of the products I see being mentioned here are TDI based firewalls... avoid those products.)

    When looking for a high quality firewall... you want a NDIS based firewall... especially on the older operating systems.

    -MessageBoxA
     
  22. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,691
    Location:
    Mexico
    Such as?
     
  23. MessageBoxA

    MessageBoxA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    I am not going to publicly endorse any particular commercial firewall. Maybe someone reading this is about to make a product purchase for protecting some critical infrastructure... I just wanted to give out some information that could potentially assist in the decision making process. Just be aware that older products such as Agnitum Outpost is using the old TDI layer of packet filtering.
     
  24. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    I'm pretty sure outpost has used NDIS hooking filter driver as well as TDI for donkeys years,for packet filtering.
     
  25. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,671
    I agree with ellison64.
    This from oemXX.inf about Agnitum firewall driver
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.