Look n Stop + Tivo

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by twistedvincent, Dec 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    My tivo and computer aren't communicating.I've got virtually zero knowledge about opening ports and whatnot.Can someone help me??

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Do you have some alerts in Look 'n' Stop log ?
    If there are some alerts and they are corresponding to the communication between your computer and your Tivo, then with a right click you can add a rule that will allow the blocked packets.

    Frederic
     
  3. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Sorry I haven't tried again to hook up the tivo desktop again(new comp)
    I'm having the same trouble....no connectivity with my dvr.In the list of my active applications,I have one of the "Tivo server service process" flashing intermittently.That same process is greenlighted in authorized applications.As soon as I shut down LnS I connect just fine.As soon as I restart.... nothing.I know I'm vague....but I'm TERRIBLY ignorant when it comes to firewalls.
    Thanks:D
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    You have to look into the log page to see if there are some alerts.

    Frederic
     
  5. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I have nothing in the log file to indicate anything being blocked.However,My tivo is randomly flashing in the list of live applications list.It's Never a steady entry.Firefox is there,Kaspersky is there,but "Tivo server process" just seems to blink in and out at random.If I DO shut down LNS.....connections are fine............obviously.
    Thanks for your continued help....:)
     
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    If an application acts as server, it'll show still in that list (List of active applications), so it must be repeatedly trying to connect..

    If you have any Loggings on the Look 'n' Stop - Log screen, it would be good to see a window capture of it. Ensure there's no DLL denied in the
    'DLL settings' that's associated with Tivo.

    On Look 'n' Stop - 'Application filtering' screen, remove deny for allowing the application starting another one, from the Tivo application filtering entry. And make sure there's nothing else in the list that is being blocked and apart of Tivo.
     
  7. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I'm posting a couple of screen captures......I'm still having the same problems....I've searched all thru LnS for any action to take..but I'm totally at a loss.I still have the one flashing process in application filtering.Let me know if you need any more info.....I'm eager to get this taken care of.
    Thanks,
    Mark
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi twistedvincent,

    Disable Application filtering, see on Look 'n' Stop - 'Application filtering' screen, and uncheck 'Application filtering enabled'. Now restart Tivo and test, does it work? If no then visit the Look 'n' Stop - 'Internet Filtering' screen, and uncheck 'Internet filtering enabled'. Restart Tivo and test, does it work? If no, is Look 'n' Stop DLL filtering in advanced options enabled? If enabled, disable and restart Tivo and test, does it work? If no then check Windows built-in Firewall, is it enabled and blocking something of Tivo?
     
  9. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Something strange: one of the screenshot is showing "Look 'n' Stop #1", this means you have 2 instances of Look 'n' Stop running.
    However the second instance (the one with "#1") is not supposed to control the application filtering, only the first instance is.

    Could you clarify if you are using 2 instances of Look 'n' Stop ?
    Which version of Look 'n' Stop are you using ?

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  10. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I am using only one instance of look n stop.I seem to be able to connect when internet filtering is unchecked.So.I guess my next question is how to be able to operate tivo WITH internet filtering....if it is indeed possible.
    Thanks again for all your help
     
  11. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    It is strange you had a "Look 'n' Stop #1" windows. Is it still the case currently ?

    If it works when the internet filtering is disabled, then there is one rule blocking some required packets. Maybe your tivo needs UPnP or LLMNR packets ? since this is what we are seeing in your log.
    You can try to allow these packets with a right click on a log entry.

    If after allowing both protocol (UPnp and LLMNR) it still doesn't work, could you please make a new screenshot of the log page ?

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Frederic,

    I have experienced this "Look 'n' Stop #1" application window titling before, it happens sometimes when exiting Look 'n' Stop and re-launching it, and this is why you see Application filtering functional.
     
  13. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Ok....just on a whim....I uninstalled,and re installed LnS and everything seems to be functioning just fine....even with internet filtering enabled.We'll see how long it lasts tough....I seem to remember a little respite earlier this year.
    Anyway...........thanks to you both for the help.If I have any more issues I know where to turn.
    Many Thanks.........:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.