Log entries

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by JVM, Dec 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    On rebooting I am always getting pop-ups to authorize. Can someone explain how to eliminate these as I think they should be allowed automatically:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    Can someone please advise on how to eliminate the pop-ups that occur in the photo below? I have to keep clicking OK to allow them and it's killing me :mad:

    These occur on Start Up:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Are you running a Router with Look N Stop?, those log entries look familiar to me. If you are you should follow Patrices link here in the forum for configuring Look N Stop with routers. Its the next one up from this entry...cheers...;) :)
     
  4. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    Yes, I have a wireless modem/router combination that connects to my computer via Ethernet and hooks up my daughter's computer upstairs via a USB adapter--but we don't share files.

    Of those included in the photo, the number I have to approve has come down to just 1 on this bootup.

    I read Patrices post but it's not clear to me what needs to be done. I need the instructions in a more simpler way :oops:

    Don't forget I was using NIS 2005 and had been using Norton for years! I have NOD32 going all right and also Online Armor--OA was a breeze to setup.
     
  5. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    For some unknown reason to me, the log entry on this bootup only shows two and I only had to approve 1. I would like to know how I can eliminate the need to approve these pop-ups when booting up.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Is it always showing the same ports?. Could you expand the log window so we can see all the details?...thanks much. I'll be gone for about an hour but can check it out when I get back. I may get scolded for this by one of the moderators but with Online Armor and a router you really won't need a firewall. Don't get me wrong as I have a license to this firewall and think its great. Just do what I eventually did and supplement Online Armor with the free download of Process Guard. Plenty of application control there plus protection from unwanted installs. Also, the new version of Online Armor expected in the next 2-3 months will come with its own firewall to use if you want...just a thought, gotta go.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2005
  7. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    You can see from the photo below that it's not always the same upon booting up:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    OK, I reinstalled LnS with my router going and I get pretty much the same pings in the log file. Just go to the log file and highlight one of the UDP entries and click create rule on the bottom. You will be prompted to save as client or server, Click create as client. It will create a rule for whatever port is showing. Now go to your internet filtering rules and it will be listed at the top. If you have the speaker symbol change it to the double exclamation marks. Use the up/down buttons and move it down to the other UDP entries in the file. Now re-save your rules or you may loose this new rule. One thing with Look N Stop is to always save or save as when creating rules and always hit apply when making other changes or there is the risk of things being lost. You can do the same thing with the IGMP pings. These are pretty standard when running a router. Hope this works OK...:cool:
     
  9. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    Thanks, Mongol, I'll give that a try and report back if I can still access the Internet :D
     
  10. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    Mongol, it doesn't work like you suggested. After I highlight the UDP and click on create rule, it says Add Rule: UDP: Allow Port 1900

    What do I do?

    I am using the enhanced rule set.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2005
  11. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Thats it, it creates the rule for you. After that it will show up in your internet filtering rules set. Just high light it there and move it down with the other UDP rules and re-save the rules set. Shazzam, one down and one more to go. And save the rules set - always re-save the rules set..:eek: :D
     
  12. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    Okay, but what about the ADD button? The ADD button is for creating a rule. Should I just leave it as Allow without using the ADD button to create a rule?

    If I do that, it will always allow port 1900.
     
  13. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    Here is a photo and if I leave it without a rule it will always allow Port 1900 and this one means allowed to connect to other computers on the Internet:
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    You already created the rule. The ADD button is for if you want to write a rule from scratch and it opens a blank template. You just created a rule for one IP and one port, thats all that will be allowed. It is probably just an acknowledgment ping...
     
  15. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    I don't see anything about an IP. It does show always allow for Port 1900 and I don't know if that's a good thing. Are you sure about this?

    Check out my photo above your post.
     
  16. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    When you clicked on the log file it had an identifying IP or number and showed a port. You created a rule to allow and it saves it internally. This is the way I set up these rules previously when I used Look N Stop and all worked fine. Move the rule down with all the other UDP rules. When I got Online Armor several months ago I realized that the combo of Online Armor and my router were more than enough so it has been a while for me. Good application protection plus the router blocking all the inbound nasties etc...:D
     
  17. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    I also have OA and a wireless modem/router. I went to the OA forum after receiving a reply from Mike and clicked OK on a pop-up from LnS and this is the info--and please tell me if I should remove it or?

    Destination Address FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF

    IP
    Source Address

    Local PC

    Destination Address Broadcast

    Time to live 128

    UDP Source Port 1399

    Destination Port bootps


    Data

    0000:01 00 00 00 3B 77 41 3F ....;wA?
    0008:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0010:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0018:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0020:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0028:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0030:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0038:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0040:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0048:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0050:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0058:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0060:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0068:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0070:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0078:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0080:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0088:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0090:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    0098:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00A0:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00A8:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00B0:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00B8:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00C0:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00C8:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00D0:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00D8:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00E0:00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
    00E8:00 00 00 00 63 82 53 63 ....c‚Sc
    00F0:2B 55 74 61 67 3D 66 70 +Utag=fp
    00F8:61 64 72 65 71 3B 74 69 adreq;ti
    0100:6D 65 73 74 61 6D 70 3D mestamp=
    0108:35 35 33 32 37 30 34 3B 5532704;
    0110:7A 6F 6E 65 3D 30 3B 75 zone=0;u
    0118:72 69 3D 72 74 6D 70 3A ri=rtmp:
    0120:2F 2F 66 6D 73 32 2E 65 //fms2.e
    0128:79 65 77 6F 6E 64 65 72 yewonder
    0130:2E 73 70 65 65 64 65 72 .speeder
    0138:61 2E 6E 65 74 2F 6F 6E a.net/on
    0140:64 65 6D 61 6E 64 2F 35 demand/5
    0148:01 08 37 01 2B 3C 25 4D ..7.+<%M
    0150:61 63 72 6F 6D 65 64 69 acromedi
    0158:61 20 46 6C 61 73 68 20 a Flash
    0160:50 72 6F 78 79 20 41 75 Proxy Au
    0168:74 6F 2D 44 69 73 63 6F to-Disco
    0170:76 65 72 79 FF veryÿ
     
  18. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I dont see anything harmful. The logfile will show lots of entries most of which are harmless. It just shows unnecessary packets being swatted away. As you move around to different websites you will accumulate entries. Start different applications that connect to the web for updating or whatever you will get entries.
     
  19. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    I can't create a rule for the IGMP's. I click on Create but nothing happens.
     
  20. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    You probably don't need to create one. If everything is running fine than all is well. As I said, you are going to see lots of things in the logfile, weird and cryptic things. Most are just unnecessary or bad packets being swatted away. If problems arise than rules may be needed. If everything is running smoothly and updating OK then no worries. I used to be puzzled by the log files but eventually learned to ignore them< just scanned them for possible nasties. Look N Stop has one of the more active log files I have ever seen. I wish someone would create a good log reader like Zone Alarm and its Visualzone program. Well gotta go to bed, I get to work New Years Day. Damned Airports never close except for 9/11.
     
  21. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    Mongol, I have to okay those IGMP things every time I start up! Btw, UPNP is not enabled in my modem/router.

    Now, do I have to click Okay on those IGMP things on every bootup? If I do, is there a nice simple firewall for me to use? :)
     
  22. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    You have to OK the IGMP's? Thats a new one on me. As for good simple firewalls give me a minute.
     
  23. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    A good simple firewall that works great with no tinkering with a router would be Sygate. It is being fazed out but the firewall will work great for years. Download it here: http://207.33.111.31/spf/. Download the 5.5.2710 version. All you have to do is OK the programs when prompted and click Ok for all the other windows programs that will come up on initial start. After all the applications are authorized then go through each one and right click on it. Uncheck the allow to run as server tick and you are all set. If you just bought Look N Stop you could go for a refund. Also, remember that Online Armor will have its own firewall with the version 2 release early this year. Off to bed for me...cheers...:D
     
  24. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    I understand the firewall will be fairly simple to use and I sure like that :D

    I was told OA's firewall may be out in June or July. If it's only a few months, well, that would be great!

    Anyway, thanks for all your time and help. You steered me to OA and that one is a breeze to use and I thank you for the recommendation.

    I wish you and yours a very Healthy & Happy New Year!
     
  25. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    UPDATE!

    Patrice's instruction for IGMP was Internet to PC but my situation is PC to Internet--and that's why I couldn't configure LnS. I configured both the UDP and IGMP setting rules for both and now there is no more pop-ups on booting.

    Startup problem is solved :D :thumb: :D :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.