Loading, Please wait...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by glazer, Jan 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. glazer

    glazer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Like a few others I have read about here,
    I am having problems starting off the Recovery CD.

    This is the latest version of True Image. Just downloaded it today, and cannot start off the CD.
    I saved my disk images over the network, not realizing the possible problem this meant.

    If support is reading this, my support # is: Acronis #193787

    I have an Abit vp6 with 2 Highpoint RAIDs, HPT370 and HPT372.
    Also have adaptec 2930cu, Linksys 1064, some Firewire card with nothing attached, 2 video cards both ATI.
    I can start off the 'safe' cd, but then there is no networking.
    The full CD hangs at that lovely "Loading, Please wait..."
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2005
  2. glazer

    glazer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    ok, I WAS able to get the F11 thing going, and took down the last few lines of code before it froze.

    some of it might be off a little, since I wrote it down:

    $ /bin/insmod ide-disk
    Using /lib/modules/ide-disk.o
    hda: attached ide-disk driver
    hda: 19746720 sectors (10110MB) w/465kiB Cache/15/63,UDMA (33)
    hde: attached ide-disk driver
    hde: host protected area => 1


    Seems to me like its freezing on an internal IDE drive, which is strange.
    I thought it was freezing on one of the RAID drivers.

    insight anyone? support folks?
     
  3. glazer

    glazer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    So I formatted the drive it apeared to get hung on, but the line feeds are giving me the exact same information and its getting hung at the same place.
    must be the driver. or the next driver or device it sees and is trying to load. anyone know the exact order of devices and driver loading?

    could it be the pci firewire card perhaps?

    I didn't want to, but now it appears that I have to totally reinstall windows 2000.
    The whole point of buying True Image was to avoid this.
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi glazer,

    Certainly worth trying it with the firewire card removed. My system hangs if booting from the rescue CD with my external USB 6-in-1 memory card reader/writer connected. Good luck.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2005
  5. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Just a little trick I've learned and use w/ver 7.0. I skip the cd boot disk altogether. Just go through the regular "restore image" menu and after selecting your image tell it to restore. You'll get a message w/3 different options and at this point select "reboot". Machine will reboot and for you hopefully start to restore your image. Have used this method many times and all have been successful. Let us know! ;)
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    As far as I'm aware, booting the Startup Recovery Manager via F11, selecting "Reboot" from the Windows environment or booting from the rescue CD all do the same thing, namely, TI boots into the Linux based rescue environment.

    Regards
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello glazer,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    I have contacted Marian Fadeeva and she will answer to your letters soon. Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  8. glazer

    glazer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    so much for 48 hour response time.
     
  9. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA

    ahem :cool:
     
  10. glazer

    glazer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    I've gotten a stock response from support, suggesting things I have already tried, and actuallty already mentioned in this post.
    This is getting nowhere fast.

    Has all support been outsourced to someone in India reading a 3-ring-binder manual?
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello glazer,

    We do apologize for the delay with the response.

    I hope you received my announcement that your problem is already being investigated. Marian will contact you as soon as the fix is found.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.