LnS Password Reset to "Empty"

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Hexaguano, May 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    I have been a registered user of LnS v2.05p2 on two PCs for about 5 months now. Over the course of this time, I have noticed several times that my LnS password was changed to "" after a reboot.

    Anyone else experience this problem ? I'm running WinXP Sp2 fully updated on both of these boxes.
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,824
    Your password has changed? :eek:

    To what? This seems strange. Have you checked your system for Keyloggers?
     
  3. Thomas M

    Thomas M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    355
    No no, there were some reports about changes of the LNS password from time to time. I had this problem, too. It appeared when I switched between different users on one computer. For example from user "admin" to user "xy"

    I remember that Frederic released a patch with one of the latest drivers (see top of the threads).
    You can also search the Forum for posts regarding "LnS password"

    Thomas :)
     
  4. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    No prob here
     
  5. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    There could be a reset of the password when updating from 2.05 to 2.05p2.
    If the two exe (2.05 and 2.05p2) are installed on the PC (for instance one exe per user), this also can cause some trouble.
    Otherwise one reason could be a bad access to the registry (but I don't see why the problem would be specific to this option only).
    When the problem occurs, it would be nice to have a look in the registry to the "pwd" entry in [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Soft4Ever\looknstop\options] and in[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Soft4Ever\looknstop\options] to verify if the problem is coming from the registry or from the application.

    Frederic
     
  6. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Thanks for the input so far!

    I have been using v2.05p2 but I am not running the beta driver and none of the "special" registry settings have been applied. Should I be ?

    @Frederic
    I only have pwd information in the following key:

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Soft4Ever\looknstop\options]

    This registry entry does not exist:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Soft4Ever\looknstop\options]
    In fact, this entry doesn't exist
    HKLM\Software\Soft4Ever

    The next time this occurs, I will check the above registry keys.


    When the pwd is set or changed, is it immediately written to the registry or, is a reboot or some other "trigger" required ?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2005
  7. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    No, there is no link between the drivers and the password.

    No the change is not reflected immediatly. Look 'n' Stop has to be closed properly.
    When you notice it is empty, I just would like to know if the registry is also empty (this will mean the problem is during the saving) or if it is not empty (this will mean it is the loading of the settings which is the problem).
    Could you confirm this is the only option affected ? no other option is being reset ?

    Frederic
     
  8. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
  9. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    No, UPHClean will in fact help to get windows closed properly and it can solve some issues where Look 'n' Stop wouldn't be stopped properly.

    I'm also using UPHClean without any problem.

    Frederic
     
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    I mentioned this problem from the beginning, in Oct.

    And having said “* re-launch Look ‘n’ Stop manually or otherwise *” should indicate it isn’t only problem corresponding with windows shutdown or restart. And before I even had posted about the problem, I ensured that I manually shut down the software first to ensure it weren’t a shutdown or restart anomaly which resorts to Look ‘n’ Stop application being terminated to quickly and not giving chance to save possible changes to registry…
     
  11. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    In this case all options should be affected, not only the password.

    Frederic
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Well they aren’t, but I can tell you for sure, Look ‘n’ Stop does make an attempt to write regvalue, I delete the value name, and exit Look ‘n’ Stop application, refresh RegEditor and I see the value name re-written but empty regvalue data even though I did add/change password. ;)
     
  13. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    How do you quit Look 'n' Stop if the password is enabled ?

    Frederic
     
  14. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Because I'm not enabling Password Protection, I'm "defining password", which If I'm not mistaken should be the place to go to SAVE PASSWORD FOR ANYTIME ONE WANTS TO ENABLE PASSWORD PROTECTION....
     
  15. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Please Phantom stop CRYING in every post.
    This will not help solving issues.

    Frederic
     
  16. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    I was stressing a point, but your right, and if I can’t stress a point, and come across CRYING to you in every post, then I won’t post no-more on Look ‘n’ Stop forum.
     
  17. aego

    aego Guest

  18. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi aego,

    This is not the same issue.
    Here we are discussing about a password issue, not about the serial.

    Frederic
     
  19. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Actually, the password is reset when Look 'n' Stop is stopped and the activation of the password is disabled.

    For the same session (without quitting Look 'n' Stop), if you enable/disable the password activation, no problem the value of the password remains.
    If you quit Look 'n' Stop and the password is enabled, no problem as well.
    if you disable the password, then quit Look 'n' Stop (manually or because of a Windows shutdown/reboot) then the password value is reset the next time Look 'n' Stop will be started, because it assumes the user no longer wants the password.

    Hexaguano, is it the problem you are encountering ?

    Frederic
     
  20. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    That is the case

     
  21. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    @Frederic

    The scenario you describe could very well be the case. I have been installing some new s/w. When I do this, I close as many running programs as possible to try to avoid conflicts. Since I am also behind a NAT router, I feel reasonably confident in closing LnS. To do so, I have to deactivate password protection, then close LnS.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.