LNS and Windows Firewall

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by WoodyD, Nov 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WoodyD

    WoodyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I recently removed ZoneAlarm, and installed LNS (great product)

    Then I noticed Windows XP firewall was turned back on.

    Was this done automatically when uninstalling ZoneAlarm, or is it required to run by LNS?
     
  2. Toshvan

    Toshvan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    ZA turns the Windows XP firewall back on when it's uninstalled. As far as I know 2 or more firewalls at the same time is a bad idea.
    Since you are running LnS it's better to disable the XP firewall.
     
  3. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    My GRC ShieldsUP! Scan All Ports Test Failed while running Lock n Stop Firewall only


    I was surprised when I turned on Windows Firewall while LnS is on.. My ShieldsUP! test displays as PASSED!

    and there seems to be no slowdowns/conflicts between the two.

    Im running Windows XP SP3.
    During that time the following apps are on
    Avast Antivirus
    Mamutu
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Normally the GRC scan test should be Passed with just Look 'n' Stop.
    Sometimes you have to load the Enhanced Ruleset (which includes the "Block incoming connections" rule) to get this result.

    Yes, usually it is not recommended to run two firewalls at the same time.
    However there is no issue and no conflict, with Look 'n' Stop and Windows Firewall.

    Frederic
     
  5. WoodyD

    WoodyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks,

    I have no problems when running both, so I'll leave it on until I do.

    Can't be too safe, I reckon..

    Running:
    XP Pro SP2
    AVG Antivirus
    ProcessGuard
    RemoveIt Pro
    SuperAntispyware
     
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    There really should be an option through the installer to have Windows Firewall disabled.


    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.