LnS and Windows 8 test

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by moontan, Sep 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    just wanted to headline this post i made in a previous thread in case anyone missed it.
    i thought it was important enough to deserve its own thread.

    from here:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2114230&postcount=37
     
  2. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    did u try it in 32bit or 64bit and did u find any bugs or slowdowns.
     
  3. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i only have a 32 bits machine.
    unfortunately i don't have a 64 bits computer to test it on.

    no bugs or slow downs from the short test i did.

    i was not expecting any difference in Windows 8 compared to Windows 7, the two OSes being so similar.

    only difference i saw is that Windows 8 has port 113 Closed instead of Stealthed like i mentioned in the post above.
     
  4. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    update:

    just re-installed Win 8, in fact i bought it.

    re-installed LnS.
    it now acts exactly the same as in Windows 7.

    all ports are stealthed.

    so the minimum processes allowed to connect to the net are the same as Windows 7:
    * services.exe: does not need to connect but allowed to lunch other things that need to connect; like taskhost.exe
    * taskhost.exe: needs to connect but not allowed to launch processes that connects
    * your browser, etc...
     
  5. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Seems that with each new OS the end user needs to make more & more concessions (i.e. more services/processes running/granted internet access) to make them function properly.

    And then they call these new OS's "more secure" because they add more integrated tools, or "mitigation techniques" to deal with the possible vulnerabilities/exploits that could result from it.

    I'd personally rather only have a handful of services running, and less attack surface in the first place. Not to mention the fact that of the whopping 11 processes & 9 services I have running at boot, all have been thoroughly poked & prodded for vulnerabilities over the years and patched accordingly. And are now also being targeted far less with it being an older OS. I'll take that over the 30-50 services/processes needed to run these newer Windows OS's stably, that are being actively targeted, with an extra mitigation technique or 2 and some "user access control" asking me "are you really, really sure?" every time I try to do something.

    But to each his/her own approach... personally I feel safer with a hardened XP Pro than on any other Windows OS to date. I don't need to have services.exe, or svchost.exe connecting out on my box for anything to function properly. And the day I do is the day I switch to Linux.
     
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    I couldn't had said it better
    now I know there are still a few people that know how to setup a system right:thumb:
     
  7. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    Ok I tested LnS on Windows 8 x64 and it works fine, I am interested in buying the product,does anyone know if its safe to buy it?
    I know its not being developed,but with phantom ruleset i should be fine.
    the only thing i wonder is if i will get an email with the serail key... and if the payment gateway still works.
    Has anyone recenly bought the firewall ?
    please help.
     
  8. flamerz

    flamerz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    you will buy all the security software stock on earth.

    getting prepared for a worldwide virus attack? :rolleyes:
     
  9. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    hahahah, no i really like this firewall, its simple rulebased one and I am looking for a simple setup for a new laptop,although i have other firewall license with me :p
     
  10. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi arsenaloyal
    IMO, I say go ahead and buy.

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  11. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    thanks for that @TheQuest, I am a not apprehensive about buying it because developer is MIA as I think the software does not need updating,but the only apprehension that I have is about the liecnse registeration and the key being emailed.

    I will try to buy it after the trial expires and see what happens.
     
  12. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi arsenaloyal
    The buying process is handled by Regnow which in is one of Digital River’s MyCommerce solutions.

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  13. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    thanks again @TheQuest, the only other thing I wanted to know is if this is a online activation or a offline one ? I dont want to get an online activation software to reset activation count or something.
     
  14. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi arsenaloyal
    Once you put you license details in their box, it will auto activate when you go on line.

    I have used it since 2004 without any activation problem, and can tell you it has no reinstall Reset Counter.

    Or Something :D

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  15. Syobon

    Syobon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Posts:
    469
    but does it registry in the action center like in Windows 7?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.