LnS and Win-XP SP2

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Thomas M, Nov 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thomas M

    Thomas M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    355
    Using Win-XP with SP1 I finally would like to install SP2.
    Is there anything I should be aware of BEFORE putting the SP2 disk in my CD drive??
    I am running
    - LnS 2.05p2
    - LnSSvc service
    - the latest beta driver (LNSFW1-d1.zip)
    - recommended registry entries to stop PCAudit2 and others

    Yes, I will make an image of my harddrive before entering the new age of security ;)

    Thanks for any comment,

    Thomas :)
     
  2. AJohn

    AJohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    935
    As far as I know there is nothing you have to do. I have the same setup as you and i'm running XP SP2.
     
  3. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
  4. Thomas M

    Thomas M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    355
    Thanks AJohn and Frederic for your replies :D
    So I will post my experiences with XP2 next week :rolleyes:

    Thomas :)
     
  5. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hi,
    I don't know what can I make. I'm running Win XP SP2. My PC is the ICS server and it has the LNS 2.05 p2. The other PC has SP2 too without firewall. Both PC has the windows firewall disabled. If I disable LNS, in the client internet work again. I imported the rules that Frederic said, I moved that above the rules he said without succeed. I imported the ICS server rule too without fix.
    Help please!
    Thanks.

    PS: When I tried to enter to www.nod32.com using the client, LNS logged the following alert: TCP : Any other packet, PC >> Internet, 00:E0:4C:8E:9D:A9, 00:02:A4:00:A0:E2, 62145, www-http=80. Destination address: eset.uid0.sk=62.168.97.99
    Note: I've the rules in the correct order.
     
  6. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Sorry there was a bug in the .rie file I uploaded.
    The range was still 1024-5000 for the two additional rules, instead of 60000-65000.

    So please download again the .rie file, I've just updated it(http://looknstop.soft4ever.com/Rules/XPSP2-ICS.rie) and import again the two rules (remove the rules you had imported previously, if they are still in your ruleset).
    If it still doesn't work verify the ranges to be sure it is 60000-65000.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  7. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hi Frederic,
    Thanks very much. All worked.
    Suggestion: It will be very helpful if you add that issue to the FAQ in www.looknstop.com :)

    Warmly,
    Andre
     
  8. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Yes, I agree it would be helpful and we will do it.
    My concern is Microsoft doesn't explain this new behaviour with ICS under XP-SP2. So I don't know exactly what are the port range to be open.

    If someone has some information about that I'm interested.

    Frederic
     
  9. Martin Aston

    Martin Aston Guest

    After a few months I went back from SP2 to SP1. SP2 just slows down internet speed too much wile running p2p programs. Browsing felt like it was back to the speed of a 56k modem.
    There is a patch (hack) available that is supposed to do something about this problem, but for me it was not good enough.

    I'm back to SP1 and everything is back to normal.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.