LnS and Voyager 210 Router

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Delgado, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    I cant understand why it is stated so often that LnS is not set up for working with a Router.

    I have a BT Voyager 210, and LnS seems to work ok without all the complicated settings talked about elsewhere here. I only have a single PC, but use the router for the added protection of a hardware firewall.

    I use P2P which works ok with the added torrent rule. I just interested to know why it all works without any added messing about with router rules.
    All this talk about adding router rules could put some people off from useing LnS.

    :D
     
  2. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Delgado :)

    Unfortunatly, Routers are not created equal, and in some case IGMP and UDP packets must be handled by routers rules.

    Your router is working well with no special rules: That's fine !

    What is the rules set you're using?
    and
    Can you show us a sample of your log (I mean a significant sample of the log showing all rules if they are applied...).

    Thank you.

    :)
     
  3. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    Hi

    Thanks for reply-I will sort something as soon as I can. Ive been offline for a bit, as i changed ISPs.

    Just managed to sort out my connection. When I sort out my Router again will go into this further.

    I normally use Advanced rules set and sometimes Phantoms Rule set.

    Delgado
     
  4. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Delgado :)

    Okay: let us know if there's some problems with your setup with the new ISP.

    Please remarks that some ISP provide to their clients a modem-ROUTER not only a "simple" modem (but they don't always tell this to the client...)

    If it's the case, you'll have 2 router instead of one (yours and the one of the ISP), if so, this may be a little bit tricky...

    The best is to aks before to the ISP support to know what kind of modem they installed and if your router works with their device...


    :)
     
  5. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    Hi

    Further to my original post, in answer to the question of my ISP installing a modem; this did not happen because im with Virgin via my phone line. I cannot get cable where I am.

    As stated, I have a Voyager 210 only connected to my PC; no other PCs connected.

    The more I go into this, the more confused I get-it all works with LnS, although I did have to allow ICMP type 3 to get Windows Live Messenger to work.

    I see lots of entries in the log relating to Voyager Home and UDP:BooTP/DHCP with the option to allow Port 1900. Whats all this about?

    I cant seem to work out how to post a copy of the log!

    o_O o_O
     
  6. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Delgado :)

    Okay and this device is a router: right?


    ICMP Type 3, code what?

    For Windows Live Messenger ? This program used TCP protocol and makes connection to the remote ports 80 (Http),
    443 (Https) and 1863 (Messenger). This is for the basic functions of chating ...

    For Voice, Video, file transfer and so on other ports + UDP are used.


    Entries in the log: allowed or blocked ?

    DHCP is the protocol used to obtain an IP address from the DHCP server, (from your router...).

    You have only ONE PC with that router. Did you have a fix addr. or what?

    Port 1900 in UDP is the SSDP service in windows...

     

    Attached Files:

  7. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    Okay and this device is a router: right?


    Yes it is a router.

    ICMP Type 3, code what?

    Code 4

    You have only ONE PC with that router. Did you have a fix addr. or what?


    I have a fixed address of 192-168-1-220

    I forgot to mention 192.168.1.1 is my router

    Attached is log of about 3 hours
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Delagado :)

    This is UDP packets uploaded from your PC
    To port 6881: this a the "standard" BitTorrent" port...

    09-09-07,17:03:04 U-157 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253
    09-09-07,17:03:37 U-158 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253
    09-09-07,17:05:06 U-159 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253
    09-09-07,17:06:35 U-160 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253
    09-09-07,17:08:04 U-161 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253
    09-09-07,17:08:37 U-162 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253
    09-09-07,17:10:06 U-163 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253
    09-09-07,17:11:35 U-164 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253
    09-09-07,17:13:04 U-165 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253
    09-09-07,17:13:37 U-166 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253

    This is incomming UDP packets uploaded from your PC to a broadcast IP addr.
    related to the SSDP windows service.
    Stop this service if you don't need it Or authorised these packets..

    09-09-07,17:13:56 U-167 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 239.255.255.250 UDP Ports Dest:SSDP/UPnP Src:1082
    09-09-07,17:14:02 U-168 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 239.255.255.250 UDP Ports Dest:SSDP/UPnP Src:1082
    09-09-07,17:14:08 U-169 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 239.255.255.250 UDP Ports Dest:SSDP/UPnP Src:1082
    09-09-07,17:14:14 U-170 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 239.255.255.250 UDP Ports Dest:SSDP/UPnP Src:1082
    09-09-07,17:15:06 U-171 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 72.20.34.145 UDP Ports Dest:6881 Src:48253

    Same things here except they comes and go to the same port 1900 in UDP now downloaded from your router.
    Did your BitTorrent used this option? I can't guess that...

    09-09-07,17:16:15 D-172 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 192.168.1.1 UDP Ports Dest:SSDP/UPnP Src:SSDP/UPnP
    09-09-07,17:16:15 D-173 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 192.168.1.1 UDP Ports Dest:SSDP/UPnP Src:SSDP/UPnP
    09-09-07,17:16:15 D-174 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 192.168.1.1 UDP Ports Dest:SSDP/UPnP Src:SSDP/UPnP
    09-09-07,17:16:15 D-175 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 192.168.1.1 UDP Ports Dest:SSDP/UPnP Src:SSDP/UPnP
    09-09-07,17:16:15 D-176 'UDP : Any other UDP pack' 192.168.1.1 UDP Ports Dest:SSDP/UPnP Src:SSDP/UPnP


    Check in your BitTorrent program and disable the SSDP or UPnP option and check the result...

    ICMP type 3 code 4= Frag. Needed but a Flag DF is enabled.
    Needed with some network connection...

    :)
     
  9. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    Hi Climenole-

    Thanks for information-all seems to be working OK!

    :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.