LiveChat Problem ! Is it NOD32's Fault ?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by poutine, May 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Hi.
    I have been trying to chat to technical support on the Novatech Computer site.
    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/hdcontacts.html

    Whenever i start a conversation with the staff i can put in my question and see their initial response , but after that though, any response from them i can no longer see on the screen. All i see is "Agent typing" ? Is NOD32 blocking the chats ?

    I have ruled out my NAT router, and have asked the makers of admuncher about this also but no one seems sure.
    I have no other security software and use Internet Explorer 7.

    Hope you can help or at least rule out NOD32 as well.

    NOD32 Version 3.0.650.0 XP Pro SP2

    Thank you.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Do you use default settings? Couldn't it be that you've set your browser to work in active mode? (see the web access protection setup)
     
  3. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Hi Marcos

    no nothings ticked ( inc Internet Explorer ) in active mode.
    Would adding it to excluded addresses help ?
    Thanks.

    It is all default.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It wouldn't be safe to exclude the whole browser. A log from Ethereal would shed more light, but I'll inquire our developers about that first.
     
  5. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec

    Thank you, Let me know of any developments please.
     
  6. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    This is solved and wasnt NOD32 causing this issue. It was in fact the adblocking software admuncher. !!! So sorry. But had to ask all over in order to resolve this one. All ok now. Thank you.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I got in touch with their support on LiveChat before I spotted your reply. All's well that ends well.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.