Little Problem....need help.

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by Bowserman, Nov 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    I used to be able (before a reformat) to do a "right click scan file" with WormGuard. I used to get the the little window "scanning file" come up and now I don't o_O.
    I have included a screen shot of regedit where the reg entry is for any troubleshooting purposes.

    Any help would be much appreciated :).

    Regards,
    Jade.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Jade, can you give the whole Key where to find it so i can try to look at the value on my system if that could be of any help as i don't run XP
     
  3. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    Hi Jooske :), is this what you mean?

    Regards,
    Jade.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Sorry yes, i overlooked it. I have only extra " " around all of it but that's probably because of my path name.
    I've no clue at this moment. Hope somebody can, especially because you say you could before.

    As you did a reformat a restore is no option here, what i would have liked to advice. Suppose it never worked again after the reinstall after that reformat?
     
  5. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    Thanks for trying Jooske ;).

    I should have also added that I do have the option within my "right click scan file" list (shown attached), but when I try to scan a file etc. I don't even have the hourglass icon come up like I do with TDS....not to mention the little window that used to come up before, stating "scanning file".

    Regards,
    Jade.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    Little update....

    Tried uninstalling (removing protection beforehand) and re-installing, but still have the same problem :(.
    'tis really starting to bug me now.......HELP somebody :).

    Regards,
    Jade.
     
  7. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    Wellllll......I feel like a complete idiot at the moment :eek:. It seems that it is actually working.
    I "right click scanned" on a config file from the Proxomitron and it warned me as it has before. A couple of strange things though:

    - does not have the window "analysing file" come up as it used to

    and

    - on the warning window that pops up it has "Unlicensed Software - 30 Day Evaluation" (see attachment) even though I am a licensed user and have added the wguard.kf to the wormguard directory o_O.....is this normal?

    Regards,
    Jade.
     

    Attached Files:

    • WG.JPG
      WG.JPG
      File size:
      28.9 KB
      Views:
      1,309
  8. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    The analysing file window is so fast that usually you wont see it :D

    There is a bug there, you ARE registered and can ignore that alarm screen (seemingly) saying you're not :) Registration is not affected, nothing bad like expiry would happen.
     
  9. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    Thanks for clarifying that for me Gavin :)......tested with a few more "suspicious" files and indeed, it is working.

    Regards,
    Jade.
     
  10. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Don't feel disappointed or "stupid" as there is no reason; your system might be much faster since the reformat and like Gavin says you don't see the popup anymore now :)
    Happy scanning!
     
  11. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    I'm also having a similar problem with WG. When I open a suspicious file all I get from WG is the warning window. It doesn't give me any options as to what I want to do with it (read file safely, delete, open anyway, etc) even though I have all options checked. I suspect the problem here is ZA 4.5. I had the options before I d/ld ZA 4.5. Must be some sort of conflict here. Running same OS W98SE as when I purchased WG. Just for your info.
     
  12. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    I'm still hesitating upgrading to ZAPro 4.5 reading this!
    Is there anything in the settings in ZAPro about allowing a program to run in the local trusted zone etc?
     
  13. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Hi jooske

    I have ZA+4.5 and it has trusted zone settings.





    Snowbound
     
  14. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Yes it had in 4.1 already, so i couldn't imagine they would have taken that out. Maybe enhanced the options for settings a bit more. Would look in that part if it has changed after the upgrade.
     
  15. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Screenshot?
     
  16. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    When i open or rightclick in the explorer to scan it?

    Trying to open a suspicious file should give the warning message what's wrong with it.
    But you could mean something else, so screenshot could help here.
     
  17. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Hey BJ

    Just talked to a friend of mine.

    He had same problem u are having,he runs 98 too.

    He uninstalled ZAP4.5, then did a clean install and everything is working ok in wormguard now. All options are now showing.

    The first time he just upgraded.

    Don't know if u want to try this but........... :doubt:




    Snowbound
     
  18. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    [​IMG]

    Thought I'd use the same one already posted instead of posting another.
     
  19. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    This is a completely legal alert on a file which could write to a file. Even if not that, it could have been triggered as a double extension.
    Add it to your allow list and see what happens then.

    The issue at hand is the right click scan from windows explorer not functioning well for some.
     
  20. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    it's unclear to me, a .cfg file cannot write data to a file.
    Is .cfg extension added to de block list?
    Dolf
     
  21. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    Hi Dollefie :).

    I do not have .cfg extension added to my block list, but if I "right click scan" with Wormguard I get the alert.

    I have opened the .cfg file in notepad and have attached it here as a .txt file for you to have a look if you like.

    Regards,
    Jade.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Hi Jade,
    Proxomitron uses is own script language to filter, this file is such one. I can imagine that WG recognizes one of the instructions as being harmful like Kill
    Dolf
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.