Linux Mint 13 "KDE" Released

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by TheKid7, Jul 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Linux Mint 13 "KDE" was released.
    http://distrowatch.com/?newsid=07353
     
  2. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    yes kde and xfce both been released i wonder what mrk say about them

    althoe xfce look very impresive with mint menu and kde i am downloading so let see :D
     
  3. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    trying this right now.

    the look is very nice and so is having Dolphin as the built-in file manager.
    ----
    the whole desktop, GUI and 'environment' is a lot more customizable 'out-of-the-box' than Mint Cinnamon.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  4. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    esthetically speaking this is one of the very best looking and functional OS i've seen.
    i like it better than Cinnamon, which is also pretty damn nice!

    if you try KDE make sure you install a firewall control early.
    the defaults setting leaves the firewall wide open.

    the easy way to fix this is to use either Firestarter or GUFW.

    i like Firestarter better because it is smaller and it has more options, while still very easy to use.
    ----
    here's a good review on Youtube:
    -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4PQSrdGZgn8
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  5. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    thanks for info i tried firestarter long time ago in fedora there are some other firewall too but i never tried i just on default enough for me :D

    right now i am using sophos UTM 9 (previousely known as astaro security gateway) so i guess it has more than enough to secure my entire network ;)
     
  6. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    i'm about to install it in a vm here shortly myself - i have read that it's a good os. last time i tried linux i ran suse, about 2 years ago, and it ran real well, but the newest version of suse, i've read it has some problems, so i'm gonna skip it and maybe wait for the next release. i actually liked suse the best out of the distros ive tried ;)
     
  7. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    this is bloody amazing how many things you can do to 'pimp' your Mint KDE, and that all 'out-of-the-box'.

    just bloody outstanding! :thumb:

    i found the gaming performance a little below Mint Maya Cinnamon.

    but i think i'm gonna stop banging my head against the walls, trying to do everything inside one OS.
    i'll keep Windows 7 for gaming only.

    truth be told, i can do everything in Windows 7, including gaming.
    but you'd have to work pretty hard to make Windows look as pretty as Mint KDE.
     
  8. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    maybe someone can tell me, how the hell to install vmware tools in this distro hehe... clicking on vmwaretools.pl, does nothin :'(
     
  9. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
  10. Warlockz

    Warlockz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    642
    you should use VirtualBox instead for linux distros, it handles better and VM does not support linux like VB does. I could never get linux to work right under VM.
     
  11. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige

    its probably not vmware itself, i mean it installed linux fine into the virtual machine - its just that i dont know how to install the .pl file of vmware tools, of course theres a way, i just wont know how till i look it up and learn it, probably just some terminal command, i dunno - i only try linux once a year or so then go back to windows because i usually have some work to get done beyond experimenting with a new os - i do like the idea of linux though, maybe one day i can incorporate it into regular useage ;)
     
  12. Warlockz

    Warlockz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    642
    yea linux def is not Windows, Here maybe this will help

    How To Install VMware Tools In Linux Mint 13


    and someone replied with this, thought I would share before you started

     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2012
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.