Lightest security suite.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by The Red Moon, Oct 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Hi.
    Just wondered what security suite members would consider the lightest on resources.
    Im using comodo internet security and if anybody can show me a full suite which is lighter than this then i would sincerely like to know about it.:cool:
    Ive seen comodo go down to 4000k ram at intermittent times.:thumb:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    WSA winner? Here's on 4GB of ram.

    sshot-1.png
     
  3. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    yeah it certainly looks close paul.WSA and comodo would appear to be the perfect couple.:cool: :thumb:
     
  4. Spruce

    Spruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    291
    Only a little problem, RAM has pretty much nothing to do with lightness nowdays. Better to have resources ready in memory instead of having hard drive and cpu working isn't it?
     
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Roboscan IS is running about the same as CIS on my system.

    Isn't WSA cloud based? If so I think it's not a apples to apples comparison.
     
  6. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I don't know if this is of any use to you, it's about AVs and not suites.

    But perhaps it gives some indication.

    http://antivirus.raymond.cc/


    Just select a benchmark.
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Im not a fan of bloatware.
    Which would you sooner have a bloated suite or a nice light one.?
    Know which one i would pick.:thumb:
     
  8. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    What scanning Engine does Comodo use?

    Also, I thought it performed poorly in detecting mew threats (correct meh if im wrong) I thought avast was the king of free AVs
     
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    That figure is misleading at it does not show total RAM usage - to do that you need to enable the Memory - Peak Working Set column it task manager.
     
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Comodo uses their own in-house engine and it is quite effective although i dont come across malware when i use my computer.
    I run in custom firewall mode and only get alerts when i open up programs that need internet access.
    I dont download rubbish and ive NEVER had a D+ alert.
    Comodo suits me very well it has everything i need and is a quiet vigilant sentinel.:thumb: :thumb:
     
  11. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I personalleh doubt the effectiveness of products not mentioned on the AV comparatives test such as MSE and Comodo :(

    http://chart.av-comparatives.org/chart2.php
     
  12. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    I just use what works for me.It runs very nicely on my computer.
    I dont go for these "tests" myself.

    Ive tried several suites and have an image for bullguard and kaspersky but i like how comodo internet security runs on my machine.

    Each to their own i suppose.:thumb:
     
  13. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Offcourse mate, it's not a competition. It's what works for j00 be$t :)
     
  14. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    For modern systems RAM shouldn't be a problem, now that i have over 6GB of RAM i wish all programs were pre loaded in the memory so they would be blazing fast but Windows only uses 1.5GB. :rolleyes:
     
  15. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
  16. Spruce

    Spruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    291
    ESET Smart Security use about 80mb of ram, it's very light and not bloated or heavy on system, partly because the stuff it needs is ready in memory when needed. Most people having 4GB of ram probably rarely or never use more than half of it anyway, if your system with 4 GB of ram use 1.5 or 2 GB of memory, no difference in speed as long as you don't run out of ram. There's a reason why some use ram disk, it's much faster than regular hard drives.
    You need to monitor IO operations and CPU usage over time to define if something is light where it matters.
     
  17. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Agreed. Lightness can't be measured merely on paper, err... on a monitor/readout either. It's best described by how your setups "feels". When I talk about a footprint that's what I mean by it, anyway.

    I've seen AV's that seem to use up hardly any resources in terms of RAM/CPU, but the reality of the matter is that the real-time scanning chews up the HD and slows the system down substantially.

    By any standard of measure though, Comodo is very light. Of course I've never used the AV part, just the FW and D+.
     
  18. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
    What about Emsisoft do you doubt the effectiveness of that? That's not in any AV-Comparatives test.
     
  19. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    As ive said i dont allow these "tests" to influence any decision i make.
    The malware that the products are tested with,i myself find it highly unlikely that i would ever come across it.

    Yet the paid security suite companies would like you to believe that their product is superior to a free product.Well what about mse which comes from microsoft itself.!,Is that inferior?
    Or avast etc.:doubt:
     
  20. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    I think it's Eset Smart Security.
     
  21. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Mine is 0 peak ;)
     
  22. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Wow nick.:cool:
    Cant beat that lol.:thumb:
     
  23. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    I just use built in Windows/Linux security :D
     
  24. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    For Linux maybe it's ok but for Windows don't you think it's risky?
     
  25. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    RAM nowdays is an issue only for old hardware.

    Lightness has more to do with:
    - CPU usage (the little column CPU Time in task manager that few use)
    - Hard drive access (Comodo is quite heavy in that, if you see i/o reads column).

    http://i50.tinypic.com/34oya8l.png

    Also Comodo, despite being very cosy having the HIPS, surely won't be my application of choice as soon as i get an SSD (i/o writes bytes):

    http://i46.tinypic.com/11iffur.png

    http://i47.tinypic.com/214yucl.png

    As it is known, the more writes on an SSD, the quicker the SSD will die.

    But, yes, it takes little RAM, so that my 8 GB can stay free. :D And HDDs are so fast nowdays, better hammer them than RAM!


    P.S: This is without the antivirus enabled, just firewall with D+ and no cloud.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2012
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.