LAVASOFT Ad Aware got a Facelift!!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Atul88, Mar 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cecilia

    Cecilia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
    That depends on what you mean with security programs. If you mean antivirus programs it is correct what tpro writes, but if you mean for example firewalls, Ad-Aware is compatible with them.
     
  2. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    1. Anything new?

    2. Anyone using this on a regular basis?

    3. Is it still too heavy to recommend? That's the only thing I would be worried about when recommending given its good performance in VB and the fact it uses the Vipre engine.

    4. Are the new-ish LavaSoft owners shady or is that just Unthreat?

    Thanks
     
  3. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    You can find the answers in the thread the Ad-Aware 10 thread.

    3. Its light. Even though everyone says that, it is always good to test it for yourself.

    4. I'd say both, but it doesn't matter to me. I will still use them. :D
     
  4. carat

    carat Guest

    There are still several bugs, I can't recommend it ... :(
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I'll be using it when automatic removal option would display a notification popup about its actions. Just deleting the file and not saying anything to the user is a stupid policy.
     
  6. Cecilia

    Cecilia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
    1. 10.1 was released in beginning of May and 10.2 is on its way.

    2. Yes, I am.

    3. I don't find it heavy.

    4. They are trying hard to develop a very good product.
     
  7. Cecilia

    Cecilia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
    Why not change the action to "Prompt User" if you want a notification?
     
  8. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    He has mentioned that option several times and it was answered. He just seems to disappear... like a sheep ghost.. :rolleyes: :D
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    The thing is, i want automatic action, but i also want some sort of notification. ALL antivitruses except Ad-aware Free and ZenOK do it. So why the hell not these two?

    It's so retarded to look like an idiot when download all of the sudden fails and you don't have a clue why until you find out antivirus deleted it.
    If detection popup appears, you at least know what happened.
     
  10. Cecilia

    Cecilia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
  11. carat

    carat Guest

    +1 :(

    Furthermore I want to see a free version (no 30 days trial) :(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.